We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bay Marine Hotel
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed in a twin room - clean and comfortable EXCEPT for noise from squeaking floorboards all around during the night - returned home needing a good night's sleep! It is an old building and some refurbishment is surely called for. Also - they can't do much about the seagulls, but some double glazing might help with the noise!
No problems with the food - it is a low cost break, after all - and the hotel is in an excellent position on the prom. No need to pay the extra for parking, unless you have walking difficulties.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Froggyphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Hello Froggyphile, many thanks for your review. There are plans for refurbishment but no word on when just yet, when the works take place the floor boards should be addressed then. Glad you enjoyed your break. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    299
    190
    71
    53
See reviews for
122
388
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mid wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We booked(last minute)standard twin,well-ventilated room, drove ourselves, but had seats on the coach for trips(yes you can do this!).Able to check in before coaches arrived & was told to park at their overspill a few doors away-no charge.Given room 208 on side opposite the Imperial (& we could see the sea), which was a very large twin,contemporary styled but could have done with a shower cubicle & who fixed the toilet pan skewiff to the cistern?!! All the staff excellent-our waiter,Miguel(small restaurant,Prince Albert) very efficient & pleasant-but meals although well presented were average.Entertainment was very poor in comparison to their other hotel, the County,but we did enjoy the pool(was a bit whiffy in showers!).Trips good(except for rain!)& driver Lee was very informative.Yes,the hotel is a mix of 70's,80's up to the noughties,but if you want 4*,you should go next door & pay the extra.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taichitilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Hi taichitilly, thanks for your review, it reads that you enjoyed your holiday and the marks given for, Value, Location, Sleep Quality, Rooms, Cleanliness and Service are all high which is great. I regularly pass on the trip advisor reviews to the staff so it is nice to see the names of those who made your holiday enjoyable. Thanks again. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed at the Marine 22nd June to 25th June. A self drive family break with my elderly parents. One of whom is quite immobile.
Was initially concerned after reading reviews on tripadvisor on the hotel. No need for concern at all.
Our stay was very enjoyable. Hotel perfectly situated for sea front walks and also only a short stroll to shopping centre and town centre.
The rooms were spotlessly clean and tidy. Very spacious.The staff couldn't have been more helpful and polite. Nothing was too much trouble. The meals were lovely and the service in the restaurant was very professional.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little more for sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Hi Sharon C, I am really pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel to your liking. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Just returned from self- drive 4 night stay at the Marine. Stayed in a premier room which was excellent - very clean, spacious with lovely views. Food, although would have liked bigger portions and more choice, was good, especially the salads. Kate, the waitress, was very helpful and friendly.

Managed to park in the "overflow" carpark which was free.

If you want 5 star, then be prepared to pay much more than you pay at the Marine.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay in a Premier room - its worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Hello Mont123, Thank you for your review. I am really glad you enjoyed your break and will pass on your comments to the staff. I hope you will be booking with us again. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Went on Great Little Trains of Wales. Stayed at Marine Hotel. Tour very good, Room 106 very poor and in urgent need of refurbishment, Electric towel rail in bathroom not connected to electric supply. Hotel in general needs lots of money spending on it to bring it to a decent standard.
Entertainment Room smells fusty,
Warning do not try the Porridge at breakfast. Food in general very poor quality, we would not consider eating it at home. However breakfast is the best meal of the day. Dinners very poor as is the quality of food. At home we do not have expensive food but we would not consider buying or cooking food of this quality.

Go there at yoor own peril.

Room Tip: Try another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Hello Peter C, Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed the, 'Great Little Trains of Wales' tour. I cannot agree with your comments regarding the room or the meals served in the dining room. Room 106 has a full tiled bathroom with all bathroom furniture in white and in good order. The bedroom has a nice bright feel to it and again the room is in good order; I can only apologise if the colour scheme is not to your liking. The meals we serve in the dining room are perfectly acceptable and foods of good quality are served; I acknowledge that the menus we offer may not be to every bodies liking. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We have used Shearings Self Drive on numerous occasions and their standard of accommodation is going downhill so fast its beyond belief. We started using Superior rooms but the word disguises the fact that they are no better than standard rooms. Last experience at this Hotel was it was cold (freezing!) , the bathroom had not been cleaned satisfactorily, the windowsills in the dining room were disintegrating where we sat and the ceiling looked in danger of collapsing. They are now so closely allied in 'extras' (ie you now have to pay to park) to a certain Irish airline that either they've been taken over or times are VERY hard. As for being attentive to clients - forget it! They certainly didn't bother with us - the evidence was still there after we left! If you expect to get what you pay for - DON'T be surprised if they fail you!!!!

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gordon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Hello Gordon L, The superior rooms are better than the standard rooms and are well worth the extra; you get a bigger room that is well maintained and decorated/equipped to a higher standard. If you are cold we can adjust the heating to suit you. We are in the second week of charging for some of the parking spaces and the system seems to be working well for those who have been able to book a space. We provide a half board package, a choice of two bars and evening entertainment for about the same as some other hotels charge for B&B only; I consider that to be pretty good value and there are others who have posted reviews that would agree. Thank you for your comments. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Recently spent a 5 day break at this hotel. The hotel was nice but like a lot of hotels tired in places. Our room was reasonable but the walls were in a poor state having been bodged up with wallpaper and part of the ceiling had been bodged with a piece of plasterboard. The bathroom facilities were very good though. We had a daily visitor in the form of Mr Seagull who always showed up just as the kettle was boiling and tapped on the window. The dining room was pleasant apart from the ceiling in the bay where the water had obviously leaked through at some point. The meals were good but portions could have been better. However that might have been due to the waiters forgetting to put some of the items out e.g. not putting vegetables out with your main meal. Also we had to point out a few times that the ice creams were being served in chipped glasses with sharp edges which were on the top edges which could be quite dangerous. Towards the end of our stay the waiters seemed to lose the plot.
However, Llandudno is a lovely place to visit and I am sure that a return visit will be made.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Hi ann C, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I will address your comments about the dinning room with the Restaurant Manager. Thank you for your review. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#34 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hydro Hotel
Hydro Hotel
#33 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Marine Hotel

Property: Bay Marine Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street, Llandudno LL30 1AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the imposing Victorian style of the resort’s seafront, this handsome hotel boasts stunning views over the Irish Sea. Not only does it offer comfortable furnishings, friendly service and a swimming pool perfect for active moments, but also an ideal setting in the centre of the promenade, within easy walking distance of the town’s plentiful tourist attractions. Lazy days can be spent on the beach or pier, shopping for souvenirs, visiting the Alice in Wonderland Centre or taking a tram ride up The Great Orme, whilst numerous sporting pursuits are on offer locally. There is limited parking in the guest car park located behind the building but street parking is usually available nearby. For a break away discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you could not be better placed than in Llandudno, at the Marine Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Bay Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Llandudno
Bay Marine Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing