We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Try!”
Review of Bay Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Marine Hotel
Ranked #36 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
barnsley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Try!”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Have just come back from a three night jubilee weekend stay and would like to address some of the (i think) unfair posts...

The hotel

1. Yes the place could do with an upgrade but if you want 5* luxury go somewhere else & pay for it! This hotel provides a good standard at a bargain rate ...200 quid for 3 nights/4 days inclu full breakfast & 3 course evening meal...?

2. The room

Room 139...a bit dated & how they managed to plumb that toilet in so close to the bath i will never know! Wonderful bay window with fantastic views across the promenade...twin beds comfy, room warm and spacious.

3. The Food

Ok so breakfast is cereals and full english...cant really go wrong with that! Evening meal starters & deserts are quite good but the mains show where the budget is tight. Its not inedible as some posts have suggested but if you were served this in a restaurant you would not go there again. A little bit more immagination is needed perhaps...more pasta dishes, even pizza (thats cheap) and please please please real potatoes not croquettes

4. The staff

Lovely!

5. Bar prices

Average...not cheap but not a rip off.

6. Guests

Yes WaShearings does cater for the older end/retired etc but so what? We are getting there but are not there yet...what would you rather have...lager louts???

7. The Pool

V. Good. Always warm & thank you to the lovely staff who opened it half an hour early so i could get in an early morning swim. PS. The fact that most of the other guests were of a certain age we had it to ourselves most of the time, even started to refer to it as 'our pool'

8. The entertainment

Not really our thing.....

9. Location

Couldnt be better...hotel car park was full but plenty of spaces on the prom which is only three pound all day. Llandudno is a great little town with loads to do

10.

All in All...could be better, of course it could but what you get for your money is fantastic value...if you want pampering go elsewhere, if you want a friendly little break give the marine a try x

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank barnsley58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Hi barnsley58, Thank you so much for your review. Bay Hotels are not a luxury brand; we aim to offer value for money, reasonably priced holidays. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    307
    195
    71
    56
See reviews for
127
399
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed at the Marine hotel again as Shearings have always delivered really good value for money deals. We always self drive and on arrival we were given what can only be described as a single room, (room 303) with a double bed in it, two chairs a dressing table and a wardrobe. I had to negotiate the two chairs in order to get around the bed! Unpacking was a challenge in such a tight space. We had a 9 inch by 6 inch sink in which to wash, a shower which leaked everywhere and after a few hours of these cramped conditions I had had enough. I went down to reception and was offered room 219, this rang alarm bells as I had read trip adviser reviews prior to going. We looked at room 219 which was spacious, with a full bathroom and a big improvement on room 303. So we moved in. No problem. I did enjoy my three night break over the jubilee weekend, however I would like to make some comments. Yes Shearings are good value, but so are a lot of other hotels in LLandudno. A previous review from "Dissapointed 14th May" had this to say about room 219 Reviewed 14 May 2012
" bedroom a disgrace door looked as it had been kicked in the lock was held together with what looked like polyfilla not at all safe,window definitley needs repacing to leave the window open you had to use a bolt!! the bathroom well where shall I start the washbasin was cracked,the extractor was not working,the shower head could not be stabilised as you were showering it was falling down.The bedside lampshade was broken and the Television must have come out of the Ark!!The hotel definitley needs updating.The food was ok if You eat as much as a sparrow!!,didnt eat breakfast as it seems they couldn,t cook eggs either boiled or fried.I intend to write to Shearings to complain and show them photos of my complaints.My advice is dont use this hotel and dont use room 219!!"

All of the above complaints from "dissapointed" about the room have made no difference, the sink is still cracked, the door is the same, the window the same, the TV on off switch is dodgy, the shower head still falls down and no extractor. I know Shearings are refurbishing some rooms, but people are staying in substandard rooms now and this will have a bearing on my next booking as I am sure it will others. Food is just OK and no entertainment on Sunday night is a poor show Shearings when other hotels in LLandudno are offering entertainment everynight. Yes I know there was a sheet of quiz questions given out in the bar but for me, thats not good enough. I would also like to award a gold star to the tall friendly bar man in the entertainment lounge who was exeptionally good at his job and helpful. Sorry to be negative Shearings but if you keep putting your guests in rooms like these when you know people complain, you will be losing valuable revenue.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a better room or go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frances25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Hi frances25, we do offer good value holidays and we do our best to correct issues as and when they arise; did you raise these issues about the room whilst you were here so we could correct them for you? Room 219 is not the largest room but is well appointed and not deserving of the reviews it has received. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Bedroom was awfull !! very "Tatty" everything looked old and worn. The beds were comfortable and clean, the view from the window was over looking old scruffy buildings. Bathroom looked Ok with nice new towels but the shower was a disaster started hot water but turned to cold before you could wet yourself, i needed a towel to turn the controls as it was so stiff then when you came to rinse again after a long wait for the water to run hot it would go cold. Reported this 3 mornings also that the water was taking ages to run away, no wonder the ceilings are all water stained.
My husband gave up and washed at the sink !

Entertainment wasn't so bad, but you could hear every word in our bedroom didn't need to sit down stairs we could have answered the Quiz whilst laying in bed.

Breakfast was the best meal of the day and our waitress was lovely. Evening meals weren't great, quite a few visitor ate out at lunch time to make sure they had a good meal

The front entrance smelt of smoke when we walked in not a good start.

We have stayed in 11 Shearing hotels over the UK but this was the worst one,I know they are doing them up slowly but The Marine needs to be closed and refurbished from top to bottom

We are booked in at St Ives in June just hope this will be a better holiday or perhaps our last "Shearings Holiday" we will have to wait and see, must say The Majestic in Bournmouth is our favourite.

Room Tip: Make sure it isn't over the ballroom ! if you want a early night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Hi Marilyn W, I am sorry you have not rated your holiday with us very highly. That said your comments suggest that for the most part you have enjoyed your holiday other than not liking the room as it is in need of a refurb. I am having a number of rooms refurbished this week with more scheduled for next week. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
altrincham
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I have just come back after 8 days at the Marine and I have had a lovely time. Ok, the rooms do need updating but people are only paying bargain prices so cannot expect 4 star accommodation. The beds are clean and comfy and that is one of the main things. The hotel was always warm and the staff were always helpful and friendly. The food was good and the bar prices were comparable with your local pub. The lounge has lovely views over the bay and I spent many hours there just watching the outside world or reading. On the downside I didn't like the male half of the caberet. He thought he was being funny but really was quite rude and offensive to some people. Halfway through my holiday a fellow guest and I won the quiz and he didn't want to give us the prize so he just said he was changing the rules and the person with the lowest score was the winner. This was so unfair and I never went back in to the cabaret for the rest of my holiday. (Hazel in the bar did actually fetch me a bottle of wine that I should have won. Thanks Hazel) I would recommend this hotel for a nice reasonably priced break and it is also very good for the solo traveller.

Room Tip: It's worth paying the extra for a wonderful seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LindaMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Hi LindaMoo, Really glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your review. I am sorry about the upset over the entertainment, I have spoken with John about this and can assure you he meant no disrespect; I am glad Hazel recognised how you felt and took steps to rectify the situation with you. I do hope you come again or try one of the other hotels in the group. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

worst hotel we have stayed in! bedroom a disgrace door looked as it had been kicked in the lock was held together with what looked like polyfilla not at all safe,widow definitley needs repacing to leave the window open you had to use a bolt!! the bathroom well where shall I start the washbasin was cracked,the extractor was not working,the shower head could not be stabilised as you were showering it was falling down.The bedside lampshade was broken and the Television must have come out of the Ark!!The hotel definitley needs updating.The food was ok if You eat as much as a sparrow!!,didnt eat breakfast as it seems they couldn,t cook eggs either boiled or fried.I intend to write to Shearings to complain and show them photos of my complaints.My advice is dont use this hotel and dont use room 219!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dennis f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Hello dennis f, It is a shame that you did not enjoy your stay. To satisfy myself I checked room 219 upon reading your review as you have made the room sound horrible and it is not. All the bedroom doors are due for replacement as part of a rolling programme and I agree the 14" portable would be better upgraded to a wide screen unit, otherwise it is a well appointed room. We serve a two course breakfast and a three course evening meal. I appreciate some people eat more than others and the waiting on staff should be happy to ask chef for a larger portion if you would like. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Upon arrival we were given a very small room, we had to walk sideways past the bed from the door. There was only one chair, no table as there was no space. the bathoom had a shower but the wash basin was the type put in a cloakroom, no room for a full size one. The first morning I came out the bathroom and hit my husband with the door, he was getting clothes out of the wardrobe. We asked for another room and were told there were two we could look at, also one would be available at 1pm. When we asked what it was like the receptionist refused to say. We looked at the rooms and chose one with bath and shower we wanted to go out for the day so did not wish to wait and see the third room. Unfortunately we ended up with two showers as the next night when it rained the ceiling leaked. when we looked it was obvious this was a long term problem. We were offered another room but did not want to pack and unpack again so we stayed where we were with a bucket to catch the dripping. Strangely the cleaner never emptied the water out when she cleaned, we had to do it. Also ther was black mould where the bath met the wall. We never saw the cleaner.
The staff were very nice and the food good, although the popular dishes ran out very quickly.
Would we go back? No. I would choose the Bay County, which is a little further out of town but so much better.
I do see that the manager replies to these reviews, it would be better if he had come to see us while we were at the hotel, unless he does not know what is happening.
,

Room Tip: not 301 or 407
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daytripper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Hi daytripper10, I do reply to all the reviews and I am aware of what goes on in the hotel and I can only apologise for the roof leaking, I am taking steps to resolve this matter. I am glad you enjoyed the food and found the staff nice. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leominster
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

At the last minute we had a change of room saying it would be to a better room so did not mind until we went in, a dark dingy small room over looking the bins, with a very loud extractor fan below us,. So we had to change rooms again could not have slept over the noise. The room we ended up with was shabby with orange and red check curtains and eiderdown with a very itchy pink blanket from the ark, who ever picked those colours has no class as it immediatly lowers the class of the accommodation. A nice dark green and blue would help with quilts those new inventions of the modern age. Also the widows in the downstairs lounge on the side were very dirty not nice to look at the view through those very depressing.We have complained to shearings about these things and hope they sort it out for next year .

Room Tip: Don't unpack until you are sure you are happy with your room as they can probably move you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Hi kim153, The extraction systems do get turned off over night and the windows are cleaned regularly but are subject to the weather conditions. It is a shame you do not like the decoration of our rooms and see the colour scheme as shabby; I like the vivid colours as they brighten the rooms. Sounds like you might be back with us next year so may be interested to know we are having some rooms refurbished shortly; you may wish to see how they compare. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
749 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,185 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
319 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Marine Hotel

Property: Bay Marine Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street, Llandudno LL30 1AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the imposing Victorian style of the resort’s seafront, this handsome hotel boasts stunning views over the Irish Sea. Not only does it offer comfortable furnishings, friendly service and a swimming pool perfect for active moments, but also an ideal setting in the centre of the promenade, within easy walking distance of the town’s plentiful tourist attractions. Lazy days can be spent on the beach or pier, shopping for souvenirs, visiting the Alice in Wonderland Centre or taking a tram ride up The Great Orme, whilst numerous sporting pursuits are on offer locally. There is limited parking in the guest car park located behind the building but street parking is usually available nearby. For a break away discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you could not be better placed than in Llandudno, at the Marine Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Llandudno
Bay Marine Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing