We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cae Mor, Llandudno”
Review of Cae Mor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cae Mor Hotel
Ranked #47 of 146 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I had booked into the Shelbourne as usual but due to a booking mix up they asked me to go to their up market sister hotel the cae mor.
I arrived to be shown to my room which was ok, then I decided to eat at the hotel. I had a drink at the bar and then went into the dining room and waited for service, and I waited and I waited. Eventually I went to look for a member of staff, a lady attended me and served me with an average meal.
I went to bed and heard every noise in the next room via the thin walls.
Enoughs enough, never again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taffyby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaeMorHotel_30, General Manager at Cae Mor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

The management of the Cae mor and our sister hotel have investigated the review and we have no record of this guest - who used to be a regular at the Shelbourne - being moved to the Cae mor hotel in November 2012 as stated.
The last record we have of the guest staying with us is January 2011, we have emailed the customer directly who as yet has not confirmed/proven their stay in November 2012 as stated.
Since the customer stayed with us nearly 3 years ago we have made significant changes to our menus and kitchen team and whilst we admit mistakes and issues do happen this incredibly old review is not indicative of our service today.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 444 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

this is your typical seaside hotel, average hotel for a hefty price tag. Staff are friendly and welcoming. Room as clean but can hear everything going on in the other rooms..Would I return...maybe but not at the full asking price

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lainemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaeMorHotel_30, General Manager at Cae Mor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us, i'm pleased to see that over all you enjoyed your stay and you found the staff to be welcoming and friendly.

Concerning your comment about not being worth the money and the hotel being your typical seaside hotel these are your personal opinions and i'm sorry you felt that way as we strive to offer the best possible service for a full service hotel.

I do hope that your feelings concering your stay will not prevent you from returning again.

Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Room was booked and confirmed through hotels.com but no room was reserved for me! Not the hotels fault and they found me a room and charged £17 less than hotels.com.

The too was fine, as was the shower room and the bed was comfy.

The walls are a little thin and I'm a light sleeper, the snoring from the next room kept me awake and I expect that when I did fall asleep they were awake, as I could snore for England.

The staff are very friendly and polite.

Breakfast was disappointing, the sausage was undercooked and they bacon not cooked as much as I like but the poached egg was terrible! I can't believe it got out of the kitchen. The yolk and the white were no longer together and the white wa watery and tasteless. The yolk was soft but also tasteless, they state that the eggs are organic, if that's the case give me the supermarket value eggs any day!

I could have complained about the breakfast and had it replaced but I had to be somewhere.

All in all I would be happy to go back and I'd let them know how I like my eggs bacon and sausage cooked whe I ordered breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pooley-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have mixed reviews over this hotel, and by paying £115 for a luxury room. I was not really satisfied.

Good
Center location overlooking the sea, Walking distance to the busy town center with lots of cafes, restaurants, shops, and you can take a stroll to the pier, and also to the cable car station which can reach up to Great Orme.;
Private carpark adjacent to the hotel, with plenty of spaces;
Friendly and cheerful staff being at the reception counter or at the breakfast room;
Nice touches, like kettle, instant coffee, tea, milk;
Clean and comfortable bed and duvet;

Bad
The toilet cover and surface were not wiped or cleaned properly. This had put me off;
Toilet flush not working well. Once you flush the first time, you need to wait pretty long for the water to fill up for the next flush;
The bathtub drain must have clogged, thus the water drained very slowly and the bathtub was soon filled up with water;
Had scrambled eggs on toast for breakfast, but it was cooked too dry, and tasteless;
The walk in wardrobe was old dated with torn off wall paper.

I saw a lot of good reviews on this hotel, so I guess I was just the unlucky one on that particular day. Hopefully the management will fix the issues so as the next guests will enjoy their stays, afterall this is really a pleasant hotel with fantastic location

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HEinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Family room ws awesome - two separate rooms with interconnecting corridor. Nice touches like bottles of water and biscuits in rooms. Sea view (if you crane your neck). Very comfy. Plenty of car parking.

It is a fair walk to the Pier though, so if you plan to leave the car and walk, bear that in mind! We had lovely weather and enjoyed the walk!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I found the staff at Cae Mor to be very friendly and helpful. We arrived early with 2 grandchildren and the dog. We asked if we could park up and were told of course(parking in llandudno is a night mare). Although we had to wait 15 mins for our room to be ready,we were kept informed. The room was basic but it had 2 separate bedroom both en suite which was very good. The stay was very pleasant the only small improvement would be a children's menu on the early bird. As we were B&B it was quite expensive and the kids wasted a lot. Although Georgie (grandson) did say to our lovely breakfast waitress Thank you that was most enjoyable!!!and it was.

Room Tip: Room 3 family room with separate en suite bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DREDA117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I wasn't expecting much but started getting impressed from the moment I arrived to find quite a sizeable car park, very helpful in Llandudno. The staff experience commenced with check in, very relaxed but efficient and a very pleasant gentleman on the desk. This set the standard and was matched by all the staff I met. All of them extremely helpful and giving the impression they couldn't do enough for you. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order. The porridge wasn't to my liking but I suspect that's a matter of personal taste as there was actually nothing wrong with it. The bed was huge and the bath towel large and chunky, one of the best I've used in a hotel. When I arrived the room was cool, despite the warm weather, which suited me as I normally find hotel rooms too hot and as a bonus the bedroom window opened.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheFeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.7 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#13 of 59 in Llandudno
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
1,301 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 59 in Llandudno
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#25 of 59 in Llandudno
545 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#32 of 59 in Llandudno
497 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#34 of 59 in Llandudno
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cae Mor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cae Mor Hotel

Address: 6 Penrhyn Crescent | Llandudno. Conwy., Llandudno LL30 1BA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range: $102 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cae Mor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Cae Mor Hotel, we are the ideal base if you are coming to a show or event at The Venue Cymru being right next door and a large free car park that’s one last thing to worry about. When you visit The Cae Mor Hotel you notice the beautiful blend of Victorian Period Features with tastefully decorated areas to relax and unwind, whilst watching the sea. All our bedrooms are en-suite with flat screen televisions, toiletries and hospitality trays as standard with most rooms offering a sea-view The Cae Mor Hotel offers a great base to explore Llandudno and its surrounding areas. All rooms are served by a lift, with level access into the hotel along with Two Ground Floor Bedrooms adapted for those a little less able. From Spring 2018 we are offering Pre-Theatre Dinner at the hotel using locally sourced produce, prepared by our talented team of Chef’s. Booking direct with the hotel always guarantees the best rate, you can do this by calling one of our friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cae Mor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cae Mor Llandudno
Cae Mor Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing