We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go on Treat yourself”
Review of Osborne House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Osborne House
Ranked #26 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2010

My wife and I had our Ruby Wedding Anniversary at Osborne House. We had a meal with a few of our friends. The food was very good, good value for money, and the service too was very good. We stayed 1 night in the 'King Suite' which overlooks the promenade. The suite was very plush and well deserving of its 5 star rating (Welsh torist Board). We had continental breakfast in our room, which was very good. A cooked breakfast was available in the Empire Hotel (2 minute walk) , which is owned by the same family. We had a couple of minor issues which have been staisfactorily dealt with by one of the owners. I would definitely recommend Osborne House for food and accomodation.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penbay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 361 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2010

Looked at the reviews before booking for dinner and I wasnt sure what to expect !
The Service was first class, fantastic to see and recieve service from knowledgable interested staff ( so unusual these days ) but top marks to the hotel for understanding the pay back of properly trained older staff.
The food was fantastic value £19 for 3 courses on certain evenings, and you would expect smaller courses and reduced quality but that was not the case it was superb.
The surrounding are unique ( see for yourself ) and make for an altogether great evening....thanks....we will be back often..

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dianna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

The best bed and breakfast in north Wales easy. 

The rooms are massive. Staff friendly with nothing is to much effort. Try the award winning restaurant below you won't be dissapointed. 

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesSharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

I was looking for somewhere we could take my widowed 85 year old father on holiday in this country as he is no longer able to fly. This hotel caught my interest as it only had 6 rooms and we could book 2 on the same floor opposite each other so we were close by.
Arriving in LLandudno I rang the hotel and was directed to the garage at the back-another reason why we chose it.We made our way into the hotel which was very quiet but there was someone to check us in and take us up to our rooms on the first floor which were amazing.The suites stretch from front to back of the hotel and are huge.We ate dinner in the restaurant which was excellent then went to spend an evening together in our suite. The next day we opted to eat a full English breakfast at the sister hotel, The Empire, which is just round the corner.Again the food was excellent.
It truly was a lovely stay, made memorable by the fact that he is no longer with us so it is something I will never forget.
I can thoroughly recommend this hotel and must thank the staff for being so helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JMJAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

First off, the food was very good – we’d already had a light lunch here which was brought to our table outside by an attentive young barman.

We were met with the same chap taking our order when we decided to come back for a more formal dinner. Having perused the menu, we sent him off to ask the chef whether, cheekily, we could have a side portion of their “mushy peas” with a Plaice dish. They weren’t supposed to go with the Plaice, but rather, a more traditional fish and chips but there’s no harm in asking is there? Our experience is that a good restaurant will try and accommodate your wishes even if what you’re asking for is likely to “murder” the dish you’ve ordered…

…Our man came back with a flat no! Nothing else, just a no, sorry. No explanation, but he was presumably relaying the same response spat at him by a less than happy “chef” in the engine room! We’re paying for it, aren’t we entitled to kill it, or at least be given a reason why we can't?

You can’t help feeling annoyed, and strangely a little foolish for asking, but undeterred we ordered anyway, less the mushy peas. Our mains arrived in lightning time which isn’t always a good sign, however, they were tasty. What we weren’t so impressed with was the obvious “not happy to be here” persona our chef must have passed on to the rest of the staff. Sombre faces all round, no one came to check our mains were OK, we asked for a couple of glasses of water which never came, and it wasn’t long before we started to witness the “clocking off”. This was about 10pm on a Saturday night but the restaurant obviously had designs on closing up soon as we watched countless staff wander through the restaurant in their casuals having gone through some kind of bizarre finger print clocking-off ritual from a machine bolted to the wall on OUR SIDE OF THE KITCHEN!

We asked for the bill to the reply of “no coffee then”?

This may all sound a bit picky but when you’re lead into a room of opulent drapes, grand paintings, impressive chandeliers, stripped wooden floors and covered chairs that would be perfect for a wedding reception…you can be forgiven for thinking you’re about to receive a 5-star service. Sadly we didn’t.

Good food and lovely decor but sombre staff, too much clocking-off shenanigans visible, and a rude and inflexible chef.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank a_trave11er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

We have Just returned from our third two night stay at this wonderful hotel. After a twelve month break and reading a few not so good reviews about staff service, we were a little apprehensive about returning as we had such attentive service on our first two visits.
But we had no need to worry. From our initial warm welcome, to our fabulous first floor suite,to the great service in the bar and restaurant on both nights, everything (including the delicious food ) was once again first class. Thank you Osborne House for never letting us down. You remain one of our favourite hotels and we will, of course, be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dollyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

Stayed on 3rd floor. The host's welcome was exceptional. Speechless upon seeing the room. First impression was that it was huge. 2nd thought was a room in Miss Havisham's house from Great Expectations. Pale colours, drab Victoriana, faded woodwork, drapes like death shrouds. Like a fusty old antique shop. All of this is done on purpose and probably costing a small fortune for these furnishings.
Then again, it was clean. It had a real tea and coffee pot, homemade biscuits, real milk, daily top-ups of ice for the wine bucket, proper candles, and a fire any blacksmith would be proud of.
So what's wrong with it? Well - if this is to your taste, then nothing at all. It's quirky and fun. If you think 'faded splendour' is ever so slightly depressing, - well, it's still an experience not to be missed for once in your life.
Brilliant points. Breakfast in your room - how civilised can you get! The view. The quietness. The location. The atmospheric opulence.
Bad points are all trivialities. Like no staff on reception to discuss, enquire or moan to. A heap of browny-gray scale in the toilet bowl that would never flush away (yuk!). Candle bulbs needed replacing. A bafflingTV remote system you needed a spotty 14 year old geek to operate. Amazing, original floorboards that squeeked and groaned loudly in complaint when walked on, which must have been hell for those below. 'Complimentary newspaper' didn't appear.
Would I go back? Erm, difficult. Possibly not, but if this 'period' of furnishing is to your taste then it's just amazing. It's expensive, but not outrageous. The food is excellent. It's romantic but weird. Definitely an acquired taste, but well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrianKirton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#10 of 59 in Llandudno
979 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#5 of 59 in Llandudno
863 reviews
0 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#14 of 59 in Llandudno
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
1,301 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 59 in Llandudno
1,460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#13 of 59 in Llandudno
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osborne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne House

Address: Promenade 17 North Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LP, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#13 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $200 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Osborne House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Osborne House Hotel Llandudno
Osborne House Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing