We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hilary Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$87
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. George's Hotel(Llandudno)
$105
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$281
$264
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Tudno Hotel(Llandudno)
$101
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Broadway Hotel(Llandudno)(Great Value!)
$53
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Headlands Hotel(Llandudno)
$81
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hen-Dy(Llandudno)
$95
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveler rating
330
26
6
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
330
26
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbiscuitsnorth walesfreeview tvfull welsh breakfastquiet streetfriendly hostsoff road parkinglocation is idealset you up for the dayfabulous staytoastcomfortable staybed and breakfastbreakfast was excellenttown centresea frontcooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 365 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I have just been to the Hilary for our 2nd visit and this time we took some friends with us. Just like our first visit Colin was very welcoming, the rooms were all very cosy and the breakfasts were all you could wish for - just right to start the day!!!
Colin and Deborah are exceptional hosts and you really could not wish for anything better, we particularly like the "things you may have forgotten to bring with you" box which Deborah puts in each bedroom - and do not forget the welcoming chocolates on the pillows.
Our friends enjoyed it so much they have been asking us "when are we going again ?"
We would recommend The Hilary to anybody wishing to visit Llandudno

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Owner at The Hilary Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about us. It sounds like you may have started a craze. We look forward to seeing you and your friends again soon.
Best Regards
Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I decided on a last minute break to Llandudno - found The Hilary online and liked the look of it and all the posiitive reviews - must be popular as there was only 1 room out of 8 left to book which happened to be the smallest room in the house, but that did not detract from the welcome we had from Colin when we arrived.

Colin carried bags up to our room which was very cosy and exceptionally clean - we originally only booked to stay 2 nights but were so delighted with the location of the guest house (easy walk into centre of Llandudno) and the hospitatlity plus excellent breakfast from Deborah that we asked if we could stay another night - we were so pleased that the room was free for another night so had no hesitation to book for a third night. Also as room was on the small side the price reflected this and it was slightly cheaper than the bigger rooms which some Guest Houses do not do. Would have no hesitation in returning to The Hilary in the future. We also have Welsh Bus passes so our car did not move from the drive from when we arrived until we were leaving as we went into Conway on the bus and could have gone further if we wanted to.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mold51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Owner at The Hilary Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about us. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and so happy we could accommodate you. Room 5 is cheaper than the other rooms even though it has all the facilities of the others. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best Regards
Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

First time at the Hilary and would recommend to anyone. Great value for money, lovely hosts, rooms spotless with all you need, breakfast fab and really good location for getting about, what more do you need. Will definintely be returning.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank JULIE W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Owner at The Hilary Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you so much for this review. We're glad you enjoyed yourself. Col has just started our 'winter refurbishment program' - tiles, bathroom suites, paint and wallpaper - so you may see some changes when you next stay.
Thanks again
Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Hillary will give you a great welcome and you will get a very clean nicely decorated room.
The breakfasts are excellent and the hosts really try to make your stay a happy one.
Why therefore did I not give them an "Excellent Rating"? I may be a bit mean but the electric shower was a bit too weak for my liking, otherwise a first class establishment.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silverfox1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Owner at The Hilary Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thank you for taking your time to leave a review about us. We appreciate your feedback. As Col explained to you during your stay if you leave the settings for the power on that shower as we recommend you would have had a more powerful shower. I have since tried that shower (when there were no guests in that room, of course) and had no problem.
Perhaps if you visit again you would prefer to have a room with a gravity fed shower (top floor rooms) and not an electric one or the power shower in room 6. Just let us know at the time of booking.
Kind Regards
Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Wonderful short break at The Hilary, really welcoming and friendly. Nothing too much trouble. Room and bathroom lovely and clean. Breakfasts fantastic
We were very surprised at how lovely Llandudno and North Wales were and if we returned we would stay at The Hilary again, hopefully a bit longer next time.Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Owner at The Hilary Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us - Llandudno is a beautiful place
Kind Regards
Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews