We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tierd,Dated and Overpriced!”
Review of St. Kilda Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Kilda Hotel
Ranked #33 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tierd,Dated and Overpriced!”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Sorry but this just was not for us. Only wish that we had checked on Trip advisor before we booked. We booked what we thought was a superior sea view room at £80pp DBB. what was "superior" about it we just do not know???? Very basic room outdated. overpriced! little things niggled me for £80 per person you would expect to have biscuits replenished every day on the tea and coffee making facilities. was not happy with the food at all, breakfast was ok nothing to write home about but edible. Evening meal food bland and overcooked and again outdated. ordered the cheeseboard was not happy to have cheese and biscuits brought to me after being passed from table to table,not knowing whose touched what! The whole experience "dreadful" will not be recommending this hotel to friends and family. On the plus side room was clean and tidy. staff friendly. Just very overpriced for what it is. We recommend that you look around for a better deal most infact nearly all hotels on the seafront were a lot cheaper!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank andy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    41
    28
    12
    1
See reviews for
35
51
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We recently stayed at St.Kilda and found the food good and the service good, unfortunatly we had a problem about the menu on one night which could be easily resolved but the waiter choose to be very rude which spoiled our break and we would think twice about staying again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clive l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGR, Front Office Manager at St. Kilda Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Our management team would like to take this opportunity to offer our sincerest apologies to the reviewer. We strive to give our guests the best possible holiday experience, and pride ourselves on the friendly atmosphere created by our staff. We are deeply sorry to hear that these guests have been disappointed. The matter is being dealt with by the proprietors and the management team - and being treated with the seriousness it deserves.
Furthermore, we have been in touch with the guests who have accepted our apologies and we are very much looking forward to seeing them again in April.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I was a member of a party of 29 friends and this is our tenth annual visit. If you visit the St.Kilda, you are treated to scones and tea/coffee on arrival whilst your cases are taken to your room. This is a traditional, British establishment with high standards of décor and cuisine. It has the 'family feel' that owners Mr & Mrs Jones and staff have inculcated over the years. All holiday breaks are what you make of them. Go in with a positive attitude and you won't be disappointed. The St.Kilda does 'exactly what it says on the tin'. The rooms are comfortably appointed but obviously aren't all the same size. Not everyone can have a sea view, but, at the back, there are stunning vistas of the mountains. If you want a disco every night, perhaps you should have gone to Magaluf. The (free) entertainment most nights is customer friendly and interactive. If it's not to your taste, there's a sumptuously luxurious lounge where you can find quiet time. Llandudno, with its spacious walks, fabulous views, handy shopping facilities and seasonal attractions, benefits from a sheltered microclimate. The St.Kilda, with its central, seafront location and covered parking, is a perfect base for a holiday break right through the year! We've already booked for 2015.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

just returned from a 5day break with 29 friends at the st Kilda hotel
the hotel is very clean but the rooms are very basic
good food and good service in the dining room
the entertainment was excellent the staff could have been more involved with us
but we all enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trefor1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMGR, Group Marketing Manager at St. Kilda Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we value all feedback and use it to improve.

Pam, Thea, Anna & Violet along with all the staff would like to wish you a very Merry Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a We'll meet again 3 night break. We complained about the bedroom which we had booked as a sea view and it was very small with a porthole type window and a sloping ceiling.
We were given the option of 2 other rooms and picked the best of a bad lot. It was about 7 ft wide x 16ft long.

The entertainment was in the bar area and extremely crowded and cramped.

The only redeeming feature was that the food was good but could have been hotter.

Do not book room 339 unless you are happy to sleep in an extended broom cupboard.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room on the 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaylen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Excellent hotel, great staff all very helpful, friendly & efficient. Great location. We were a party of thirteen and booked BBEM;it is not always easy to please everyone but this year we were all happy with the food. I would use this hotel again either personally or when we next hold our Conference in Llandudno.

Room Tip: ask for one facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 321terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanidloes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Having booked into this hotel for three nights for a mini break yesterday 07/10/13, I was very disappointed to experience that they could not accommodate me in my powered wheelchair in any of their rooms from small to large bedrooms.. I could not fault the owner or their staff, in particular the receptionist (Anna I think her name was) for trying their very best to let me stay there. Unfortunately larger access is needed in bedroom doorways and bathroom doorways also, as my powered wheelchair would not go past the door areas without getting stuck in doorway. Please be aware of the problem if you are using a wheelchair in particular a powered wheelchair even though they have a lift to all rooms it is very small. Finally I must say it seems a very popular hotel with guests returning year after year who are fit or if they are only using a stick etc., not suitable for a wheelchair bound guest which was a shame as I liked the position of hotel and pleasant staff. p.s. they give you complimentary scones on arrival which are delicious...request no butter and only jam if you prefer them that way... otherwise they will come buttered..

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room especially a bay window room as they are bigger than the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#39 of 60 in Llandudno
450 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Marine Hotel
Bay Marine Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Kilda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Kilda Hotel

Property: St. Kilda Hotel
Address: Gloddaeth Crescent, Llandudno LL30 2XS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Kilda Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
St. Kilda Hotel Llandudno, Wales
St Kilda Llandudno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing