We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great B&B!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tilstone Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tilstone Guest House
Ranked #89 of 150 Llandudno B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

The Tilstone was great. The room (number 4, single room) and bathroom (shared) were both impeccably clean and well furnished. The room was very cozy, with its own tv, a glimpse of the sea out of the window, great curtains that really blocked out the light, and tea/coffee/hot chocolate etc available with a cute mug and saucer.

The breakfast was a good standard English breakfast. The tomatoes were particularly good, and there was a great selection of cereals too. The coffee tasted like instant coffee, but that is to be expected in the UK (as an American, I'm always hoping for filter coffee).

It's located on the main road, but there honestly isn't traffic (except for the occasional car) on the road at night...there aren't even lines painted on the road, so noise wasn't an issue.

Overall, I absolutely recommend this B&B.

You're only a short walk from town (really quite short, maybe 5-10 minutes) and a street away from the promenade/sea side. Llandudno itself is a really cute town too! I didn't have any spectacular food though, so maybe read around for reviews first.

If you are a walker, there is a great walk to do that starts at the pier on the end of the promenade, and goes around the shoreline to the Western shore. Really beautiful, and not very hard at all, the slopes were manageable for children. It took about 6 hours, and there were cafes and places to stop along the way.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lamericana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    15
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
9
39
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

My partner and I have just returned from a visit to North Wales and stayed at the Tilstone for 2 nights. What a wonderful place to stay. The hosts are very welcoming and the whole atmosphere is very friendly. We arrived very late after booking at the last moment via late rooms.com and having stayed for 1 night, we decided to stay for another. We arrived on our motorbike and we chose the Tilstone because of the secure motorbike parking facility ( our baby).Cars can park on the road outside, which is plentyful.There is a great corner shop across the road which sells absolutely everything.The hotel itself is immaculately clean and very well maintained ( unlike some others in the area) and the room we stayed in was very comfortable indeed. We had an excellent nights sleep and a super breakfast to follow. We would certainly recommend the Tilstone and we would return if travelling to the area in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saramil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tipton west midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

This hotel is value for money . The room was clean ,comfortable and spacious , We have stayed in some of the larger hotels on the sea front whos rooms are not as nice .The owners were friendly and provided an excellent full english breakfast no one had to wait for anything ,Its in a lovely quiet position just off the sea front , We enjoyed it and will be returning in july ,

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hardies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

My husband and myself had a double en suite room, the bathroom was small, but very clean. My father in law had a single room on the 2nd floor, no lift, no en suite, he had to come down to the 1st floor for a bathroom.
We had to park 2 streets away as there is no parking facilities at the hotel and the street was full.
On arrival the landlady was in the midst of a row with a family who had brought in take away food, and she made this known to me on arrival.

there was no evidence of a licensed bar as advertised on the web site.
The prices on the web site of £25pppn do not reflect the true price of £30pppn. nor does it mention the 5% charge for credit card payment.

there is an extra charge if you wish your towels to be changed before the 3 day deadline.

Also advertised on the outside of the hotel is dinner. but there are no facilities to enjoy a dinner at the hotel.

The land lord of the hotel was quite rude to his guests, i.e he mentioned he was impressed with the Halloween masks worn at breakfast, and if you haven't enjoyed your stay then don't come back.

Some took it as good humour but some guests were clearly appalled.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanandNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

i stayed in the guest house for a long weekend, just to get away and i have got to say the tilstone definatly did the job i loved every minute of it, the house was really nice , the room was spacious and the owners were very welcoming, i would recomend this to any one without children thankyou steve lynne and family will see you soon i hope

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitee2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2010

My husband and I had traveled from California USA to London & had taken the train straight to Llandudno. It was a very long journey for us and I was 2 months pregnant to boot! The owners had welcomed us immediately upon our late evening arrival. They then escorted us into the parlor & served us tea with biscuits. Such wonderful hospitality! During our 3 day stay, we were continually tardy to breakfast (jet lag, morning sickness & just plain American laziness) but they were quick to accommodate. Price was atypical of the area, food was well cooked, tasty & presentable, a very clean establishment, kind patrons & there was no noise inside or outside to disturb us during the weekend stay, as we slept in room #6. It had a cramp lavatory, but that was to be expected in a renovated Victorian structure. I was very relieved to have a shower in our room!
Owners were very helpful in their recommendations on key places to visit. All in all, throughout our 12 day stay in Llandudno, London & Paris... Tilstone B & B had given us the best start to our whirlwind vacation before our daughter was born. Thank you so much for your hospitality! Kent & Teri Hulett

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tereliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington, cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

We are a married couple in our 50's, and booked a Friday to Monday stay at the Tilstone. We were welcomed early by Lynne and were able to check in to our room just after lunch - even though the official time should have been later in the afternoon. The room was light and airy, clean and welcoming. Great to have latest TV, tea & coffee & toiletries provided. The ensuite had a lovely easy to use shower with loads of hot water. Breakfast was selected from a picklist the day before - there were cereals, fresh fruit and juice on a self-serve table, and the hot breakfast was served with loads of toast (cooked just the way I like it!) there were jams and butter provided also, with plenty of tea/coffee. Most important to us was that we were served by a friendly & efficient hostess - unobtrusive, but extremely pleasant, who had loads of tips about places to go etc. We paid £60 a night for our double room, and this included breakfast - and we both agreed that this was fantastic value for money. We would definitely recommend the Tilstone, and hope to go back again some time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bing773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#43 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ascot House
Ascot House
#59 of 150 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rosaire
Rosaire
#65 of 150 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bodnant Guest House
Bodnant Guest House
#33 of 150 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Craiglands House
Craiglands House
#58 of 150 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.0 mi away
Glascoed Guest House
Glascoed Guest House
#9 of 150 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tilstone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilstone Guest House

Property: Tilstone Guest House
Address: 15 Carmen Sylva Road, Llandudno LL30 1EQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tilstone Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Tilstone Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilstone Hotel Llandudno
Tilstone Guest House Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing