We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roy R” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Ash

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Grand Ash
Ranked #59 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Bedford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Roy R”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed for three nights (Llandudno & Snowdonia tour) which was good value. i did not expect a 4 star hotel for what I had paid therefore was not disappointed. Staff were courteous and helpful. Double room was spartan but clean but only one chair in bedroom for two adults. Room tidied and cleaned to good standard. Oldish tv was working but had no remote control. Good breakfast and evening meals with reasonable choice served promptly and hot. Enjoyed all the meals. Maybe co-incidence but seemed that every time that I went out of the front door it was partially blocked by staff smoking cigarettes. As my break was such good value for money I would not hesitate to go again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback, following your stay at the Grand Ash Hotel, Llandudno recently.

We know there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

Both Rob and I agreed that we can make no excuse for the fact that staff members were smoking outside the front of the hotel. This clearly is not acceptable and I must assure you that the staff members involved have been reprimanded and this will not happen again. To this end I can only offer my sincere and genuine apology for this.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    36
    23
    20
    30
See reviews for
24
40
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Almost didn't go after reading some reviews which would have been a mistake. Yes it is a basic hotel but I found it clean. White sheets and towels. No staining and clean hand towel daily. Staff very efficient and friendly. Menu had plenty of choice each day and food, while not cordon bleu was very acceptable. Service was speedy. Good packed lunch service. Would have liked a proper duvet instead of heavy quilt that slipped,better pillows, a TV with remote control and a chair for each occupant of the bedroom, but there was plenty of tea making equipment with supplies topped up daily. The room was cleaned and bed made daily, so I do not think people could really expect much more from a budget hotel. Pleased I made up my own mind. If I had a complaint it was staff smoking outside the front door which did nothing to enhance the hotel. Outside the back door would be better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback, following your stay at the Grand Ash Hotel, Llandudno recently.

We know there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

Both Rob and I agreed that we can make no excuse for the fact that staff members were smoking outside the front of the hotel. This clearly is not acceptable and I must assure you that the staff members involved have been reprimanded and this will not happen again. To this end I can only offer my sincere and genuine apology for this.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just returned from a weekend visit (Magical Mystery Tour) from this awful hotel. Our triple room was unclean, cracked window, unable to close bathroom door and so on. Food was very mediocre (we went out on the 2nd night). Returned 1st night at 11.30 unable to successfully use the front door key to be greeted by the receptionist/porter in just his trousers (baretopped) and again at 11pm following night after successfully getting in, but unable to find our room key within the reception area,for him coming out once more semi-undressed and brusquely handing it to me without a word! I consider him to have been indecently undressed and so unprofessional!!! The actual coach trip and driver was very good and this helped us to spend the weekend mainly out of the hotel. We have never experienced such a low standard in many years of travelling in the UK particularly. Awful!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margaret1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.

We know there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, I am sorry that you did not find this to be the case on during your stay.

I was very sorry read your comments and to learn of the difficulties you faced when you found yourself locked outside the hotel. Please be assured that this matter has been discussed at length with Rob and his team to ensure it cannot happen again.

Once again, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I booked a one night stay at this hotel through Bookings.com. The Hotel is a very basic hotel, the room was ok, the bar was ok, not to expensive. The breakfast was ok, pretty basic but the waiting on staff were pleasant enough. The only problem was our neighbours in room 32, we were in room 31, came in at 12.30 and the noise off the floor boards was ridiculous, it was so loud we thought someone had come into our room.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay at this hotel do not stay in rooms 30 - 34.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philbaluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback, following your stay at the Grand Ash Hotel, Llandudno, earlier this month.

We know there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

just returned from 5days holiday to Grand ash Hotel.no, the hotel is not 5 star, But the staff and the food are. The bedrooms were a bit small, but they were clean and warm .We had to turn heating off as it got to warm. Entertainment was okay,Irish comedian/singer and singing duo. Our coach passengers were mostly over sixty to 91 and we all had a great time. I have been on 5 star cruises and never came across better service. thanks to all staff from room 31

Room Tip: back room quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabehlynnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review of your stay at the Grand Ash Hotel, Llandudno.

I was pleased to read your very kind comments and have passed these on to Rob and his team who will be pleased to read them.

We know there are some areas and rooms within our hotel group which need upgrading however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Room fine, near centre llandudno...got back to room 11pm ready for good nights rest...room freezing...no heating??? Didnt sleep at all and shower in morning was luke warm...spoke to other guests and same in all rooms....if you want be comfortable take your own fan heater....never again!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sulu1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review.

My sincere apologies for not meeting with your expectations on this occasion.

I was disapointed to read your comments as this is not the normal thing to happen at the Grand Ash Hotel. I will be speaking with my general manager to find out what went wrong, and to make sure this does not happen again.

Once again my sincere apologies.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Just returned from a 5 day Christmas Holiday with Grand Uk Holidays, don't mind saying we were all a bit concerned about the reviews we saw on Trip Advisor, and after a very long journey we arrived, and the first thing we saw was scaffolding at the front of Hotel.
It put us off a bit, but never mind after the terrible weather we have been having damage does happen.
The hotel is very dated and needs decorating everywhere, we were on the 3rd floor, and as soon as you step out of the lift you smell the dampness, and see the tatty wallpapering.
But i have to say the rooms although old and tatty, were very comfortable and nice clean sheets and pillows.
The food was excellent with plenty of it, and lots of choices, the breakfast was brilliant with a full english which was not at all greasy.
All the waitresses were lovely and very friendly and helpful, they couldn't do enough for us.
But be aware this Hotel we found is mainly for the older clientelle as most of the guests had walking frames and were infirm, we are in our 60's and we found that the entertainment was geared up for the much older clientelle.
The ball room where you can have a dance was a piece of lino about the size of a postage stamp, where the disabled scooters were kept.
This is no reflection on the guests as they were all very nice, and were enjoying there selfs.
But we would not stay here again, Llandudno is Brilliant, lots of nice shops and a good sized beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank smudger_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Many thanks for your constructive and kind comments.

Although we may not be the best hotel in Llandudno we do try to offer exceptional hospitality, good food and a warm welcome, if we can do this 97% of the time then we are doing well.

We know we have a few problems with the hotel and are addressing these during the closedown in January/February this year.

Once again many thanks for your comments.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.6 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#34 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#22 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#54 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rose Tor Hotel
Rose Tor Hotel
#42 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Ash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Ash

Property: The Grand Ash
Address: Gloddaeth St, Llandudno LL30 2DP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Ash 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 2 star budget full service hotel in a central location we have a lift serving our main floors, car parking is available in the streets surrounding the hotel and is not restricted. Breakfast is substantial and is included in your rate. Direct bookings are welcome, please note we cannot cater for guests with pets, or for persons who have severe mobilty problems owing to space limitations. We are close to shops, cafes and pubs a regular bus service is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Grand Ash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Ash Hotel Llandudno
Grand Ash Llandudno
The Grand Ash Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing