We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“will definitely go back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Ash

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Grand Ash
Ranked #59 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“will definitely go back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

we have just returned after a coach holiday at this hotel. It is a basic budget hotel but clean and well situated for all the amenities etc. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we can't fault the food at all. The portions were good, there were 3 choices for appetisers, 2 choices for starters, 4 or 5 choices for main meals and again 4 or 5 choices for pudding. Their chef is an asset to them, all the meals were well cooked and delicious. If they were bland we didn't notice but the modern trend is to cook without salt etc. Other people on the coach also made the comment that they couldn't fault anything. Our room was cleaned every day, the cups were washed and towels were changed. I don't know what people expect from a basic budget hotel. If they want posh they should pay for a posh hotel . Will definitely go back again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kathleen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments, as you say we are not the snob's of the industry but what we do we do well and that is what we are giving is value for money, more than you would get at the Dorchester or Ritz, but eh we are not all millionaires.

Once again many thanks.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    37
    23
    20
    30
See reviews for
24
41
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Suffolk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have just returned from our 3rd stay at the Grand Ash and were very disappointed this time. We chose to go back there as, albeit very basic, it was always good value for money, not this time. The food portions have shrunk to half of what they were on our other stays there, one night we ordered the desert and were given something not even on the menu but the waitress disappeared quick before we had a chance to say anything. The rooms have been refurbished and the mirrored wardrobe door had a large gap at the top but fitted ok at the bottom (I put that down to them using Bob the Builder!), they now have duvets too but had a small double duvet in a normal double cover so one person had the duvet while the other had a bit of duvet and only cover!. We stayed for 3 nights and the room was'nt cleaned once just the wash basin, they cups were'nt even washed up this time. Also the TV is way too small for the room, last time we stayed there we had a decent size flatscreen TV now its back to the old type 14" TV. We used to love staying at the Grand Ash but will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chucklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your constructive comments on the Grand Ash Hotel.

I was naturally concerned to read of the unfortunate incidents which lead to your dissatisfaction and I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay.

I have spoken to my manager who informs me that nothing was reported to him about the problems otherwise these could have been recitifies immeadiately

Once again my sincere apologise for any inconvenience and with not meeting your expectations on this occasion. If you are considering staying with us again please contact me on my direct line and I will endeavour to make sure your stay is enjoyable in every respect

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
norfolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed at this hotel with an organised coach holiday. Bedroom was small and needed a little TLC, bed clean and comfortable, plenty of hot water for shower. Des and waitresses very friendly and helpful. Food ok, breakfast fine, evening meals just a bit bland. Thought the hotel was good value .for the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lollipop60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments and your review of the Grand Ash Hotel.

At the Grand Ash Hotel as with all of our hotels we pride ourselves on giving our best to all our guests, and should things not be quite right we always try to rectify them as quickly as possible and to the guest’s satisfaction.

Once again many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

when arriving the staff could not find the booking that we had made but luckly they had two rooms available for us .the rooms were very basic and a little tatty (peeling wallpaper,cracked tiles in the bathroom ,rotting window frames) but clean enough .
The hotel is very well situated with plenty of free parking if you can find a space .
The staff were all friendly and efficient and the breakfast had plenty of choice and was really well cooked .all in all we enjoyed our stay and with a lick of paint this hotel would have been perfect

Room Tip: some of the rooms semed to be better decorated than the ones on the top floor where we were situated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank goody16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for your constructive comments. We are working hard to rectify any problems and I kno Rob , Des and their team will be trying vey hard

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

The Grand Ash is in a very convenient position for sea front, shops etc. Our room was quite small but was clean and had everything we needed. Could not fault breakfast or dinner though desserts had room for improvement. I think overall the hotel represents good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at back may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Moya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

The worst place you could ever stay in it should be closed down.Mouldy bread, dirty bathrooms, peeling paint and very generally run down. Rooms small and not very nice. Pillows stained and awful from previous guests. You really do not want to stay here as you will wish you had chosen somewhere else.

Room Tip: Check to make sure you are happy with your room before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

After a long journey we had hoped to go for a shower/bath before dinner. However on arrival at our room we discovered that the bathing facilities were disgusting. The shower tray had been over painted to up-date and this was then peeling. The tiles were uneven making for crevices which the cleaning girls had no hope of keeping clean. The shower mats were in place but appeared to be to disguise more nasties rather than to step onto. The plumbing was very dated and inefficient. We then went down to dinner un-refreshed and pressured for time as the sittings didn't have any flexibility to accommodate our sight-seeing excursions. Following this we sought the manager to request a change of room but this could not be done for 3 days. We challenged the manager over the state of the pillows who was not at all helpful at first due to all his stock being of a sub standard condition. 2 days later he purchased us some new ones. On top of this the fire escapes were not suitable for our age group to manage. The beds were positioned poorly so that windows were not accessible to be opened without standing on a bed. It was very hot and uncomfortable. At breakfast on one occasion we were made toast from a mouldy loaf of bread. When informing the staff of this the under manager went on to say how the date on the loaf was 2017. If this were the case the bread clearly was not of a fresh standard!! The place was very poorly maintained and shabby. Carpets were stuck down in places. Basins did not hold water. Doors did not shut properly. Paint was peeling. What a dreadful disappoinment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank suemaycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.6 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#34 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#22 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#54 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.4 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Min y Don
Min y Don
#53 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Ash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Ash

Property: The Grand Ash
Address: Gloddaeth St, Llandudno LL30 2DP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Ash 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 2 star budget full service hotel in a central location we have a lift serving our main floors, car parking is available in the streets surrounding the hotel and is not restricted. Breakfast is substantial and is included in your rate. Direct bookings are welcome, please note we cannot cater for guests with pets, or for persons who have severe mobilty problems owing to space limitations. We are close to shops, cafes and pubs a regular bus service is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Grand Ash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Ash Hotel Llandudno
Grand Ash Llandudno
The Grand Ash Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing