We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but Value for money”
Review of The Grand Ash

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grand Ash
Ranked #59 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed at this hotel with an organised coach holiday. Bedroom was small and needed a little TLC, bed clean and comfortable, plenty of hot water for shower. Des and waitresses very friendly and helpful. Food ok, breakfast fine, evening meals just a bit bland. Thought the hotel was good value .for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lollipop60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your comments and your review of the Grand Ash Hotel.

At the Grand Ash Hotel as with all of our hotels we pride ourselves on giving our best to all our guests, and should things not be quite right we always try to rectify them as quickly as possible and to the guest’s satisfaction.

Once again many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 142 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

when arriving the staff could not find the booking that we had made but luckly they had two rooms available for us .the rooms were very basic and a little tatty (peeling wallpaper,cracked tiles in the bathroom ,rotting window frames) but clean enough .
The hotel is very well situated with plenty of free parking if you can find a space .
The staff were all friendly and efficient and the breakfast had plenty of choice and was really well cooked .all in all we enjoyed our stay and with a lick of paint this hotel would have been perfect

Room Tip: some of the rooms semed to be better decorated than the ones on the top floor where we were situated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank goody16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Thank you for your constructive comments. We are working hard to rectify any problems and I kno Rob , Des and their team will be trying vey hard

Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The Grand Ash is in a very convenient position for sea front, shops etc. Our room was quite small but was clean and had everything we needed. Could not fault breakfast or dinner though desserts had room for improvement. I think overall the hotel represents good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at back may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Moya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The worst place you could ever stay in it should be closed down.Mouldy bread, dirty bathrooms, peeling paint and very generally run down. Rooms small and not very nice. Pillows stained and awful from previous guests. You really do not want to stay here as you will wish you had chosen somewhere else.

Room Tip: Check to make sure you are happy with your room before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

After a long journey we had hoped to go for a shower/bath before dinner. However on arrival at our room we discovered that the bathing facilities were disgusting. The shower tray had been over painted to up-date and this was then peeling. The tiles were uneven making for crevices which the cleaning girls had no hope of keeping clean. The shower mats were in place but appeared to be to disguise more nasties rather than to step onto. The plumbing was very dated and inefficient. We then went down to dinner un-refreshed and pressured for time as the sittings didn't have any flexibility to accommodate our sight-seeing excursions. Following this we sought the manager to request a change of room but this could not be done for 3 days. We challenged the manager over the state of the pillows who was not at all helpful at first due to all his stock being of a sub standard condition. 2 days later he purchased us some new ones. On top of this the fire escapes were not suitable for our age group to manage. The beds were positioned poorly so that windows were not accessible to be opened without standing on a bed. It was very hot and uncomfortable. At breakfast on one occasion we were made toast from a mouldy loaf of bread. When informing the staff of this the under manager went on to say how the date on the loaf was 2017. If this were the case the bread clearly was not of a fresh standard!! The place was very poorly maintained and shabby. Carpets were stuck down in places. Basins did not hold water. Doors did not shut properly. Paint was peeling. What a dreadful disappoinment.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank suemaycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Just returned from a one night last minute stay at the Grand Ash. The Hotel is situation on a main road with parking right outside or up the side street. If the road parking is busy come back later on and you will get a space for sure. The hotel itself is quite clean and tidy but I agree with some reviewers that a lick of paint wouldnt go amiss. Check in was quick and easy and pleasant. There is a lift by reception which says it will carry 4 persons, I think 2 is more realistic. Downstairs there is a large bar area with a dance floor. There was no entertainment when we stayed but I believe they do have some entertainment on nights where there are plenty of guests.
Our room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the road. It was clean and tidy with a double bed and a single. As there was only 2 of us we found this room quite spacious. There was a double wardrobe, dressing table and bed side tables. There was also a foldaway luggage stand, quite handy. TV with freeview and tea and coffee making facilites. The beds were ok, just a little uncomfortable on the matress side. The bathroom was quite spacious however here we encountered our first little problem. My son, a 6ft 14 year old found it impossible to stand in the shower and resorted to sitting down in it. The trouble was once the hot water was on it was scalding hot, put the cold on and it went freezing. A difficult shower but hey,not the end of the world!
Breakfast was lovely, full english we had but there is a choice - even kippers! Theres plenty of cereals and lots of toast, a great start to the day.
The hotel is ideally situated near the shops yet far enough away to be quiet at night. The promenade and the pier is just a short stroll away. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who's after a cheap break away just remember if you want the Hilton, pay Hilton prices!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank browncow71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We made a last minute booking, because we needed somewhere to stay in the Llandudno area at short notice. Because of our haste, we did not check reviews from previous guests carefully enough. As soon as we arrived, we realised we had made a dreadful mistake. First impressions, as we entered the Grand Ash, were of somewhere really shabby. When we opened the door from the stairway on the first floor (where our room was), we were greeted by a peculiar smell, which did not bode well. By this stage, we expected very little, and the room was as expected - shabby and unpleasant (and also very small). The sheets LOOKED clean (I hope they were!), but there was no duvet - just a top sheet under a counterpain, which looked as if it had been on the bed for years. The furnishings were old and shoddy. The shower room was unbelievable shabby (1960s?). Everything was in need of redecoration.
A very unpleasant experience - The only consulation was that we had booked just one night (and no breakfast)!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wildings Hotel
Wildings Hotel
#39 of 60 in Llandudno
275 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.2 mi away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#53 of 60 in Llandudno
274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunoon
Dunoon
#28 of 60 in Llandudno
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Ash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Ash

Address: Gloddaeth St, Llandudno LL30 2DB, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Ash 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 2 star budget full service hotel in a central location we have a lift serving our main floors, car parking is available in the streets surrounding the hotel and is not restricted. Breakfast is substantial and is included in your rate. Direct bookings are welcome, please note we cannot cater for guests with pets, or for persons who have severe mobilty problems owing to space limitations. We are close to shops, cafes and pubs a regular bus service is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Grand Ash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Ash Hotel Llandudno
Grand Ash Llandudno
The Grand Ash Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing