We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday from Hell!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Ash

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grand Ash
Ranked #59 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Holiday from Hell!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

After a long journey we had hoped to go for a shower/bath before dinner. However on arrival at our room we discovered that the bathing facilities were disgusting. The shower tray had been over painted to up-date and this was then peeling. The tiles were uneven making for crevices which the cleaning girls had no hope of keeping clean. The shower mats were in place but appeared to be to disguise more nasties rather than to step onto. The plumbing was very dated and inefficient. We then went down to dinner un-refreshed and pressured for time as the sittings didn't have any flexibility to accommodate our sight-seeing excursions. Following this we sought the manager to request a change of room but this could not be done for 3 days. We challenged the manager over the state of the pillows who was not at all helpful at first due to all his stock being of a sub standard condition. 2 days later he purchased us some new ones. On top of this the fire escapes were not suitable for our age group to manage. The beds were positioned poorly so that windows were not accessible to be opened without standing on a bed. It was very hot and uncomfortable. At breakfast on one occasion we were made toast from a mouldy loaf of bread. When informing the staff of this the under manager went on to say how the date on the loaf was 2017. If this were the case the bread clearly was not of a fresh standard!! The place was very poorly maintained and shabby. Carpets were stuck down in places. Basins did not hold water. Doors did not shut properly. Paint was peeling. What a dreadful disappoinment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank suemaycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    36
    23
    20
    30
See reviews for
24
40
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Just returned from a one night last minute stay at the Grand Ash. The Hotel is situation on a main road with parking right outside or up the side street. If the road parking is busy come back later on and you will get a space for sure. The hotel itself is quite clean and tidy but I agree with some reviewers that a lick of paint wouldnt go amiss. Check in was quick and easy and pleasant. There is a lift by reception which says it will carry 4 persons, I think 2 is more realistic. Downstairs there is a large bar area with a dance floor. There was no entertainment when we stayed but I believe they do have some entertainment on nights where there are plenty of guests.
Our room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the road. It was clean and tidy with a double bed and a single. As there was only 2 of us we found this room quite spacious. There was a double wardrobe, dressing table and bed side tables. There was also a foldaway luggage stand, quite handy. TV with freeview and tea and coffee making facilites. The beds were ok, just a little uncomfortable on the matress side. The bathroom was quite spacious however here we encountered our first little problem. My son, a 6ft 14 year old found it impossible to stand in the shower and resorted to sitting down in it. The trouble was once the hot water was on it was scalding hot, put the cold on and it went freezing. A difficult shower but hey,not the end of the world!
Breakfast was lovely, full english we had but there is a choice - even kippers! Theres plenty of cereals and lots of toast, a great start to the day.
The hotel is ideally situated near the shops yet far enough away to be quiet at night. The promenade and the pier is just a short stroll away. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who's after a cheap break away just remember if you want the Hilton, pay Hilton prices!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank browncow71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We made a last minute booking, because we needed somewhere to stay in the Llandudno area at short notice. Because of our haste, we did not check reviews from previous guests carefully enough. As soon as we arrived, we realised we had made a dreadful mistake. First impressions, as we entered the Grand Ash, were of somewhere really shabby. When we opened the door from the stairway on the first floor (where our room was), we were greeted by a peculiar smell, which did not bode well. By this stage, we expected very little, and the room was as expected - shabby and unpleasant (and also very small). The sheets LOOKED clean (I hope they were!), but there was no duvet - just a top sheet under a counterpain, which looked as if it had been on the bed for years. The furnishings were old and shoddy. The shower room was unbelievable shabby (1960s?). Everything was in need of redecoration.
A very unpleasant experience - The only consulation was that we had booked just one night (and no breakfast)!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

we have just got back from a 3 night stay at The Grand Ash and it was really nice, yeah the rooms are a bit dated but they are nice, comfortable and more importantly we had 3 great nights sleep We dont go on a break to check out the paintwork so even thou a bit worn it parts it did not bother us . I would recommend this hotel its location is great and the price we paid was a bargain would defo go back to this place and what a great place Llandudno is x

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank michelleleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

The room was a bit tired, but it was clean, comfortable and en suite. I found the cooked breakfast was first class; I did not dine at the hotel, but what was on offer looked very good value.
There are free car parking bays opposite.
The hotel was very well positioned, just a short walk to the promenade.

All in all it was fantastic value for money, and I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank slimboy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed for 1 night, the room was basic but very clean and had everything required for a 1 night stay. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was delicious.

The hotel could do with a little bit of TLC but for £20 B+B this was a gem of a hotel and well worth the money. Id stay here again when vsiting Llandudno for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burscough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed here in march 2012 for 1 night while sightseeing round Llandudno. The room was nice bit small and cold! The heating was off and took us 3 hours to work out how to put it on! Staff were friendly and the hotel is next to all the shops etc. There was no entertainment on the night we went and it was ok if you were an older couple but being younger it didn't suit us so we went out. Only problem is no car park and we drove round looking for a space as its always busy with tourists cos it's free parking! Overall a good night stay, good value for money and maybe would return.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xkatie89x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.6 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#22 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#54 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rose Tor Hotel
Rose Tor Hotel
#44 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Ash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Ash

Property: The Grand Ash
Address: Gloddaeth St, Llandudno LL30 2DP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Ash 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 2 star budget full service hotel in a central location we have a lift serving our main floors, car parking is available in the streets surrounding the hotel and is not restricted. Breakfast is substantial and is included in your rate. Direct bookings are welcome, please note we cannot cater for guests with pets, or for persons who have severe mobilty problems owing to space limitations. We are close to shops, cafes and pubs a regular bus service is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Grand Ash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Ash Hotel Llandudno
Grand Ash Llandudno
The Grand Ash Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing