We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly ... home from home”
Review of The Grand Ash

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grand Ash
Ranked #59 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed January 2, 2012

2* Victorian property - part of the Grand UK run hotels, although are open to private residents aswell - awaiting a refurb to the dining room and bar/entertainment area in mid January, hopefully the bedrooms will be next on agenda for redecorating as they are a bit dated although very clean, comfortable and suitably furnished.
All staff are very friendly from Rob-General Manager, Des-Assistant Manager right through to the chambermaids.
Hotel is clean, warm and welcoming, food aplenty with a vast choice, excellently cooked and presented, good range of drinks at the bar, varied entertainment, my fave was Irish Johnny.
I was staying here for 11 days over the Xmas/New Year period, plenty to see and do in Llandudno, staff offered advice and ideas of where to go and what to see both in and around Llandudno, don't need to have a car as the bus/train service are regular from early morning to late at night.
I will endeavour to stay here again at some point.

Room Tip: rooms to front are on the busy main road but I had no problem sleeping as noise was mimimal despite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 143 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2011

I was with a coach party so maybe we didn't get the best rooms. If I had been travelling independently I would never have stayed. The bedding was clean and the food adequate but otherwise would not recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Essexgirl1934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

only stayed 1 night but disappointed. Very dated and needs a major upgrading. The charge was £55 for B&B per person which was expensive.Room was dull and at rear and needed decorating.Will not be going back again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank daver401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

the hotel is very tired and they are very aware of this but they certainly make the most of what they've got and keep it very clean and tidy.
me and partner are a young gay couple in are 30's and on arriving we were a little unsure what we'd come to as this is very much a coach trip hotel for the older generation but we were made extremely welcome by staff(especially des) other guest and the entertainment (go johnny). the hotel is situated in a great location making easy access to both beaches, shops, resturants and many of the tourist attraction at a short walking distance. there is loads of free street parking outside the hotel and neighbouring streets(we managed to park everyday right outside the hotel).
the breakfast was lovely and you have your own table which makes food times easy and relaxing to do. so all in all a lovely hotel with an exceptional assistant manager that will make your stay here all the better.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sp00ners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

40 Stroke members & carers from Nottingham. Decor & building very tired. Disabled facilities limited. No ground floor disabled toilet. Lift is tiny - no access with electric wheelchair. My bedroom on 3rd floor was spacious, very clean & adequate although shower leaked to below. Staff shortage was apparent, but those; there; were brilliant. Hot water was always available and the food was first class with a varied choose. The evening entertainments were excellent. Now to the manager of that week - so versatile - Receptionist, switchboard, waiter,barman, fire security, luggage collection, fetched newspapers and was expert in moving scooters to & fro as space was at a premium. Always with a smile (well done him) We wondered when he slept. Interesting visit.
(One gets what one pays for) Last morningat 7am my carer went to set his case outside the door when it was whipped from his hand by who else. Yes it was that man again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ColinST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Room very small but had all facilities & only stayed 3 nights so OK.
Food well cooked, hot , a reasonable amount & decent choice.
Bed rather hard but suprisingly comfortable, slept like a log!
Staff very helpfuf & friendly.
Hotel a bit run down but what do you expect for that price?
Would definately stay here again- if only for the breakfasts.
.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aylkea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Stayed here on business for two weeks.
extremely friendly and helpful booking in experience, loved the room and price.
Will return in future.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m60mrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,476 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Loretta Hotel
The New Loretta Hotel
#55 of 60 in Llandudno
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Maenan Abbey Hotel
Maenan Abbey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Llanrwst
333 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#49 of 60 in Llandudno
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Ash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Ash

Address: Gloddaeth St, Llandudno LL30 2DB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Ash 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 2 star budget full service hotel in a central location we have a lift serving our main floors, car parking is available in the streets surrounding the hotel and is not restricted. Breakfast is substantial and is included in your rate. Direct bookings are welcome, please note we cannot cater for guests with pets, or for persons who have severe mobilty problems owing to space limitations. We are close to shops, cafes and pubs a regular bus service is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Grand Ash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Ash Hotel Llandudno
Grand Ash Llandudno
The Grand Ash Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing