We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay in Llandudno”
Review of Agar House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Agar House
Ranked #56 of 145 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed for three nights at Agar House this week. We were given a family room at the front of the house. We found it very easy to park and because the house is situated midway between Llandudno town and the west shore, we used both equally. The bathroom was a good size and the towels were changed very day. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. There were magazines, books and extra tea and coffee located outside the room if required. Plenty of drawer and hanging space. Maeve was very helpful with leaflets, brochures, theatre information. The sun shone every day, and our visit to Llandudno was certainly enhanced by our pleasant accommodation. Thanks also to Maeve for preparing a packed breakfast for us as we wished to leave early on the last morning to avoid traffic. Would definitely return, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzieqdonofrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgarHouse, Owner at Agar House, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

It was lovely to meet you and thank you so much for your kind comments and taking the time to review Agar House. A Packed Breakfast is so handy when you have to leave very early and I am glad you enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Agar House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 128 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed at Agar house for a few days this week, a lovely clean comfortable guest house in a quiet street. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great and of good quality, you could also choose what to have to eat, which was really useful with a 7 year old daughter.
Maeve was very welcoming and friendly and gave lots of useful info about where to eat and places to visit.
bottom line, would I go there again, yes! without any doubt.

Jacquie, (cheshire)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacquie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgarHouse, Owner at Agar House, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and apologies for not responding sooner. It was lovely to meet you and we look forward to welcoming you another time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at Agar House from the 13th to 16th August. The welcome was warm and informative, with Maeve givng plenty of advice and information on the best places to go and see.
The room we stayed in was the twin room, and as there was no family room available when booking, Maeve suggested a fold down bed for our son. This met our needs perfectly and our son was quite happy with the arrangement.
The room was very clean and comfortable. As for the breakfast, this was first class. The homemade marmalade was to die for. The service and attention to guest needs was second to none.
The house is situated in a lovely quiet residential area, with just a short walk into town and parking was no problem.
We will be returning without a doubt.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

En Suite Bedroom was on the small side, the shower area was a good size, there was no Communal Guest seating area,there was just a Hallway, so you were restricted when you wanted to relax, had to go back to the Bedroom, it was supposed to be a double room but we think it would have been better for a single person!!!! the dining area was quite large, very bright not dowdy, the Breakfast selection was very good, and there was plenty of variety. it was ok for a short notice long weekend break, but we would not have stayed for a week. the location was very quite, parking was a bit tight, glad we have a small vehicle.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jade58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgarHouse, Owner at Agar House, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank you for posting a review. I wish I had known you were not happy in your room as I did have a standard double on the first floor which was available due to a cancellation and larger than the room you were in. We always endeavour to make sure all our guests are comfortable at Agar House and if someone is staying for a week we normally give them a large room on the first floor, I am surprised you found the parking tight as St David's Road has very good free parking compared to other parts of town. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just got back from a 3 night stay with my wife and grandson at Agar House and sure enough, other reviews lived up to our expectations. Not much we can add really apart from to confirm what others are saying. The owners and very friendly, approachable and went out of their way to give our grandson what he asked us for his breakfast so full marks for that Maeve!
Parking outside is free and plentiful even in high season. We had room 7 which is the top floor attic room and was spotlessly clean, and I mean SPOTLESSLY clean which is a big factor in staying somewhere. Also has a toilet and sink with also an adjoining bathroom comprising of toilet, sink and bath with over-shower.
This b+b WILL be in the top 10 of Llandudno b+b's on Tripadvisor soon enough.
The beds are comfy, breakfast served 8.30am-9am. Agar house is clean, warm and comfy so there's nothing more we can add apart from to say that sometime in the future we will return so thanks again to Tim and Maeve for making us feel welcome, its great to read about such positive reviews so keep up the excellent work!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkeechops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgarHouse, Owner at Agar House, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Just one word WOW. Thank you so much for your kind comments and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We work very hard to make sure everyone is comfortable and well looked after at Agar House. It was a pleasure to meet your family and we really look forward to welcoming you back. I hope your hanging baskets were ok when you got back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This was our second visit to Agar House. Everything is spot on - cleanliness, location, the rooms, breakfast, etc. etc and free wi-fi to check opening times, weather forecasts. A great base to stroll into the town but quiet enough to park and get a good nights sleep. Maeve is a real character and always makes time to chat and provide useful info on things to see and places to eat. We love Llandudno and when we next visit we shall do exactly what we did this time and go back to Agar House.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wyresdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgarHouse, Owner at Agar House, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

It was lovely to see you again and thank you for posting a review. Apologies for taking so long to respond - we have been busy. Weather is beautiful at moment so everyone happy. Look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

A fantastic, family friendly, happy and spotless place to stay with a family. Loved the atmosphere during breakfasts, when Maeve came to have a chat with all of her guests, like we were old friends and even shared the recipe for her tasty marmalade- thank you:) No mouldy smell, no sticky tables, no disgusting bathrooms, no damp bedlinen. Instead - lovely, clean rooms, WiFi and perfect eggs for breakfast. Our daughter commented on the hotel as "the best place" and burst in tears as we parked on our drive saying "I want to go back to Wales". This says it all. We have already decided we will be back there very soon. Just to mention the weather - It was supposed to be a very rainy weekend, but because we used to live in Llandudno few years back and knew, that the weather changes there quickly, we did not hesitate to book a room and we were right! Most of the time it was sunny and warm. Thank you Mave and Tim for a warm welcome and making our holidays a treat, Joanna, Robert & Julia

Room Tip: We stayed in a twin room, because family rooms were booked, but it was big enough for 2 adults, a li...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgarHouse, Owner at Agar House, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Joanna, Robert & Julia, Wow what am amazing review thank you so much for your kind words. I am sorry it has taken me so long to reply it has been busy here. I look forward to seeing you again later on in the year and pls give Julia a big hug for me and tell her teddy is waiting in Room 2 for her.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
Hen-Dy Guesthouse
Hen-Dy Guesthouse
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenavon Guest House
Glenavon Guest House
#72 of 145 in Llandudno
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hilary Guest House
The Hilary Guest House
#61 of 145 in Llandudno
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bodnant Guest House
Bodnant Guest House
#39 of 145 in Llandudno
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hafan-y-Mor Guesthouse
Hafan-y-Mor Guesthouse
#4 of 145 in Llandudno
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosaire
Rosaire
#69 of 145 in Llandudno
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agar House

Address: 17 St. Davids Road, Llandudno LL30 2UL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range: $95 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agar House is a friendly and lovely Edwardian three star guest house in the picturesque resort town of Llandudno, North Wales. Perfectly situated in one of Llandudno's most beautiful and quiet areas, Agar House is just a short walk away from all of the town's shopping areas, theatres and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Agar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agar House Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing