We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home in the best possible way!”
Review of Agar House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Agar House
Ranked #43 of 146 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This was our second visit to Agar House. Everything is spot on - cleanliness, location, the rooms, breakfast, etc. etc and free wi-fi to check opening times, weather forecasts. A great base to stroll into the town but quiet enough to park and get a good nights sleep. Maeve is a real character and always makes time to chat and provide useful info on things to see and places to eat. We love Llandudno and when we next visit we shall do exactly what we did this time and go back to Agar House.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wyresdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgarHouse, Owner at Agar House, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

It was lovely to see you again and thank you for posting a review. Apologies for taking so long to respond - we have been busy. Weather is beautiful at moment so everyone happy. Look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 139 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

A fantastic, family friendly, happy and spotless place to stay with a family. Loved the atmosphere during breakfasts, when Maeve came to have a chat with all of her guests, like we were old friends and even shared the recipe for her tasty marmalade- thank you:) No mouldy smell, no sticky tables, no disgusting bathrooms, no damp bedlinen. Instead - lovely, clean rooms, WiFi and perfect eggs for breakfast. Our daughter commented on the hotel as "the best place" and burst in tears as we parked on our drive saying "I want to go back to Wales". This says it all. We have already decided we will be back there very soon. Just to mention the weather - It was supposed to be a very rainy weekend, but because we used to live in Llandudno few years back and knew, that the weather changes there quickly, we did not hesitate to book a room and we were right! Most of the time it was sunny and warm. Thank you Mave and Tim for a warm welcome and making our holidays a treat, Joanna, Robert & Julia

Room Tip: We stayed in a twin room, because family rooms were booked, but it was big enough for 2 adults, a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgarHouse, Owner at Agar House, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Joanna, Robert & Julia, Wow what am amazing review thank you so much for your kind words. I am sorry it has taken me so long to reply it has been busy here. I look forward to seeing you again later on in the year and pls give Julia a big hug for me and tell her teddy is waiting in Room 2 for her.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

what a delightful stay.My room was clean bright and breezy. The B&B itself in a quiet residential area and it is peaceful . Having said that its a stones throw from the main area really and the walk to and from town is lovely. The houses are mostly period houses and its all so clean and well kept. Tim and Maeve are warm helpful and friendly but if youre really lucky you'll get to meet Ralph. The sweet and regal black Labrador who cant wait to see you when you get up in the morning. All in all i would highly recommend Agar House and despite the rain Llandudno was well worth a visit. Don't let the rain put you off going. Its part of its charm. And finally..Tim's Cheese Omelette...... i would go back there just for that!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrimsbyColette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgarHouse, Owner at Agar House, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank you Colette for your lovely review. It was lovely to see you again at Agar House. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and in particular your visit to Conwy. There will always be an Omelette waiting for you at Agar House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Maeve, the owner, took us in as last-minute walk-in guests at 6 p.m., then proceeded to treat us as though we were old friends. The B&B is clean and comfortable, located on a beautiful, quiet residential street, but a close walk to the center of the town's action. Breakfast was lovely. Don't miss Maeve's homemade orange marmalade!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank WiseParty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgarHouse, Owner at Agar House, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

It was lovely to meet you both and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in Wales and UK. Thank you for your positive comments and for taking the time to review Agar House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

What a treat to stay at such a lovely bed and breakfast. On arrival we were greeted by Maeve and Tim the owners who went through all the attractions and good restaurants in the area.
Our rooms were immaculate and contemporary and very spacious as I was in a family room with two children.
Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and cooked breakfast was sourced locally. Our booking was for myself and other family members so we had 4 of the rooms which was fantastic to stay altogether all in one place. Great location on 5 mins walk into the main part of Llandudno.
We will be booking up again in the near future.

Room Tip: If you are a family of four the attic room is very spacious ensuite with an additional separate bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosaD198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgarHouse, Owner at Agar House, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Agar House. It was so lovely to meet your family in June and I am so glad you all enjoyed your stay. Enjoy the rest of the Summer and see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We have just had a weekend break at Agar House. The rooms were lovely, clean and comfortable. Maeve made us feel very welcome and recommended places to eat and visit.It was a very enjoyable stay and we look forward to coming again in the future.
The Carter Family

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend last year in august and was made to feel really welcome. We were given plenty of good advice on the surrounding area and the room was lovely and clean. It is a short walk into the town and plenty of free parking outside the hotel. I just wish i had booked direcdtly rather than gone through another website. I would definatly recommend it to anyone and stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgarHouse, Owner at Agar House, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Amy thank you so much for posting a review and even better your lovely photos on Agar House. I had forgotten how lovely my hanging baskets were in fact they are nearly ready to come out for this Summer. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Enjoy your Summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
Astonwood Hotel
Astonwood Hotel
#69 of 146 in Llandudno
150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#79 of 146 in Llandudno
770 reviews
0.3 mi away
LLandudno Hostel
LLandudno Hostel
#2 of 8 in Llandudno
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 59 in Llandudno
1,299 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 59 in Llandudno
1,460 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agar House

Address: 17 St. Davids Road, Llandudno LL30 2UL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range: $96 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agar House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agar House is a friendly and lovely Edwardian three star guest house in the picturesque resort town of Llandudno, North Wales. Perfectly situated in one of Llandudno's most beautiful and quiet areas, Agar House is just a short walk away from all of the town's shopping areas, theatres and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Agar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agar House Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing