We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A drive up the Great Orme”
Review of Great Orme

Great Orme
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A drive up the Great Orme”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Two ways you can access the Orme by road one is Marine Drive which if you go the road at the back of the Pier is a winding but I believe you have to pay a Toll or if you head up the main street in Llandudno (Mostyn Street) towards the Orme straight across the roundabout
when you reach the 'T 'junction at the top there is a road just right of the hotel facing quite a steep climb but will also take you to the summit (pay to park) there is free parking if you take a right past the first Tram stop either way the views are spectacular, look out for the Kashmir
mountain goats that have lived there since the reign of Queen Victoria ,there are Copper Mines
to visit, an Alpine garden on the top of the Orme if your into wild flowers, play area for the kids picnic tables plenty to see and do a beautiful part of Wales not to be missed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolEagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,723
    1,292
    178
    20
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Up, up and away”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We took the tram up the Great Orme, whilst in Lllandudno. We were very impressed with the service.

The ride to the top, is quite pretty, passing through older streets to reach the half-way-point, where passengers must change trams, to reach the summit.

Views from the top are pleasant; however, not amazing.

I'd take food next time as the cafe was over-priced and rather poor quality food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank calgaryflateric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A visit to the Orme”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

A really great view over the Orme and over the coast of conwy area and beyond. A visitors centre and Mine to visit up there too, A coffee shop serving drinks and food. On a clear and dry day its a beautiful place to be

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThatGayWelshGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Trip up the Orme”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I visited the Gt.Orme and rode the overhead lift going up and took the train for the return journey, both were efficiently run by the helpful staff, clearly the view from the chairlift is exceptional but going back by the train is pleasant as you are sharing with other passangers.

Again the views from the top of the Orme are spectacular overlooking the bay and also the town.

There is a café, toilets and a shop at the site and in the café there is adequate seating inside if the day is dull and outside in the sunshine. The menu is snacks and also hot food and is reasonably priced.
Again we found that the staff on site were friendly and helpful.

All in all a worthwhile afternoon visit the only cost involves the transportation and drinks/food in the café and shop.
You can also drive by car to the top and there is a car park available I think that there is a fee for this but cannot report on the cost.
GeGg 1755

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeeGWrighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“the views are terrific”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

You can travel to the top of the Great Orme by tram or cable car. It was extremely windy on the day we experienced the Great Orme and the cable was not operating so we took the historic tramway. Some people walked. The views of the countryside and across the water are fantastic. A very worthwhile trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelcool1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Orme also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Great Orme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing