We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but adequate, and lets face it cheap!”
Review of Elsinore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elsinore Hotel
Ranked #60 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed August 28, 2009

I stayed in Llandudno last week for 2 nights with my husband as part of a road trip we took. We booked this hotel through hostelbookers, as I don't mind youth hostels as they are cheap. This place was by far the cheapest place to stay in Llandudno and our room had a sea view which was superb. For £25 a night each I thought it was brilliant. The out side of this hotel looks awful, it desperately needs a revamp. The inside was clean but its an old place and they need constant maintainence which costs money. Our room had new furniture except the easy chair, and an adequate shower room. Even our bed was new and very comfortable, and the white sheets were lovely and I slept really well. The breakfast was good for the money paid. You could have either cornflakes or weetabix, they brought us orange juice and tea or coffee. Then cooked breakfast and a rack of toast with jam, marmalade etc. I was full up and they offer more toast, I thought it was good. The hotel did have a small lounge that we never went in as we were always out, and the hotel has a bar but I never saw it open which is a shame, as if it were used they would hake money to refurbish the place. By the looks of it the re-wiring was being done when we were there. Parking in Landudno was not a problem. Dont bother with the hotel car park, can only fit 2 cars! It only costs £3 to park in front of the hotel all day so thats what we did. We had a great time up at the ski centre, do go up there the sno-tubes were great fun. We went on a day trip to Rhyl and personally I'd have prefered to go there. Its much more lively more for younger (ie under 60) people to do. Llandudno is a lovely town with lovely prom but felt a bit like gods waiting room even in the middle of the summer holidays!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peneth72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 514 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2009

It was awful and UNSAFE.
Loose wires, unsafe and illegal fire doors - no fire plans.
Dirty bedding and towels.
Stains on the walls and floors,
Shower doors hanging off.
Mould in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emsi611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Booked this hotel last minute and what can i say?..... This has to be the WORST hotel i have ever seen! On entering the hotel we wanted to walk back out but unfortunately the hotel had already taken our bank details.
We were booked into room 107, walking to the room we were met with cracked pictures and damp on the walls. In the bedroom the walls and bed linen were full of stains.
We decided to skip breakfast the following morning because we decided it wouldn't be worth the risk.
The best bit of this hotel experience was leaving.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marienelliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

We went down to Llandudno from Manchester for a weekend trip and booked online via laterooms.com. Since we were on a budget, we chose this place and thought, "well, it doesn't have to be nice as we'll be outside anyway, just clean." Which it wasn't.
Upon arrival, we found the hotel, a once beautiful but now really tired looking building, locked up and had to ring/knock/wait for about an hour until finally the maid/cook/all-in-one-hotel-staff-person opened (a very friendly but rather run down Lady with a cigarette on who didn't really speak English). Inside, we had to wait for the manager who had us pay for our room, then the chambermaid/cook took us upstairs to our room, which turned out to be a total disgrace. The furniture was partly broken (the headboard of the bed was just a mock-up), the bathroom was tiny damp and mouldy and had carpeting on the floor (eew!), there was no toilet paper, but some squashed old cakes of soap in the shower that hadn't been cleaned in ages. The blankets had both dark and light stains on them...and smelled used. This grossed us off so we tried to get new ones but no hotel staff could be found until the next morning. We threw the blankets on the floor in the hope of getting new ones for the next night, but instead we found the same dirty blankets nicely folded on our bed again, plus some cigarette ashes on the pillows. During the night some drunk kids had torn down the curtains in the corridors, nobody cared to put them up again which was quite symptomatic for the whole place. Full English breakfast was served by the poor chambermaid/cook in a silly chambermaid costume while the manager and his wife stood in a corner with their arms crossed scrutinising her which was quite an odd situation. The breakfast was halfway decent still we chose to eat somewhere else the next morning. The eating area looked like an 60ies style old peoples home...I could go on forever. Just don't go there.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miepmiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

stayed at this hotel with my teenage daughter, we had a twin room, and both had double beds. The room was a very large room with en suite bathroom. The beds were very comfortable and clean and fresh. The full english breakfast was lovely and well presented, and plenty of it. The location is fantastic, rite in the centre of everything. It was a very relaxed and friendly atomoshere. The management were wonderful, very freindly and welcoming. excellent value for money. Definately will be going back. This hotel is on the promande and other hotels on the prom charge per person per night, the Elsinore charges per room and costs less than half than the others charge. People who critise this hotel obv want a big posh hotel at a cheap rate. You get at this hotel exactly what it states,,,, Bed and Breakfast , clean beds and a excellent breakfast, and friendly management and staff at an excellent price. If people want to be fussy, go and pay the stupid amount of money that other hotels charge, for exactly the same service you get at the Elsinore. We Loved it . Thanks, from Jacqui and Jade

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacandjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Have used tripadvisor to look at reviews but on this occasion was a last min decision o stay away for the night, my first mistake !!!! Hotel was disgusting, in hindsight should have turned right around and just left the building, but as my bank details had already been taken, thought they would take the money anyway.
Would say the hotel was a hostel not a hotel, the man who greets you at reception was very rude, certainly had never watched the hotel inspector. Hotel smelt of mothballs, wires hanging from the ceiling, could go on and on, but the point is just do not stay here, should not be allowed to trade as a hotel to tourists. Just to note, the photo on the website must be at least 10 years old, hotel does not look like the picture now. Dont be fooled.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shanti00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

I always check tripadvisor when booking a hotel but on this occasion I didn't as last minute, what a mistake. First room offered to us was 210 I wish I'd taken a photograph; there was a double wardrobe completely blocking the window. Not that there was a view when you managed to get to the window. When we asked for another room the owner said he only had one left and we wouldn't like that one either. However, we took the second room on the top floor - similar state to other reviews - wires out of the ceiling, shower head that constantly moved around when you try to take a shower. Breakfast was obviously cooked at least 15 mins ahead of it being required. Do yourself a favour don't stay here,it's a complete rip off, more like a hostel than a hotel and I don't mean a youth hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BernieWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#21 of 60 in Llandudno
327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#8 of 60 in Llandudno
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
#22 of 60 in Llandudno
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
491 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.2 mi away
Hen-Dy Guesthouse
Hen-Dy Guesthouse
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elsinore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elsinore Hotel

Address: Main Promenade St. Georges Crescent, Llandudno LL30 2LF, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $49 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elsinore Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Elsinore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elsinore Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing