We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like a timewarp”
Review of The Chelsea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Chelsea
Ranked #85 of 146 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Had potential this place at the foot ofbthe great orme. Parking was difficult and the fact that dogs are accepted means it wont suit everyone, friendly staff but our room was very dated and bed was uncomfortable

Steps leading to door are steep and had some difficulty climbing them.

We thought we would try a hotel on other side of town to our usual excellent b&b but we have gone vack to what we know and trust for future visits

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Navaronuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 99 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just spent the bank holiday weekend here, clean & tidy, warm welcome and an excellent breakfast. In a good location and there are some good pubs and resturants nearby. We would stay here again no problem

Chris & kath

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just returned from a couple of days at the Chelsea.The guest house was welcoming and clean,the staff were helpful and there was a good breakfast. All OK.Weve stayed before and will definitely return sometime.

Room Tip: We stayed on top floor lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrspennyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

No problems at all with this place to stay for a weekend break with our 2 dogs. It seems some people write on Tripadvisor just to make a point because they have their own agenda, I mean who wants to leave their dogs shut in a strange room anyway or you get a strop on when you expect far more than what you are paying for. For the record The Chelsea is situated close to everything in town and for the beach. Good places to eat where they allow dogs inside, 2 within 200 yards, Kings Head & Queen Vic, and one behind Wetherspoons called The Cottage Loaf. Rooms have everything you need, breakfast was good. I would recommend this as a good and reasonably priced place to stay for a break, if you want cheaper then you get what you pay for and I have no problem with that. Read all the reviews and ask yourself why the good outweigh the negative by about 20 to 1 and what type of person writes such rubbish just because they get annoyed or don't get a discount or just too inebriated and are sadly lacking in the social skills anyway. And if you don't have dogs it's still a good place to stay! (Me and the landlady are NOT related either)!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Had a wonderful midweek break at this Hotel. Clean, comfortable, warm and a really good breakfast included in the price. It is close to the beach, the pier and the tram to the Great Orme is around 100 yards away. Dog friendly, which is a bonus for us, with our Jack Russell (Tess)


Many thanks Jean. See you, once again, at the end of March 2013.

Room Tip: We had room no 2. Slept that well we nearly missed breakfast !!!! The view is really good as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Can't fault the room, or the cleanliness, or the food. All were excellent. The only (very small) gripe would be that we felt a little bit like we were back at school. Jean is lovely but a little stern, which is very probably a good thing with awkward customers!! Also, I wouldn't class The Chelsea as a hotel, it's a very lovely b&b as bed and breakfast are the only services they provide.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elstennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

THE BAD Ok if you have a dog otherwise not, poor quality breakfast and a bit of a musty smell in lounge and room overpriced average hotel.steep steps to property no parking.THE GOOD near pier and in a nice road good pubs nearby able to come and go as own key to property.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerseysideSamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wilton Hotel
Wilton Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
358 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#56 of 60 in Llandudno
349 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chelsea

Address: 67 Church Walks, Llandudno LL30 2HG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range: $91 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chelsea has 8 en-suite rooms ranging from double, four poster, king or double and offers peaceful bed and breakfast accommodation nestled against the Great Orme. All rooms have central heating, LCD freeview tv's (some with DVD), iPod dock clock radio, complimentary beverage tray (some with mineral water) and toiletries. The guest house is ideally situated for walkers,cyclists and shoppers, being less than a minute from the beachfront, Great Orme, and shopping of Llandudno. We welcome well-behaved dogs in some rooms (charges and restrictions apply), and we politely request that dogs are not left unattended as this can be distressing for your pet. We regretfully do not accept children under the age of 10. Parking is available on-site (limited number of spaces on first-come first served basis) and on-street and is free of charge. Bike storage available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chelsea Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing