We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC B&B &AMAZING BREAKFAST "”
Review of The Clovelly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Clovelly
Ranked #34 of 146 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a fantastic night at The Clovelly,Friendly&helpful service, Stayed on the top floor Family room which had Double bed &bunk Beds .The room was extremely comfortable& The towels in the bathroom were better standard than some 4star hotels that ive stayed in!But best of all was the amazing Breakfast ,5stars!Will definitely be staying there again
Thank you so much
Linda,Kevin& Boys Marshall

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 244 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

You could find very minor faults but that's being cruel,picky and not necessary,you could find fault with any B+B anywhere in the country, not every one has the same taste and standards.
We loved our time at The Clovelly and we were sad to leave the service we received was excellent.
The breakfast is top notch,absolutely superb,can't praise it enough.(With extra toast if required too).
The room we stayed in was more than enough for our needs.The usual tea/coffee facility with biscuits,clean bed&bedding,clean toilet,clean shower/bath(what for us never ran out of hot water sometimes I know this can be a problem elsewhere),clean towels,clean storage space,clean furniture,clean carpet.,working T.V. And bar for the residents(if you love wine you're in luck,you'll find out what I mean,just ask about fine wine at the bar). What more do you need.....?All in all totally acceptable.
The location is perfect for everywhere in Llandudno.
There is just one major fault though and that is the nightmare of the lack of available parking space(obviously not The Clovellys' fault),Llandudno is notorious for nightmare parking and other B+B's and hotels in the area have the same problem too.
The Clovelly does have very limited space around the back though if you are lucky, please take into account The Clovelly is "in the same boat" as everyone else in Llandudno.
The main questions are would we stay again and would we recommend.......??
YES to both without hesitation.
Thank you for looking after us you guys you are stars!
Best wishes and good luck.
Steve and Jane from Stafford.

Room Tip: Room 1 four poster bed and lovey view of the seafront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveharv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is one of the nicest and friendliest hotels I have had the pleasure in staying at.

The decor is done in Victorian style to suit the house and looks wonderfulI, is spotlessly clean and nothing is too much trouble for the owners Andy and Elde Breakfast was one of the best I have ever had in a hotel and I know I will want to return there again in the near future. it is in a very good location near the promenade and the station for the cable cars up to the summit of the Great Orme, which in my opinion should be a must on a holiday list as is the Clovelly ,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimsiebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Five of us stayed for two nights, and we are all delighted with the friendly and helpful welcome we received. All three of our rooms were nicely appointed and very clean, with comfortable beds. It's a quiet hotel in a really good location - a short walk to the pier, the promenade, the shops and many good restaurants.
As other reviewers have noted, there is no lift, so when booking, if you have limited mobility make sure you ask for a room on the 1st floor (only 1 flight of stairs) - the proprietor will do his best to accommodate. Also, there are only 3 parking spaces and they are best suited for a small car - so book early and ask for a space to be reserved for you.
The nicely appointed guests' sitting room has an oblique view of the sea front.
The hotel serves a fine breakfast with the best ingredients.

I will definitely go back next time I am in Llandudno.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel overlook back-yards and tin-roofed garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

we arrived in llandudno for the day and made the snap decision to stay the night. After going around a few places which were charging £70 per night per person we bumped into the clovelly! £70 for the night for me and the missus! we werent expecting much but the room was by far one of the nicest weve stayed in for a long time, four poster bed, an extra bed if you had children, very comfortable! the whole atmosphere is quaint, cosey and friendly! right on the sea front with a fantastic view! parking is a problem but llandudno in general isnt fantastic for parking but if your patient you'll get one on the sea front!

In summary fantastic value for money, half the price of anywhere else we looked at on the front, better rooms, fantastic friendly atmosphere, a little bar downstairs if your feeling lazy, friendly welcome, accomodating, perfect location, what more could you want!! The decor was a bit outdated but i personally liked it, felt in keeping with llandudnos general retro feel!!

will definitely be coming back and have already reccomended the place to friends and family!!

Robbie J

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Lovely warm welcome by the owner. Always helpful and polite, without being "in your face". Very easy going littel hotel and very near all the attractions in Llandudno. Great breakfast and owner cannot do enough for you. Quick easy hassle free check in and out.

Room Tip: My room was at the back so did not have a sea view, however the beach is only a few metres from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stellag0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This guest house is in a brilliant location close to all amenities in LLandudno. Parking is limited but you may be lucky to reserve a space at the back of the hotel. Make sure you enquire when booking. There is no lift, so those requiring assistance with mobility should maybe look elsewhere. Rooms at the front of the building have a partial view of the sea, and you can certainly hear the Punch and Judy Show through your bedroom window. The guest house offers a variety of room types including family rooms. We were well looked after whilst there.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynC477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
LLandudno Hostel
LLandudno Hostel
#2 of 8 in Llandudno
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whitefriars Bed & Breakfast
Whitefriars Bed & Breakfast
#86 of 146 in Llandudno
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clovelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clovelly

Address: 13 South Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range: $94 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clovelly 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clovelly, located in the picturesque Victorian town of Llandudno, North Wales. Situated a short walk from Mostyn High Street, Promenade, theatre & conference centre (Venue Cymru) the Great Orme and copper mines. Ideal base for touring the many wonderful attractions and sites in North Wales, including Snowdonia National Park and the Isle of Anglesey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Clovelly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clovelly Hotel Llandudno
The Clovelly Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing