We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Orme Cable Cars

Great Orme Cable Cars
Ranked #9 of 92 things to do in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

In August i went there.A little pricey but worth it.You can see loads like the beach,pier and of course the great orme.Would strongly recommend

Helpful?
Thank samlibs02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    256
    71
    25
    35
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great views but wrap up warm!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was my second time in Llandudno but my first time up the Orme. The cable cars don't run every day as the high winds make them unstable. It's well worth the trip as it's invigorating and exciting to climb to around 660 ft. and watch as the coast and Promenade drop away from you.

Be aware though, it's a steep climb up to the base station where you get on the cable car and I can't remember whether you can get there by car. There's plenty to do at the top of the Orme however,where you can look around the Summit Complex, have a drink in the bar and of course, take in those rewarding views.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great views but a little pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

After taking the tram to the top of the Great Orme, we decided to take the cable car back down in to Llandudno. However we were shocked at the price...while it was £7.50 return, it was £7 for a single ticket!!! How can that be justified?! The cars are open to the elements, and the views are lovely, it's just a shame that it is all over so soon; really not value for money if you are only travelling one way.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank maidenvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I've got to be honest and say I was slightly nervous when I saw how long this cable car was however soon forgot when we started moving as the views were simply breathtaking!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarebear79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

very reasonable prices with great views . family really enjoyed this treat we would definately return

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dianne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Orme Cable Cars also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Great Orme Cable Cars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing