We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food a bit pricey”
Review of The Gresham

The Gresham
Ranked #33 of 208 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Welsh, Bar, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We Are A Small Little Establishment In Llandudno North Wales, Opened At The Beginning Of April 2017, With Great Aspirations Of Becoming A Second Home To Those Who Have A Love Of Good Food. Our Restaurant Manager Liam Has Lots of Experience Within The Industry, Especially In Regards To Great Customer Service, Mixology & Local Knowledge, Our Chef Has Risen Through The Ranks Of The Industry Incredibly Quick Considering His Age, His Ethos Is To Keep Things Simple, Fresh & Modern, Using The Simplest Of Ingredients Ben Can Transform A Dish Into Something Special.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food a bit pricey”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Called in at lunch time, the food was excellent with a good choice of tapas. The service was very good, but then we were the only ones in. I thought it was over priced for what we had, but the choice and taste were very good and made up for the price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    72
    21
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Restaurant was lovely, bar not so good”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We had a fabulous tapas meal at the restaurant upstairs. We could hear what sounded like a live band playing downstairs, so we finished our meal and took our after dinner drinks downstairs. This was a big mistake. The band turned out to be one lady singing with a sound machine, which was fine. However, the bar was full of drunken middle-aged men trying to dance to her songs whilst sloshing drink everywhere, and young women screaming every time another 'friend' appeared. We made a hast retreat!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MazzyMayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Friendly, quick and tasty”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Lived up to its good reviews. Everything reasonably priced. Good range of beer and nice wine. Friendly and prompt service and the food was well presented and delicious. The whitebait was fried without being greasy. The crab cakes were fragrant and the patatas bravas deliciously spicy. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Staff are brilliant (Bogdan is a star), food is awesome (Tapas) drinks are competitively priced especially the ales (bitter) live music too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patrick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Had a weekend break and selected this place by its tapas menu displayed outside. My wife and I (in our late 50s), On entering the venue, the place appeared busy and a welcoming staff member approached us to ask what would we like...we had said a meal whereupon he escorted us to the upstairs restaurant where we were equally warmly welcomed and given a table.

Service was excellent throughout, a good ambience. Selection and range of tapas is good and it is difficult to decide which to go for. Overall the meal was excellent.

A couple of slight downsides - the patatas bravas were not very good (which is a pity for the other tapas were excellent), and the house red wine - which was OK was a bit pricey for a house wine.

Overall - would still highly recommend this restaurant - please don't be put off our slight downsides - we thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gresham also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to The Gresham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing