We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful. What a disappointment.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gresham

The Gresham
Ranked #35 of 204 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At The Gresham, we specialise in wonderful, tasty Mediterranean food. Our chefs have many years' experience cooking and love to use fresh, local produce. Food is served every day - 12-9pm Sunday to Thursday and 12-10pm Friday to SaturdayCome and try our menu, which includes Tapas, children's portions, desserts and a full wine list. We also offer lunchtime specials - get in touch for more info!
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Awful. What a disappointment.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I left a good review for this in November and rated it as one of my favourite places in Llandudno. I went back a few months later and what a change. We ordered garlic ciabatta - we got the ubiquitous French stick garlic bread one finds in Asda or Iceland. We ordered calamari / squid and we got horrid frozen squid rings you find in Iceland or Farmfoods with a thick batter. Not like the delectable fresh items available elsewhere with the delightfully thin batter. Same story with the whitebait - a rock hard thick coating - straight out of the frozen section of Iceland - horrible. The whitebait we like is when one can still see the fish and has a light dusting of a coating. The spare ribs were microwaved boil in the back syle cheap items. The tadsiki was poor. We liked the pork shoulder casserole but the whole experience was ruined by then. The food was poor and cheap and blatantly so. I complained quietly and politely to the waitress and far from being polite and helpful and offering an explanation or apology, she nonchantly dismissed us saying the menu had been changed recently and it was a seasonal issue. What does that mean ?
The drinks list had been decimated too and the choice wasn't as good. I ate here three times in November and then again in June and as far as I am concerned it has gone right downhill. This is not good tapas and not real cooking.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gastronaut2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    72
    21
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

My girlfirend and I decided to go to this Tapas Bar because of the good reviews I'd seen on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed.
From the outside it wasn't anything special. I liked the inside it was dimly lit and had a cosy snug feel to it.
We were greeted by Bogdan, who was a very friendly, amicable guy with a good sense of humour.
We ordered some bread with dips first and this was delicious, how ever it was outdone by the Tapas. The Tapas was amazing we were both gobsmacked at the quality and flavours of the food. It was that good that we went back there the next night and ordered completely different Tapas and these were even better than the first night. What made it all the more unbelievable was the price, we had bread with dips, 5 tapas dishes and a bottle of the wine of the month and it cost just under £30.
It just like to say thanks to the Chef for producing such excellent food, thanks to Bogdan for being such a nd nice guy and good luck to the Medic student who had just started there....we will be back :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“girls night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

fantastic choice of tasty well prepared food. suited everyone. cant wait for an excuse to go again. We've just thought of 1, Qdos is 3yrs old on 27th, so we'll be eating here then x

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank qdos62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Must for Tapas Lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

A perfect little place just off the beach. The atmosphere of the restaurant is delightful, very cosy and inviting and to top it off while we were there, there was a guitarist filling the room with fitting melodies. (I'm waxing a bit lyrical here, but it was all very "in the mood"). The staff were lovely and made us feel very welcome. The selection of food was plentiful and overall extremely delicious. As a bonus, if you order 4 things you get your 5th free! Win!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AMT410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The two of us enjoyed a three course tapas meal which was delicious. Service was superb and would certainly recommend the Gresham.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steviegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gresham also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to The Gresham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing