We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What memories”

Characters Tea House and Hot Stone Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 205 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $27
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to Characters Teahouse and Hot Stone Restaurant. A secret to be found. Tucked away in a side street we are not easy to find. But when you do you are in for a big surprise. We are different to say the least..You could say quirky and you would be right. Old second hand china, cups, saucers, plates, glasses, furniture etc all bought from charity shops and completely mismatched giving the place character and ambiance hence the name Characters. Food is wholesome and unpretentious ,soups, sandwiches, hand made cakes & scones of different flavours forming the basis of our now famous Afternoon Tea. Accompanied by proper loose leaf tea & coffee of your choice we are open daytime 11am to 4pm Monday to Saturday. In the evening Friday & Saturday serving from 6.30pm to 8.00pm our also famous "Steak on the Stone" Accompanied by "Bring your Own" wine, beer or champagne. Whenever you decide to visit you will be greeted with a big welcome from the staff & management of this lovely family run restaurant..hopefully see you soon. Characters Team
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

The afternoon tea is a lovely memory for us and it was beautifully presented and delicious. It was so good I forgot my hat.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jandya2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    73
    25
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirton in Lindsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Exactly What we wanted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Visited on a Friday in July after a local suggested it to us, what a find. So many of these places are disapointing, even when the food is better than just average they've crammed in so many tables that its worse than a budget airline. Not Charecters though, plenty of space,great food, excellent srvice and reasonable prices. It really made our day and our trip to LLandudno.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pgalpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic! 10/10”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Was absolutely delighted when my mum took me here. Your instantly hit with the beautiful decor. Such a unique little place. Ordered the bubble gum ice cream and had a great selection of toppings, it was so delicious and gave you that sickly feeling that where you think couldn't eat anymore. Which is exactly what I had hoped for. The flavours were marvellous and i will definitely be coming back. Thank you.

Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST PLACE IN LLANDUDNO BY FAR!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

I'm not one for writing reviews but after last nights experience it had to be done...

My first visit to characters with friends, there was 10 of us all together, we all had starters which were amazing , but then the main course came, we all had Steaks and a few lamb.. by far the best Iv ever had, it melted in your mouth. finished off by pudding we were stuffed, HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

the staff are lovely, and the decor is quirky ... i have heard fantastic reviews from them but never expected it to be so wonderful,

for anyone who hasn't been you HAVE to go!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hevwynnne91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

In Llandudno for the day with partner & pooch. FAB service, very friendly staff & excellent menu. Even the dog got a treat

Helpful?
1 Thank Ste999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Characters Tea House and Hot Stone Restaurant also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Characters Tea House and Hot Stone Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing