We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Place to find”

Characters Tea House and Hot Stone Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 205 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $27
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to Characters Teahouse and Hot Stone Restaurant. A secret to be found. Tucked away in a side street we are not easy to find. But when you do you are in for a big surprise. We are different to say the least..You could say quirky and you would be right. Old second hand china, cups, saucers, plates, glasses, furniture etc all bought from charity shops and completely mismatched giving the place character and ambiance hence the name Characters. Food is wholesome and unpretentious ,soups, sandwiches, hand made cakes & scones of different flavours forming the basis of our now famous Afternoon Tea. Accompanied by proper loose leaf tea & coffee of your choice we are open daytime 11am to 4pm Monday to Saturday. In the evening Friday & Saturday serving from 6.30pm to 8.00pm our also famous "Steak on the Stone" Accompanied by "Bring your Own" wine, beer or champagne. Whenever you decide to visit you will be greeted with a big welcome from the staff & management of this lovely family run restaurant..hopefully see you soon. Characters Team
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Superb Place to find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were advised at our B & B to try this place. Nested in a side street of Llandudno we found a superb Cafe/Restaurant, and we had coffee there, planning lunch later somewhere else. Toured the town, but returned to Characters for Lunch. I had the 'Scouse Lob' never had it before. Like a lobby, and with the cold weather it was perfect, flavors and everything superb. Partner had offer of Sandwich & Soup (Brocoli & Stilton soup with turkey & Cranberry sandwich), just such good quality food, served by such friendly, knowlegeable and helpful staff. Lots of decor to check out whilst dining. If you go in the evening at weekends, everyone mentions their food/cuisine. Best in town easily. We will be back for sure...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyWony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    73
    25
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OUTSTANDING!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Went to Characters on a Saturday night and can honestly say I have never eaten food like it before!!!! The service was fantastic and we didnt feel rushed to eat up and get out. The steak on a stone was fabulous and I will definately go back for more. Its a very unique little place which is a breath of fresh air from the same old thing that Llandudno has to offer. Looking forward to our next visit already :-))))

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Outstanding Steak-on-Stone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Called on last Friday night, after reading reviews on Trip advisor, what an amazing place; service - we were greeted outside and offered a choice of steaks or fish and advised that we could get some wine from Sainsburys 2 mins away (it is BYO); inside was a wonderful, large tables and very individual décor an ornaments; service again first class with happy staff; the fillet steak on stone was probably the best steak I have had and a wonderful experience cooking yourself.

Thank you for this first class experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TZoono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unashamedly individual and full of character. Great coffee.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I were staying in a grim hotel near by and spotted this place on Trip Advisor so decided that we would head for a relaxing coffee and cake with our Saturday papers. We enjoyed a warm welcome and were served in a timely and friendly way.

Everything in the place was very individual but verging on a little too cluttered. We moved a few items off our table and tucked in to great coffee and a cake and scones. Coffee was outstanding, scones were excellent according to my wife and the coffee and walnut cake was good.

We chilled for about an hour and a half and enjoyed the great and varied selection of music playing in the background as well as another coffee.

Would definitely recommend above a corporate coffee chain any day and hope to call again on our next visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ba66leon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

My mum and sister surprised me with afternnon tea here for my birthday. Very charming venue, lovely atmosphere, great service and the food was lovely too. Lovely selection of sandwiches, light snacks, soups and yummy selection of scones with jam and cream! Will definately be visiting again, would recommend highly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Characters Tea House and Hot Stone Restaurant also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Characters Tea House and Hot Stone Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing