We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wanted to like the place but soup a let down!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Characters Tea House and Hot Stone Restaurant

Characters Tea House and Hot Stone Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 204 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to Characters Teahouse and Hot Stone Restaurant. A secret to be found. Tucked away in a side street we are not easy to find. But when you do you are in for a big surprise. We are different to say the least..You could say quirky and you would be right. Old second hand china, cups, saucers, plates, glasses, furniture etc all bought from charity shops and completely mismatched giving the place character and ambiance hence the name Characters. Food is wholesome and unpretentious ,soups, sandwiches, hand made cakes & scones of different flavours forming the basis of our now famous Afternoon Tea. Accompanied by proper loose leaf tea & coffee of your choice we are open daytime 11am to 4pm Monday to Saturday. In the evening Friday & Saturday serving from 6.30pm to 8.00pm our also famous "Steak on the Stone" Accompanied by "Bring your Own" wine, beer or champagne. Whenever you decide to visit you will be greeted with a big welcome from the staff & management of this lovely family run restaurant..hopefully see you soon. Characters Team
wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wanted to like the place but soup a let down!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were so hopeful when entering Characters, the place was very quaint and we were welcomed with good service. But when are soup and sandwich arrived we all selected different soups which all our party found far from homemade. I wanted to love the soup as i really liked the feel of the tea rooms but with the soup was cheap thin bread resulting in a very soggy sandwich. We were also quizzed as to why we had left the soup i wanted to say it was horrible, but because it was so open and we felt a little exposed, one of my guests said she felt quite uncomfortable when she had to say why she had left the soup. I had wanted it to be a a lovelt afternoon get together with guests we had not seen for a long time but the food we chose we did not enjoy. When my husband went to pay he was over charged for the cold drinks which stated they were cheaper on the menu than he charged us, little details but we wont be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank beanpolewales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    72
    24
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best steak since leaving Texas in 2006”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

After booking a posh meal at our hotel on Friday night we decided to try something different and booked the "Steak on a Stone" meal at Characters for Saturday night. You have to contact them a few days ahead to make a reservation and choose your meal option (steak, fish, halumi, etc) so they can special order it.

The restaurant is a vintage, quirky tea house by day that is transformed into a candlelit little gem at night. The atmosphere was full of lovely and service was very friendly and accommodating. The owner sat down and chatted with us for a while which we did not find pretentious (?) at all.

The chef brings out the meat or fish on a hot lava stone where it will continue to cook while you're eating. You simply slice it in smaller pieces to cook it more or leave it in larger pieces to keep it more rare. My husband has absolutely no clue in the kitchen but he had no trouble with this and enjoyed it as much as I did.

Sauces/bastes are provided so you can customize to your taste. The meal also comes with a baked potato and steamed veg. Starters and desserts are extra. Make sure you BYOB as they do not serve alcohol.

Our entire meal for two steaks, two starters and a shared dessert came to £54. And seriously, it was the best steak we've had since leaving TX in 2006 and that is saying a lot!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Homely and kooky!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We ate here following reviews from Trip Advisor. The couple who own it are so accommodating, they moved a table so we could sit down as they were full and very busy. Couldn't do enough for us. The food was freshly prepared and delicious; the atmosphere of the cafe was great, felt very welcomed. Definitely a little gem worth a visit!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HannahFS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wow! Afternoon tea how it should be. Who needs a fancy hotel?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We were staying in a local hotel & were recommended this place for afternoon tea. What a recommendation! The decor, atmosphere, style of this restaurant is truly inspirational. A lot of time & effort has gone into it & the couple who run it are great. We had afternoon tea & soup (we had no a breakfast before hand!) which was fantastic. Vast selection of soups (7 home made) sandwiches (10 choice of filling, 3 choice of bread) & scones (5) as well as 'proper' tea with strainers. The food was beautiful, flavoursome & well presented. The soup & sandwich had so much flavour it was unreal. & a ginger scone (yes, ginger) which was home made - just heaven. We spent a good hour and a half here & didn't want to leave. This couple obviously do this because they want to, they love it & they just want to share their culinary excellence with others.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Muscat_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great to have such a place in Llandudno”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We happened to notice this newish cafe whilst walking past one day. What an unique and different place to have at the top of town. The staff were very welcoming on a miserable rainy day outside. We opted for the soup and sandwich which were very tasty and well presented on vintage china. We also happened to notice some other people taking the afternoon tea which looked fabulous. (Will opt for that next time I think!) The restaurant is very nicely decorated with nice touches. They are in the process of developing downstairs, giving them further tables. On Friday and Saturday evenings they serve fish or meat on the stone (cooked to one's own liking). I hope to visit again soon and would recommend this lovely trendy cafe to others.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Galesa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Characters Tea House and Hot Stone Restaurant also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Characters Tea House and Hot Stone Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing