We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Treat”
Review of Headlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Headlands Hotel
Ranked #43 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our recent stay at The Headlands Hotel was superb in every way. The ever helpful and friendly owners, Ray and Tanya, made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived. We were shown to our room, it was lovely and clean, very spacious, and with a beautiful modern bathroom. Our breakfast really was first class, freshly cooked to order and second helpings available if required. Better still though was the incredible view of the town and bay from the dining room windows, there really cannot be a more beautiful view from anywhere in the town.
It was the annual Victorian Extravaganza weekend (which was another bonus for us) and the town was very busy so we were unable to book a sea-view room but even our "garden-view" room afforded us a view of the bay from the window. We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Headlands and felt really relaxed by the time we left.
To cap it all, as we were leaving Ray handed us a goody-bag containing bottles of water and some of Tanya's delicious home-made flapjacks for our journey home. That was lovely, thank you.
We are looking forward to booking again soon. A magnificent hotel, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 335 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just returned from a two night break at this Hotel , I would highly recommend this hotel for its warm friendly service . The rooms are very clean and all staff are very friendly we had room 41 on the top floor which has exceptional views of the bay .Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of local produce cooked to a very high standard .This dog friendly hotel is in a prime position next to a lovely park ideal for dog walking or just sitting in the fresh air.
i would like to thank you for your service ,Teresa , Ken & Bert

Room Tip: Room 41 has the best views in llandudno
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carpking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Again we are always welcomed when we get to the hotel by Ray & Tanya, the Hotel is always kept to a very High standard, teas & coffees in your room are well stocked all the time, And when you get back at night the Bar is Always a Good place for a drink(local drinks well stocked) and a Chat with your friends and Ray and his family always ready to serve you. There's always the four legged friends (Dogs) that come and go for you to pat.
Yes. we have booked to come back in November for two nights, And will be looking forward to coming back to the hotel Again.

Room Tip: The rooms that have Views over the Bay are always worth sorcing first to stay in, so if you want thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnold A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Me and my sister stayed 26 april 2013 with Sally her little Jack Russell, room clean and well stocked, Ray & Tanya both friendly and chatty, nothing too much trouble, breakfast was traditional welsh food and very good. The best view in Llandudno. Will be back, thank you all including Charlie.

Room Tip: room 38 side view of garden & bay, very quiet,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

A stay at The Headlands is worth it for the view alone. It must have the best location in Llandudno. It is right at one end of the bay so in a quite spot but only three minutes walk away from all the pubs and restaurants. For pet owners (we're not) it must be very handy as the park is next door.

The room we had was clean, had a fantastic shower and a bed so comfortable we slept like zombies and nearly missed breakfast on Saturday morning. Talking of breakfast, the cooked breakfast is all grilled, not fried, and the bacon must be the best I've ever tasted.

The friendly owners have tried to retain as much of the Victorian syle as they can so the decor is traditional rather than contemporary. They also have a very relaxed resident greyhound called Charles. I can promise a previous reviewer that he doesn't make a sound and that it must have been another guest's dog that disturbed him. We have met guests with dogs on most of our stays here and have never had a problem with it.

Headlands is our home from home in North Wales and we've booked a long weekend in May.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have fantastic views but 36 gave us the best nights sleep ever and has a luxury show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

just come back to are home in Merseyside from are 3 night stay in the headland hotel. Was the nicest place I have ever stayed in & have travelled 51,000k by land so have stayed in a lot of hotel's, was a lovely historic house that still felt like a home and still dressed as it would have been in its prime as a family home.it is the highest hotel in Llandudno the views were incredible we had room 41 that was modest in its lay out but still very nice, was probably the maids room in the past,but there has been a wall of windows fitted so you have with out doubt the best view in Llandudno and 1 of the best views in whole country, showing both bays the whole town and [ i think] the edge of the Snowdonia mountains that were covered in snow,staggeringly beautiful,this hotel was everything a sterile generic brand hotel is not,as was run by a nice family and felt like a natural historic house,gave a real taste of historic Britain but with very clean modern fittings,the chap that runs it was great making a real effort to make you feel welcome this creates a very nice open atmosphere with the other guests at breakfast time and I must say the full welsh breakfast was great quality local produce,all so it is very close to the dry ski slope and toboggan,we were lucky and got some real snow to ski on, don't miss out on this little gem. oh and when we left they gave us bottles of water and home made cake for are journey

Room Tip: All the rooms looked nice especially the sea view rooms on the front but room 41 was just a experien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vmanthe1andonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

You have to like animals to really enjoy this hotel, as the owner's dog is as much a part of the welcoming committee as Ray and Tanya. If you get to meet Mr and Mrs George, who come in from the sea each morning for their breakfast, then so much the better, and so much more will you enjoy it.

It's a quaint hotel on the top of the hill overlooking what has to be one of the most typical Victorian seaside resorts and our first experience of such a thing. We had a lovely room on the first floor overlooking the bay and I must say the whole place has a lot of character. But it isn't for the stiff upper lipped: a sense of humour and an ear for a good story, as well as a love for animals is essential. I strongly suspect that the Union Jack, rather than the Welsh dragon flies over this hotel more often than not.

Be prepared for some quite conservative British values if you get chatting, but it comes with a wealth of life experience of corporate life in London being given up to come and run this lovely place in a gorgeous corner of a foreign field that hasn't been forever England for over 800 years. But who wouldn't?

Room Tip: Do make sure you get one that overlooks the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#34 of 60 in Llandudno
492 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wilton Hotel
Wilton Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
537 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
491 reviews
0 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlands Hotel

Address: 10 Hill Terrace, Llandudno LL30 2LS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#18 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $61 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Headlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Headlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headlands Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing