We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay here"”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely stay here"”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed here for two nights and had a super time.Great location on the promenade and really handy for shops and restaurants.
Great friendly welcoming staff and really good breakfast.Comfortable lounges to relax in and a real bonus was music in the bar each evening.
Not sure what some people expect.If you want 5 star accommodation then pay for it!
Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: You can upgrade on arrival for around £10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    264
    197
    86
    131
See reviews for
129
470
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Great hotel in an excellent location. Stayed at this Hotel on a Leasurtime Coach trip and I thought that for the price we paid it was outstanding value for money. OK the decoration in bedrooms was a bit dated but room we had was spotlessly clean and very roomy. One single and a double (Room No 313). Facility's to make tea/coffee were always well stocked and flat screen TV was great with a large selection of channels. The staff at this hotel were exceptional nothing seamed to be to much trouble and they went out of they're way to help and give good service. Food at hotel was a great surprise in a good way Breakfast had a wide selection of cereals fruit and an excellent British breakfast served timely and piping hot, Evening meal again had a good selection and the standard again was very good. I would have no problem staying at the Ambassador Hotel again and would defiantly recommend it at the price outstanding value for money. Note the lift is small but adequate for two people and cases, my wife thought it was quite quirky and defiantly different in a fun way. Only one down side on last day could not arrange for early breakfast so we could get away for long trip home but that's being extremely picky.

Room Tip: Lift is a definite challenge if you have wheel chair and I do not think they have ground floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvftdcirrdte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Contacted hotel at the end of the week, to check if we could book a single room if purchasing 2 wowcher vouchers, was told we could and offered to book it for us and would honour the Wowcher Voucher price. We asked for the single room, a double/twin and a double suitable for a wheelchair. We said we didn't specifically need a disability room in order to allow someone else with one if needed.

Apparently we spoke to a Director, who said he couldn't get the system to accept this particular room he wanted to offer us but that someone else would call us back. We heard nothing.

After the weekend we called back he wasn't available but the person on the phone said they had called and left us a message.........oh no they didn't. But we asked to confirm the rooms and to settle up, to be told the room selected for the disabled person had an upgrade fee of £30, of course as this wasn't mentioned before we thought they'd not been given the correct info and asked to speak to the Director to be told he wasn't in, then to be told he'd be back in an hour.

Two and a half hours later, he returned our call, lied to us by saying he'd spoken to me, when I'd never spoken to him before, told us he'd advised us of the upgrade fee ........think we'd have remembered, then proceeded to offer us a twin room (double needed) no disabled rooms available on the rooms allocated for wowcher nor could he (A DIRECTOR) override the system. So we decided not to stay.........GOD help you if you go and have an issue there because by the sounds of it only HE would have the authority. I hate bad customer service!!!! I feel there is some sort of disability discrimination going on in there too......please respond if you KNOW different. Thanks

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Not_easy_2_please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We booked the hotel through KGB deals and it offered decent value for money. The location is excellent and the staff are great. The hotel itself is ok, nothing great but we weren't expecting great anyway. Our room was relatively small thought which may affect your stay if you are expecting something large. The breakfast and afternoon tea are also decent. We asked for a cot and got a decent quality cot (charged £3/night extra) and were quite happy with it. In summary nothing grand or extraordinary but a decent place to stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to sea view room is possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russell_anam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This Hotel is still family owned and as such does have the personal touch, great staff as in most resort hotels now all staff East European. nothing too much trouble, however breakfast was terrible. On any short break a cooked breakfast (that I don,t have to cook ) is a real treat.
It was terribly dis- organised to start with staff running around like headless chickens My husband who has a hearty appetite did not have enough to eat , very small portions. There was little to satisfy anyone trying to eat healthily i.e. all fruit was in syrup, no fresh fruit available. Also I have a very serious issue with health and safety ref yoghurts . There were two bowls of yoghurt , one plain , one fruit , help yourself. No way of knowing fat or sugar content and more importantly use by or sell by, what happens to the rest of the yoghurt after breakfast ?

Room Tip: All rooms need a re furbish so impossible to recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 362Prydderch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenisland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I have just returned from a 3 night trip from this hotel and i can say it has been terrible Food was ineditible room had bugs and strangers acsessing other room in my party it was cleaner on the beach

Room Tip: Don't go!😩
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenisland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

11 year old daughter just home from a school trip having stayed in this hotel. Bedroom had bugs in it and had to move rooms, food was terrible, and strangers were able to access other kids's rooms! Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 321MAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,346 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,185 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 60 in Llandudno
810 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#41 of 60 in Llandudno
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: St. Georges Place | St. Georges Place, Llandudno LL30 2NR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely styled traditional, family run, independent hotel for individual people. The Hotel is renowned for comfort, service & friendliness, but with a commitment to standards & disciplines, with a belief that this has to be affordable.Relaxing lounges or one of Llandudno’s best stocked bars, the choice is yours at The Ambassador.Our Patisserie is open from 10.00am to 5.30pm daily, where you can relax with a pot of tea or coffee. Spoil yourself with a sandwich made on home-baked bread, peraps indulge in a cream cake or afternoon tea. Our Head Chef and his team provide interesting and varied menus in The Restaurant based on local produce. All bedrooms are equiped with tea/coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, multi channel flat screen Television and hairdryer.Strategically placed, exactly halfway between the bandstand and Pier. Getting about could not be easier - turn left from the front door and you are on the Promenade, turn right and ahead is the main shopping area of Mostyn Street, with many national and international stores.... it's so convenient!The Williams family is now in it’s third generation of caring for guests, many of whom have been returning for over 30 years. Why not join them! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing