We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value as a Groupon deal”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Outstanding value as a Groupon deal”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

If you have booked a Groupon deal - this is very hard to fault. We paid £69 for two nights B and B for two people which also included afternoon tea on day one. Lets assume the hotel actually pick up around £40 from Groupon, then what you must consider is the service you can expect for £10 per person per night.
The weather was cold, but the hotel is well heated. The bedroom and bathroom were immaculate and the staff on the whole very pleasant. The hotel reception rooms were also clean with lots of areas to sit and relax.
I cannot comment on the evening meal as we like to have a drink when we eat and there is no real ale in the bar and £17 for a bottle of house wine is far too much for an establishment which describes itself in its own website as a B and B. We therefore ate at a local pub.
If you are not on a discount deal, you will currently pay around £35 per person per night for the bedroom we stayed in. This however is for Dinner, bed and breakfast and still seems great value.
For this money, you may find a hotel with more modern decor and furnishings but it would not be any cleaner or comfortable and at the Ambassador, you are in one of the best locations in town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdyboy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    256
    192
    84
    130
See reviews for
126
457
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We arrived and were immediately disappointed with the size of the room plus the non-view of a part of the building. Not able to upgrade. When we accidentally locked ourselves out the receptionist came up to the room. I pointed out a dirty glass top on the left side of the bed and a dirty headboard and she said she would get it cleaned whilst we were out. Suffice it to say it was not cleaned whilst we were there.
Groupon also included afternoon tea. This was for 1 & a half scones each and were very small(maybe enough for small children).
Breakfast the next day-there were 4 slices of bacon 2 of which were overcooked & inedible. The hash brown was nearly white.
The toast was nice! Location is good

Room Tip: We would not return!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enid w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Walking into the hotel reminded me of a 1960 old peoples home with food quality very basic and small portions and of a very poor quality (cheapest of cheap)dinner in the evening was from 6 15/7 15 but restaurant was empty by 7 0 and the staff were setting breakfast tables around you which felt like they wanted U to leave asap drinks in the bar were very expensive £ 1 20 for a soda!bedrooms were circa 1960 definately had not been updated smelt musty although the sheets and towels were clean the shower curtain was mouldy.although they offer cheap deals it is not worth it don't bother had we not paid upfront there is no way we would have stayed

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeymouse23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

A great weekend stay which was a groupon deal. The afternoon tea was fantastic, the breakfast was splendid, all of the staff were polite and helpful, our room was clean but a little small but suited our needs.

The hotel is in a great location close to town and the beach with plenty of parking which is cheap.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Munch6760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Having read all the reviews prior to my recent stay, I was filled with dread! However, if you book this hotel through a Groupon deal, then you get what you pay for and my partner and I thought it was actually really reasonable. Yes the hotel is VERY tired and sad looking and does need time and money investing in it, but we found the room clean and comfortable, the bar area ok, and the staff lovely. The breakfast was amusing, but nothing to get upset about (just make sure you sit at the right table...or else!!). Afternoon tea was lovely, Buck's Fizz and proper tea made a real difference. Parking is a bit of an issue, but can be resolved with a bit of patience.

Room Tip: Room 115 is at the back of the hotel and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiverpoolJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Our 2 night deal on groupon was fantastic value. No issues with the room. All the staff were polite and helpful. Lots of choice at breakfast.
Ideal location on the prom and very near shopping area, theatre and all amenities.
I would return to this hotel, especially using a special deal as it was such good value.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCelticCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
270 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed here on the 10th and 11th January with a Groupon deal, there was six of us in our party, the weather was lousy on the Friday night we arrived so we decided to eat in the hotel. They made us very welcome and the service from the young man who also was working the bar was very attentive.

Rooms were adequate I do agree that they are tired and need modernising, but they were clean and the bedding was fresh and clean too. Bathroom was quite small and accessing the loo was a bit of a challenge.........We had a side sea view which was quite nice too.

Breakfast was not too bad, you helped yourself to cereals, juice, tea and coffee, then breakfast orders were taken from the table. We did feel that when we were in the breakfast room it was a little bit like "Gods waiting room" as we were put right in the corner of the room as we are not the quietest of groups when we get together.

On the whole we enjoyed it, as it was really inexpensive, in this world you do get what you pay for......

Room Tip: if your not happy with your room, ask to change it........
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnPaul78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#40 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: St. Georges Place | St. Georges Place, Llandudno LL30 2NR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely styled traditional, family run, independent hotel for individual people. The Hotel is renowned for comfort, service & friendliness, but with a commitment to standards & disciplines, with a belief that this has to be affordable.Relaxing lounges or one of Llandudno’s best stocked bars, the choice is yours at The Ambassador.Our Patisserie is open from 10.00am to 5.30pm daily, where you can relax with a pot of tea or coffee. Spoil yourself with a sandwich made on home-baked bread, peraps indulge in a cream cake or afternoon tea. Our Head Chef and his team provide interesting and varied menus in The Restaurant based on local produce. All bedrooms are equiped with tea/coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, multi channel flat screen Television and hairdryer.Strategically placed, exactly halfway between the bandstand and Pier. Getting about could not be easier - turn left from the front door and you are on the Promenade, turn right and ahead is the main shopping area of Mostyn Street, with many national and international stores.... it's so convenient!The Williams family is now in it’s third generation of caring for guests, many of whom have been returning for over 30 years. Why not join them! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing