We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even think about it”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #40 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't even think about it”
Reviewed August 18, 2008

We stayed here last week - awful place
Dirty run down room, with bedding that was fit for the bin.
The poor bar staff should never be employed they don't have any grasp of the language, and annoy the guests - this is NOT their fault. The management obviously see them as cheap labour.
Breakfast was a joke, 1- 2 members of staff trying to serve a full restaurant.
For the life of me don't understand how the place is so busy - unless the senior citizen tour operators do cheap rates.
We certainly paid far too much for such a poor hotel.
Gwesty need to re categorise this place *** I don't think so!!!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
1 Thank BordersWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    269
    200
    87
    134
See reviews for
133
482
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2008

Stayed for a week and this place was the worst part of the trip. On the first night and thereafter we were refused tap water in the dining room. They only served bottled water, at a price. This was supposed to be an economy measure. We took our own water every day. One person had an accident and the manager just stood by watching while the residents helped her up and organised an icepack for her bleeding nose. Everything was shabby and the list of complaints among our group was long. We got bin liners in the room for two days and then no more (the bins were black and disgusting inside and needed those liners). We had a room facing the car park, tidy enough but with greasy marks on the wall from previous heads and it was a room where smoking was permitted (we don't smoke) so we had the emergency door open all the time and fended off the pigeons which kept trying to come in.
The hotel shows 3 stars (Welch tourist board) on the outside but is only rated as two stars. It needs a total overhaul and complete new management.

  • Liked — The outside views
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dodobird3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2008

my wife and i have just returned from our third visit to the ambassador an we have once again really enjoyed our visit.we stayed in one of their spa rooms overlooking the wonderful view of llandudno bay.the service and food are first class and nothing is too much trouble for the staff,i must make special mention of the deputy manager simon who goes out of his way to see that we enjoy our stay.we fully intend to return shortly,excellent.

  • Liked — wonderful views
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bebingtonwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2008

We had a light lunch at this hotel today. The food was mediocre, the decor tired and shabby, but worst of all, a particular member of staff, who claimed to be the manager was incredibly rude and unhelpful. This was the worst case of rudeness we have ever encountered in a British hotel. God help the British tourist trade in general and anyone who decides to dine in this "establishment" in particular.
There were many foreign waiters and waitresses, who were very polite it must be said, but who were hampered by their poor grasp of English. Some other members of staff (local) also appeared to be disgruntled with their lot, so I would assume that this hotel suffers from extremely poor management.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank Givemeabreak_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2008

We stayed at the hotel for 4 days, and I cannot stress how bad the place is. It is dated, shabby and in need of a really deep clean. Our room was on the second floor, and to get to it we needed to go through the Public Bar and Dining Room in order to get to the lift/stairs which would take us to our room. The bedding in our room was torn, and old although quite clean, however the beds were like concrete pads, and we had to go out and buy pillows, as they too were incredibily hard. The bathroom was filthy and we only went into it when we had to, it isn't due to shoddy cleaning though, it is simply that everything is very, very old and worn out. The worst part of the whole stay though, would have to be the food, it was dire. The choice of vegetables was somewhat unusual, boiled beetroot and red cabbage?? And the breakfasts were soggy as though they had been microwaved. We did complian to staff, but as the majority of them cannot speak English, it was extremely hard work, and we were unable to get any satisfaction, we also spoke to the manager, but he also was of little use. We came away feeling that we needed a holiday to get over it. When you book your holiday, you will be informed that there is a car park, however, be warned, it is not so much of a car park than a space at the back of the hotel that is being used as a car park. The space would easily fit 3 cars, but they insist in parking 10-11 on it, so you have to reverse down a long tunnel to get to and straight back into your space, so that you can drive out as there is no space to turn around when you get to the spaces. We will never return to this Hotel, it was over priced, and not up to standard, but it was in the centre of the Prom and ideally situated to explore LLandudno, which is a beautiful place.

  • Liked — leaving to come home
  • Disliked — food, rooms, lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank loveleeWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Cheshire, England.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2008

Staff were friendly and helpful. Not all appeared to be trained, some did not seem trained at all. Room was not unpleasant in gedneral, however, some parts were poorly cleaned e.g. behind doors or in less well lit parts of the bathroom.
Not my idea of a suite!

Food was, by our standards, mediocre and we have had better food and accommodation in a truck stop cafe.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank num1motty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2008

We stayed at this hotel approximately 5 weeks ago for two nights and have just returned for another nights stay. I can honestly say that we enjoyed everything about our stay. The staff where very helpful, especially the restaurant staff. We upgraded to a spar room and got excellent sea views from our top floor room. The food is excellent and the service quick and efficient. We're not people who like living in the hotel but it was nice to sit and look out over the coast whilst enjoying a drink. What we didn't do is go to this hotel pretending to be hotel inspectors like some of the other reviewers think they are. If you miss the home comforts that much...stay at home.
we will be visiting again..soon.

  • Liked — laid back atmosphere
  • Disliked — moaning tourists
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,360 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,203 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#39 of 60 in Llandudno
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 60 in Llandudno
819 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Marine Hotel
Bay Marine Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: St. Georges Place | St. Georges Place, Llandudno LL30 2NR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely styled traditional, family run, independent hotel for individual people. The Hotel is renowned for comfort, service & friendliness, but with a commitment to standards & disciplines, with a belief that this has to be affordable.Relaxing lounges or one of Llandudno’s best stocked bars, the choice is yours at The Ambassador.Our Patisserie is open from 10.00am to 5.30pm daily, where you can relax with a pot of tea or coffee. Spoil yourself with a sandwich made on home-baked bread, peraps indulge in a cream cake or afternoon tea. Our Head Chef and his team provide interesting and varied menus in The Restaurant based on local produce. All bedrooms are equiped with tea/coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, multi channel flat screen Television and hairdryer.Strategically placed, exactly halfway between the bandstand and Pier. Getting about could not be easier - turn left from the front door and you are on the Promenade, turn right and ahead is the main shopping area of Mostyn Street, with many national and international stores.... it's so convenient!The Williams family is now in it’s third generation of caring for guests, many of whom have been returning for over 30 years. Why not join them! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing