We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AN EXCELLENT STAY AT THE AMBASSDOR”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #39 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“AN EXCELLENT STAY AT THE AMBASSDOR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

My Dad and myself went to this hotel in June this year. We booked through David Urqhart Travel for three nights. The hotel was very clean. The hotel is located in an excellent position, next to the seafront, close to the pier and the shopping centre. The holiday was certainly excellent value for money, £139.00 each for 3 NIGHTS. This included the accomodation, coach travel and 1 full day excursion.

The food was excellent at breakfast and evening meal times. The staff were all very efficient. I would certainly recommend this hotel to my friends and relatives, so anyone who is considering going should give this hotel a try!! I will be going back for another holiday in Llandundo in the future, and will stay at this superb hotel again!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    241
    186
    82
    124
See reviews for
120
432
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at the hotel with a KGBvoucher for 2 nights B&B and 1 dinner. When we arrived we were given a token for a complementary tea and cream scone which was very welcome.
The staff are very helpful and the food is very good-you are shown to a table which is yours from then on. The ground floor is adequate but we were given a twin room at the back on the second floor, room 219. The room itself was adequate for the price but the duvets sets and pillows were well past there best. For a small price these could be renewed to make the beds more welcoming. The bathroom was small but everything you needed was there along with endless hot water.
In the room there is very interesting on the history of the hotel and Llandudno itself.
There is no hotel parking nearby so you have to double park to unload your bags.
We had to keep the windows closed at night as the screeching from the seagulls was very bad. Unfortunately people feed these huge birds and when they do they flock around and even pinch food from people's hands. The council do clear away the rubbish from the bins regularly but there should be wardens patrolling the prom to stop silly people feeding these scavengers who then splatter the buildings with their waste.
Llandudno has only a small sandy beach to take a trip to Colwyn Bay and enjoy their lovely new sandy beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last weekend via a Groupon offer for £59.

I wasn't particularly expecting much and was mainly staying for the location. However, the hotel is absolutely shocking and stuck in a 50's time warp. Our room was very dark, dated & well worn. Overall cleanliness wasn't too bad but there were ground on stains probably going back years (e.g. yellow stained vinyl flooring around the toilet, carpet stains, broken tiles etc...).

The beds were uncomfortable and the 2 chairs in the room were actually broken and not fit too sit on.

The hotel also has a strange smell throughout, a bit like a cross between an old wet dog and school dinners. Not great, especially as we had to walk through the dining area to get to our room.

We didn't stay for breakfast, but did have a drink in the bar. Again very tired looking with rips & tears in seats.

Staff were ok and the location is very good on the sea front, but I would definitely not recommend staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid 314 as it was atrocious (see pic)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stretcho147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We frequently stay at the Ambassador Llandudno, the staff are very friendly, the service is excellent and the food is outstanding.
First time we have stayed in a spar room and would definitely recommend it although the other rooms we have stayed in are also top class.
I very happily recommend this hotel to anyone, excellent location, superb views, and top notch food.
We have already booked for later in August 2013 and are thinking about Christmas.

A very happy Mr and Mrs Richardson

Room Tip: All rooms are good but the sea views are great. The Richmond spa room is outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

The public rooms are ok but the bedrooms are HORRIBLE. Don't think they have been updated for 50 years. Rooms are nothing like advertised on their website and when I complained I was told "we can't put all our bedrooms on our website". If they did, no one would stay there.

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I was apprehensive after reading the reviews, but I wanted the location so we took a chance.

It seems very hard to get accommodation in Llandudno for 1 night travelling with a child at short notice.

Easy to find, we got lucky with parking outside, there was a sign at reception saying sea view rooms were available so we upgraded and the view of the front was lovely.

It's a 2 star hotel, so I was expecting a clean room with en-suite and that is what we got. Even though the window opened wide, I wanted it closed at night for noise, seagulls and child safety, pleased I thought to bring my own fan as it was a warm night.

We had a bar meal in the evening which was very nice, service was prompt and friendly.

I did think that breakfast was late, only starting at 8.45 - 9.45 on Sunday. Perhaps that is based on the hotel's experience, but I was travelling with my son who is used to eating breakfast much earlier than that, so we found ourselves having a picnic on the front at 7am.

Breakfast was very efficient and the waitress was really nice.

Checkout was friendly and quick.

It is, as others have said, a 2 star hotel. The staff were helpful and smiled. I politely asked a few questions, and the staff were really helpful. I observed a few guests being quite unnecessarily rude to the waitress at breakfast and all credit to the waitress she kept smiling. You get back what you give out you know.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank starfish2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Have just returned home after spending 2 nights-3 day break at the Ambassador Hotel in Llandudno. The price was right and I happily booked it and paid for it. I then read the reviews and became concerned and wondered if I had made a big mistake. We decided we would not let this put us off and went on our trip with the intentions of making the best of a bad job. As it was I needn't have worried. The manager and staff were lovely, polite and helpful and all in all had their priorities in the right place. Yes the hotel itself could do with money investing but this is a sign of the times. Our room was large, clean, airy and had all we needed. So what if the carpet, curtains, furnishings and decor was dated but that did not spoil it for us in any way. The beds were clean and comfortable, the food was excellent and the staff did their best. We were at the seaside, with the seagulls, postcards, fish and chips and wonderful views and shopping. We had a very nice stay and for anyone who thinks this hotel was not up to standard I would suggest they save up more money and go to another hotel. You get what you pay for and everyone has a choice but I feel these moaners are being very unfair and their criticism. will have a very negative effect on the hotel which is doing its best with what its got. We will definitely return..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#52 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: St. Georges Place | St. Georges Place, Llandudno LL30 2NR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely styled traditional, family run, independent hotel for individual people. The Hotel is renowned for comfort, service & friendliness, but with a commitment to standards & disciplines, with a belief that this has to be affordable.Relaxing lounges or one of Llandudno’s best stocked bars, the choice is yours at The Ambassador.Our Patisserie is open from 10.00am to 5.30pm daily, where you can relax with a pot of tea or coffee. Spoil yourself with a sandwich made on home-baked bread, peraps indulge in a cream cake or afternoon tea. Our Head Chef and his team provide interesting and varied menus in The Restaurant based on local produce. All bedrooms are equiped with tea/coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, multi channel flat screen Television and hairdryer.Strategically placed, exactly halfway between the bandstand and Pier. Getting about could not be easier - turn left from the front door and you are on the Promenade, turn right and ahead is the main shopping area of Mostyn Street, with many national and international stores.... it's so convenient!The Williams family is now in it’s third generation of caring for guests, many of whom have been returning for over 30 years. Why not join them! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing