We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #38 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

My partner and I stayed in the Ambassador Hotel in January 2013 which we had booked through Groupon. We did expect a smallish room but we stayed in the Richmond Spa room on the 1st floor and it was a lovely big room, with king size bed and double aspect windows. The room was lovely and clean and warm, in fact too warm as the windows didn't open (but found out 1 did just before we checked out!!). Staff friendly and helpful and food in the evening was tasty and hot with a good choice, breakfast was also very good with plenty of choice.

The hotel does need updating but the friendly and helpful staff more than make up for that. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: First floor corner room (Richmond Spa) was a lovely room with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    245
    186
    82
    124
See reviews for
121
437
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We spent a few nights here after obtaining an online discount. It's a Victorian building with a typically basic room layout. The shower/WC area was particularly cramped.
However, it's situated in an excellent location on the seafront. The food was good and Ana, our waitress was all smiles and very helpful at all times.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Croftmanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on a KGB deal with a meal on the second night. It was great value for money. The staff were very helpful and nothing was to much trouble. The food was good with a good selection and the drinks in the bar were reasonable. There is limited parking on the car park for £3.50 per day which needs to be booked in advance. We upgraded to a sea view room at the side. The rooms are nicely decorated though the bathroom could have been a bit cleaner.

The down side was the beds and bedding. Our bed had blankets on, no duvets, which I haven't seen since I was a kid. Also, the bedspread had stains on and the sheets and pillowcases were poor quality. I feel that the bed is the most important part of a hotel room and this was definitely a down side. A little bit a TLC to this wouldn't go amiss. Otherwise a good place to stay in a good central location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Booked a weekend deal through Mighty Deals, £89 for a 2 night stay with breakfasts on both mornings and 3 course dinner on second night, supposedly worth £189?? I think not!
On arriving we were promptly checked in, then given directions to our room, good job the directions were also on the rear of our check in card as we had to walk through the bar, into the middle of the restaurant, the wonderful smell of food being cooked/served reminded me of school dinners back in 1968, I felt nauseous and headed for the lift, I stepped into the lift/ broom cupboard/coffin and pressed floor 1, I think I may have loosened a filling as it took off like a steam catapult on an aircraft carrier, and then banged my head on the ceiling 2ft above me as it stopped as suddenly as it started.
Up a short flight of stairs to our room, 115. Opened the door and walked in, first impressions were clean and no smells, bathroom was also clean.
The bed was similar to the type you buy from cheap furniture shops, we could feel every spring through the mattress and because of the lack of headboard there was 2 greasy marks on the wall where someone's heads had been.
After a very poor nights sleep? we showered, nice shower, hot and reasonably powerful, we went to breakfast, we chose the full English, 1 rasher of bacon, 1 sausage type thing, too much rusk to class it as a sausage, 1 egg, half a mushroom, half a tomato, teaspoonful of beans, triangular hash brown, and a piece of flat leaf parsley!! Choice of white or brown toast, we thought we'd live dangerously and have mixed, 1 round of brown, and 1 and a half round of white! Quite interesting watching people bringing Branflakes and peaches? from the serve yourself cereal table, we got out of there quickly and spent the day out.
Later in the evening, having worked up a good appetite, we were ready for our 3 course dinner, quick drink in the bar, good selection of single malts, then into dinner, we ordered our starters, pâté and garlic mushrooms for myself, within 15 seconds the food was served, now either the chef had ESP or the food was on a conveyer belt, either way the two quartered mushrooms I had where cold, and the pâté was served with 1 slice of cold toast, and a very small salad and of course the obligatory piece of parsley, for mains we both had the slow roast lamb, we didn't fancy the roast? salmon. Within 15 seconds the meal was served, some grey meat, to be fair it tasted ok, in jus with 2 new potatoes and some onion marmalade type stuff, the seasonal veg was peas, tablespoonful, and broccoli, 2 florrets well overcooked, pudding was pear crumble or tiramisu served with cream or custard, ice cream or cheese board, I had the crumble, my other half chose the cheese board, but we were wise to the game by now, she asked for a piece of each, but not the sample size given to others, at least enough to overpower the taste of the crackers, I think the waiter took pity on us and forgot? to take the grapes and celery away, only 4 grapes allowed! We ate them all, I think he forgot to charge us the extra £3 for the cheeseboard also.
Breakfast this morning was better as we knew how to play the game now, double portions!
We will not be going back in a hurry, and we will not recommend this hotel, the staff, all foreign, were very helpful and courteous, but the hotel is desperate for a makeover to bring it in to this decade. Finally, if you do decide to visit this hotel take your own entertainment, unless you want to join the scrabble club, and we would have asked for a room changed had it not been fully? booked!!! If you insist on visiting, don't mention the war!!

Room Tip: Try another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Ainsdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

we have stayed at this hotel 5 or 6 times now and always found this hotel to be a very good one the food is excellent the rooms are clean staff very helpful and friendly and you could not hope for a better location we will be returning soon

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went to the Ambassador with Mighty Deals as a remembrance of our honeymoon which we had last year there.and we were looking forward to it!!. The staff were lovely, very helpful but the bombshell was the room. We had lovely views but it was stifling in the room despite turrning the aadiators off, there was no ventilation, the windows could not be opened. the room was very tired and almost depressing. The bathroom, every time the light was put on the motor kicked in which at night wasn't very nice for those in the next room. The lino in the bathroom needing replacing as it was ripped in several places. There was no lock on the bathroom door and the bath panel was starting to come away at the end nearest the toilet. I appreciate that these are cosmetic things but they are things that should be attended to. For the price the room was adequate for our needs. on going down for the evening meal I was so disappointed. There were only two choices on the menu whereas last year there were more. As I couldn't eat pork or chicken leg I was forced into having a salad which was the only other alternative.which was not enjoyable so instead of having a nice pudding I had cheese and biscuits to fill me up. The following night I went down hoping it was a one off. Roast chicken mmm lovely so I thought, I asked for white meat only, thinking it would be sliced I was presented with a chicken leg with breast The chef told the waitress that it was breast so she brought it out to me,she saw I wasn't very happy and offered to take it away I declined and said that I would eat what I could, two bites and I was so off put I couldn't eat it I filled up on vegetables. I enjoyed the desert tho. At no point was I asked if everything was alright.the only people concerned were the people on the next table. Breakfast was good. I don't think that I would go again unless I found out that there had been a big change The waiting staff were foreign and had difficulty at times in understanding what was said.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kay j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

stayed in room 107,really big room and bath/shower room with a partial view of the sea and little orm.
the staff were really help full and nothing was too much trouble.
the meals were exelent,the breakfast was more than enough.
there was great entertainment on the friday but nothing on the satarday,which was a shame.
the only down side was the price of the drinks,house wine on offer at £16 per bottle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 59 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 59 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#35 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: St. Georges Place | St. Georges Place, Llandudno LL30 2NR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely styled traditional, family run, independent hotel for individual people. The Hotel is renowned for comfort, service & friendliness, but with a commitment to standards & disciplines, with a belief that this has to be affordable.Relaxing lounges or one of Llandudno’s best stocked bars, the choice is yours at The Ambassador.Our Patisserie is open from 10.00am to 5.30pm daily, where you can relax with a pot of tea or coffee. Spoil yourself with a sandwich made on home-baked bread, peraps indulge in a cream cake or afternoon tea. Our Head Chef and his team provide interesting and varied menus in The Restaurant based on local produce. All bedrooms are equiped with tea/coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, multi channel flat screen Television and hairdryer.Strategically placed, exactly halfway between the bandstand and Pier. Getting about could not be easier - turn left from the front door and you are on the Promenade, turn right and ahead is the main shopping area of Mostyn Street, with many national and international stores.... it's so convenient!The Williams family is now in it’s third generation of caring for guests, many of whom have been returning for over 30 years. Why not join them! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing