We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kensington Hotel
Ranked #42 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Recently stayed at the Kensington for four nights with my elderly mother on a half board basis. Staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We had a first floor room with a seaview but we were initially disappointed the room wasn't bigger. However the beds were extremely comfortable and the walk-in shower was lovely and easy to use. Food for the most part was good but on occasion could have been served 'hotter'. Car parking was excellent with a lift from the basement to all floors. Overall we had an really enjoyable stay at the Kensington.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend a room with a sea view. These were not that much more expensive than a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GW-YAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 272 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel in Llandudno and hits the spot comfort wise and location wise. Parking is a bonus but don't expect too much from the breakfast. Really not that nice but if you're not too bothered about that then its ideal for a couple of nights away.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

As usual we made a last minute decision to head off to North Wales for some good Welsh sea air when the weather was set fair for the week. We headed firstly to Bodnant Garden - see our separate review, and then into Llandudno which was really busy. We stayed at The Kensington last year and because of its excellent car park opted to try to get a room there again. We were met by the lovely Sam who was, as always friendly, helpful and efficient and found us a double room on the first floor, sea view. The position of this hotel is unrivalled - don't expect the same luxury as The Imperial or the St Georges, but then you are not paying the same price. The room is adequate, as is the bathroom and the shower works - not always the case even in "posh" hotels. We stayed 2 nights B & B, the breakfast is basic, the service good, but the toaster in the smaller area needs replacing! - it was however quite amusing to watch other guests trying to get their toast! This is essentially a "coach party" hotel, entertainment was provided and I'm sure many people do return year on year, that is how hotels like The Kensington survive and long may they do so.

Room Tip: Try to get a 1st floor sea view room near the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wanderers23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel over the May Bank Holiday. We arrived late on the Friday evening and was quickly given our key to our room that was spotlessly clean and was lovely and warm after coming in from the fairly cold and miserable evening weather. The room was a back room which actually looked over a black roof but it was cosy and we not once experienced any noise so slept well. The bed was comfortable and there were two lovely plumped up pillows. The room itself was an acceptable size but we did find the en-suite a bit small (it was very narrow and not much room between the wall and the sink). Although the en-suite was small it was not really a problem as it lovely (new and modern.) The only thing we would comment on is that the towels were not changed the whole of our stay (even though we threw them on the floor) and we did not find the cleaning lady very friendly.

The breakfast room was spotless, the service was good and all the staff were very friendly and worked so very hard to keep everyone happy. Breakfast consisted of cereals, porridge, toast and there was some fresh pineapple. The full Welsh breakfast was delicious and included bacon, eggs, sausage, mushroom, tomatoes, fried bread. No yogurts, selection of fruit or croissants but this did not matter as what was on offer was good.

Hardly anyone in the bar in the evening so lacked atmosphere but this may have been the time of year. We did not have the evening meal as it was a bit early for us but I would imagine by the menu it was worth the £15 a head. The restaurant had a wonderful full sea view and the hotel was on the sea front and central to amenities.

Would we go to this hotel again? Yes we would, we throughly enjoyed it and it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendyhowieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The plus point of this hotel is the large car park. Other than that, it is pretty average! We were on the third floor and the room was quite small but it was clean and adequate if you don't plan on spending long in there. The location of the hotel is good, on the sea front and just a short walk to shops etc. Breakfast was ok. There was a small buffet of cereals with porridge and you had to make your own toast. You could then choose a full cooked breakfast or poached, boiled or scrambled eggs or kippers. Service was very good and all the staff were very pleasant. If I was to nit pick, the carpet in the room let it down and the dirty windows and I think it is a bit pricey for what you get. On the whole though, it was a reasonable place to stay and no real cause for complaint.

Room Tip: First or second floor rooms are probably better than the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50Cas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at the Kensington over the May Bank Holiday. Could not fault anything! Staff were superb - friendly and always at hand to help with any enquiries. Location of the hotel is perfect and has a large car park which is a bonus. Breakfast was tasty and enjoyable. There is an option for Evening Meal - three-course at £15 pp - which we feel is good value for money. We did not take advantage of this over the weekend as we were meeting up with family members - but we certainly will next time we come to the Kensington - we won't bother looking at the other hotels - the Kensington has everything we look for!! A big thank you from the Evans family!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clicatwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We parked our car in the large car park behind the hotel then took the lift to what is the ground floor at the front of the hotel. No one was at the check in desk when we arrived, which we thought was odd, but we later realised that the same three staff who worked in the dining room and the bar also did duty as receptionists. The manager was in the office taking a phone call, but later came out and gave us cards to fill in. We decided to go into the town and by the time we returned the key to our room was ready. We had a sea view room on the second floor. The room and bathroom were very nicely decorated and there was a walk in shower. Although the room had a sea view you had to stand at the window to see it as the window isn't large, but it made the room nice and light. There was very little storage for clothes - 3 small drawers between the beds and one on the side near the window. The wardrobe is more of an alcove with a shelf above. Not enough hanging space for long dresses, you would need to bring an overdoor hanger.
The lift is slow as others have said, but it beats carrying your case upstairs.
Breakfast was the usual choices - including kippers, cooked to order. There were halves of grapefruit, which I had. I enjoyed the grapefruit, but it would have been better had it been prepared with a grapefruit knife to loosen the flesh. I found it easiest to dig out the flesh with my teaspoon. There was only orange juice set out. There was a toaster to make your own toast.

You ordered your main evening meal at breakfast - quite sensible as it must cut down waste.
If you order melon, be prepared for it to come quite liberally dusted with icing sugar - not necessary really. Our party enjoyed the meals. I found them not quite as diet friendly as I would have liked, but as everyone else was happy, I am in the minority.

The hotel has a lovely ballroom overlooking the car park and two lounges at the front of the hotel overlooking the prom. It was very quiet while we were there, only a few other guests besides our party of dancers, so I can't comment on how it would be in high season.

We would all stay again, so that is a recommendation in itself.The three foreign staff being waiters/bar staff/receptionists were friendly and cheerful and a great asset to the hotel. Their english was good too.

There is a big shopping centre behind the hotel with Boots, Debenhams Monsoon etc. this can be accessed from behind the coach park and through a pathway.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunseeker7Chadderton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.0 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#24 of 60 in Llandudno
535 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 60 in Llandudno
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trevone Hotel
Trevone Hotel
#45 of 60 in Llandudno
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#53 of 60 in Llandudno
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Hotel

Address: 6-8 Nevill Crescent | Central Promanade, Llandudno LL30 1AT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $79 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kensington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kensington Llandudno Hotel is a traditional, family-run hotel, which is located in a prime location, on the central promenade in the heart of Llandudno's magnificent north shore. Run by the Beardmore family for over the past 20 years, the hotel is well-known for its warm, friendly, personal service. The hotel has 50 en-suite bedrooms, with tasteful, traditional decor. Every room is well-equipped with TV, tea & coffee making facilities to give a feeling of comfort and homeliness. Premier rooms enjoy magnificent sea views of Llandudno's north bay. From private guests to group parties, the hotel is suitable for every kind of visitor to Llandudno, Snowdonia and other North Wales destinations. The Kensington Hotel is less than a minute walk to the Venue Cymru which makes it an ideal base for delegates attending a conference as well as people attending a musical concert or theatre show.The hotel's location provides convenient access to all of Llandudno's major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel Llandudno
The Kensington Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing