We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take note of hotel policies”
Review of Ashlawn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashlawn House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Recently we booked 2 rooms, one being a "family room" and the other a double. We were a family of 3 adults and 4 children aged 6, 4, and 18 months. We received our confirmation from Booking.com to say we had a family room for 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years of age. My daughter in law phoned to see if we had to bring our own travel cot or did they have one there. We were then told they did not accept children under 5 as their crying in the night would wake the whole hotel, and were told it said this in the hotels policies. Fair enough, if that is their policy, but it should be clearly stated on the booking form. We had to cancel the rooms, but were not given any refund! So for anyone who books the Ashlawn House Hotel, Llandudno BE WARNED NO CHILDREN UNDER 5. If they can't make it clear , then I will. I don't want anyone else have the same disappointment my family had.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otterburnlady, Owner at Ashlawn House, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2016

Our policy is clearly stated on the booking site. The layout of the building is such that if a baby was to wake in the night, as they do, it would disturb guests in most of the rooms. That is unfair to guests who have booked not expecting children under five to be in the property. As to not having a refund, we take no payment in advance, but when I tried to charge one night against the card details the booking was made against, the card was declined. I am offended to be accused of charging someone when this is totally untrue. We take no payment in advance and only make a charge in line with our cancellation policy which is common in all properties such as ours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 125 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

spent one night here sat 9 nov it was too short it makes a change to stay somewere that was clean and comfortable had the best night sleep for a long time plenty of tea and coffe in the room breakfast was hot and filling would definitely come back next year ann and david has only run ashlawn since may this year you should be proud of what you have done I have already recommend to some of my friends we were with for this weekend away thanks julie

Room Tip: I had two rooms this weekend rooms two and three would book these rooms again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just spent Saturday night here we were at an all weekend swimming gala. From the very outset with emails being sent back and to Ann was very prompt and helpful. This was further enhanced when Dave met us late and was very welcoming. We had to be up and out early and once again I was impressed by their helpfulness we had a lovely breakfast half and hour earlier than they usually serve. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leeady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked this B&B not knowing anythng about it . The locaton is perfect the room was cosy clean and comfortable . Breakfast was amazing Ann and Dave were very friendly and helpful . Defintely would recommend it

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnwilson2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I booked this B&B for my mums birthday 12 months ago, 7 visits later we have decided to make wales our permanent home. We have stayed with Ann and Dave every time and they never cease to amaze me with their genuine willingness to put us at ease and make us as comfortable as possible. They could be forgiven especially after so many visits for getting a bit complacent but remarkably they seem to outdo themselves each time.

They have become very good friends but this aside if you were to visit llandudno at any time, a stay at Ashlawn is a must. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Booked this hotel online through Bookings.com to go to Llandudno with my family. The hotel is very clean and its close to town centre as well as the beach. The hosts are very welcoming and friendly. Would definitely recommend this

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciindy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was randomly picked B&B in Llandudno where we have stayed for 2 nights. Location was perfect - close to everywhere far enough to have undisturbed sleep. We were accommodated in a cozy room which was well furnished and clean. Bed was very comfortable and the sheet as fluffy as you can imagine. Breakfast in the morning was to die for - made from local ingredients and cooked with love by the host of the property Dave. He and Ann were the best host I've ever met - professional, hard working and genuinely nice people - they took their time to talk to us, make sure we are happy, asked for our plans and made a lot of suggestions like where to eat, where is a good pub, how long does the bus take etc.

I would definitely recommend this place to everyone and I would stay there again if visiting North Wales in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura2cz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
LLandudno Hostel
LLandudno Hostel
#2 of 8 in Llandudno
222 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 59 in Llandudno
1,304 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 59 in Llandudno
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.6 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 59 in Llandudno
866 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#25 of 59 in Llandudno
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashlawn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashlawn House

Address: 16 Trinity Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2SJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Llandudno
Price Range: $72 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ashlawn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashlawn House Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing