We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$271
$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gwesty Links(Llandudno)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plas Llwyd(Llandudno)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Broadway Hotel(Llandudno)(Great Value!)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Imperial Hotel(Llandudno)
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosaire(Llandudno)(Great Value!)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Headlands Hotel(Llandudno)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Karden House Hotel(Llandudno)(Great Value!)
$64
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,999)
Filter reviews
2,000 results
Traveler rating
257
510
453
328
452
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
257
510
453
328
452
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuffet stylenational holidaysbit datedplenty of choicea sea view roomshort breakstanpiersingerprom
Filter
Updating list...
1,874 - 1,879 of 2,000 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Traveled with national coaches 1st to 5th Feb. much better than last visit had bee repainted a lot.
Food: the food was excellent, and a very wide choice, it was a buffet arrangement, with about 5 sittings as five coaches were in at the time. the restraunt manger Duncan was very good and most helpfull. The only thing is we had to have a squart of gel on our hands before we entered the dineing room. suspect there had been problems in the past.
Rooms: ours was clean and warm with the usual ficilities tea and coffee etc. The bathroom floor had not been cleaned all week as the after shower talk was on it the whole week, minor point.
Entertainment: the entertainment was very good and much appreciated. the only comment is, if you were expecting a quiet hotel, dont, as the noise seemed to go through all the rooms. other wise things were great.
Staff: all the staff were very helpfull and nothing was too much.

Thanks to all at the hotel for a splended week.

Stayed: February 2010
1  Thank Allanscarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We have been going to Llandudno for short breaks for quite a while and have experienced excellent quality accommodation as well as truly dire hotels. Many years ago we spent a couple of nights in the Grand Hotel (I think it might have been a Butlins hotel at the time) and were not impressed at all by the accommodation or the entertainment. Last week I came across a special deal on the Internet offering a two night DBB break for £46 per room per night for two people. This we thought might be too good to be true so determined that if we didn’t like the place again then we could always just use the place as a base and spend our time elsewhere. We did pay £10 per night for a sea view.

Anyway on arrival we were very pleasantly surprised. The room allocated was just below the reception area and had a sleeping area and a sitting area with a large window giving the most magnificent view over the bay of Llandudno. For those of you who have not experienced this it is spectacular. The cleanliness was first class and the overall room standard was much higher than we had experienced it previously.

The meals, both dinner and breakfast, were perfectly acceptable. They were not particularly gourmet style but neither were they greasy spoon. The staff were attentive in the dining room without being intrusive. Food was buffet style with quite a good choice.

Entertainment was provided at night time with the mandatory bingo but also a bit of dancing and a show. Las Vegas it was not but it was a pleasant way to pass the evening. Later on after the show there was karaoke in an upstairs bar and it was all good humoured and sociable.

In summary, this hotel is, in my opinion, better than some of the reviews have portrayed it. It is not top drawer but it is a good value hotel, in an excellent position and there is enough to keep most people entertained in the evening. Don't go here for a honeymoon or special occasion but as a short break it was good value and much improved.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSNorthWestUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

We have just returned from The Grand on a 5 day trip as part of a coach tour. We were quite worried having read some of the reviews but it was much, much better than expected. In one of the coldest weeks of the new year the hotel was lovely and warm both in rooms and the public places. Our room was pleasant with a view over the bay (Room 321), and although the furnishings are 'tired' the bed and towels were spotless clean, and towels changed regularly. The food was very good with something for everyone, and as much as you wanted for the larger appetites, and it was nicely cooked and hot. The entertainment did get a little boring, but they did their best to vary it, and when one entertainer could not make it because of the snow they did get someone else in.The staff were most helpful and friendly. For the prices they are charging it is extremely good value for money. If you want all the extras at a hotel, then pay more. We would definately return for another stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maz99EastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

The first room I was given was nothing more than a store cupboard and I was transferred a slightly larger room which was filthy. The food is disgusting, processed rubbish. Customer service is non existant and I would not recommend the Britannia Chain to anyone. When making the Hotel aware on these points the comments from the Deputy General Manager were, nobody else complained. We normally stay a Guest Houses, that have always been spotless and friendly and you can rest assured that we will never cross the threshold of any Britannia Hotel again

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirley1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

Went with a coach party average age 75. Did not know what to expect after reading reviews.
Room was fine,clean and although no shower in the bathroom, lots of hot water. It is a old hotel and the floorboards creak a lot. Bags were taken to room very quickly on arrival. Seating in the dining room was very confusing with people getting very upset at having nowhere to sit. Food was buffet style, hot and plentyful.
With the age of the party it was very disappointing there was no entertainment through the day, if people decided not to go on the organised trips. With bad weather they were unable to go out and were left staring at the four walls. Entertainment was not as good as other hotels we have visited .The four entertainers worked very hard, but it was all a much of a muchness . It was supposed to have been a tinsel and turkey themed week but this will need a lot of work on, very unseasonable.Whilst it was quite enjoyable we will not be visiting again.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crystalWestInWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews