We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap & cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Ranked #58 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cheap & cheerful”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed overnight 9/2/14 on a wine & dine break. What a bargain it was £59 for the two of us, dinner was all you can eat buffet style which I dare anyone not to find something they liked, we got a free bottle of wine (pinot grigio) which we brought home and then buffet style breakfast this morning with a wide choice of cereal, cooked breakfast, fruit. The staff we met were all friendly and polite. We had a beautiful sea view room with a tiny balcony. The room was dated but clean, the bed was really comfortable and I slept all night which I dont normally do when I'm away from home. The evening entertainment was definitely for the older generation, ballroom dancing is not our cup of tea so we just took ourselves off into the town. The only downside of the whole trip was having to pay for parking as the hotel has no carpark facilities, it's a good job it's February because any later in the year and we'd have struggle to get a space. Overall we had an enjoyable break away from our day to day life and spent quality together which doesnt often happen. Would definitely recommend for anyone who wants a cheap and cheerful break away from home.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view (it's spectacular)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    436
    392
    292
    373
See reviews for
368
813
34
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stoke on trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

just returned from a weekend break ...never again so disappointed with the hotel. its not grand..its tired.., jaded, dirty, full of creaking floors, rude staff farsical entertainment and awful food. we were in premier rooms with premier food..i dread to think what "normal" food and rooms were like. the dining room had cobwebs hanging over the windows and table, dirty plates and cutlery ,and staff that ignore you..dont bother asking for drinks they dont arrive! dirty cups/glasses were left on one table for the whole of our stay! its a shame that the hotel is so bad..investment is urgently needed and a huge refurb

Helpful?
6 Thank cookiecrumbled72
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dan T, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear CrumbledCookie

This is a real shame to read and l am rather shocked to read your comments.
Our team has been working tirelessly over the last few months to improve on all areas within the hotel including; redecorating of public areas and on-going refurb' projects in bedrooms. Menu improvements and housekeeping standards have also undergone improvements
and all these efforts have been reflected by the increasing number of very positive comments left by guests here to which we are all very proud to be part of.
Staff here are certainly not rude and previous comments on this site will answer any doubts.
There are squeaky floorboards, which go hand in hand with the age of the building, we try
to keep the decor in line with the age and character of the building (sometimes people automatically assume the hotel must be "dirty" because it is old!!)
I am very sorry that your stay here did not live up to your expectations and hope any future stays with Britannia Hotels are more enjoyable.
Best wishes from all at The Grand in Llandudno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kandy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed here in late January 2014 as part of an organised coach tour. These tours, usually with National Holidays, invariably represent very good value as they include transportation and sight seeing as well as half board accommodation. One also suspects these type of tours provide life blood to the Grand, particularly during the winter months. Although in need of some TLC, the Grand continues to please with its magnificent setting overlooking Landudno Bay and it 'does what it says on the tin' philosophy. The meals are always buffet style with good choice and the hot meals in particular are well prepared. The dining areas are relatively spacious so even at busy times, there are very few problems. One thing the hotel must improve on is the quality of their metal teapots-----more tea goes on the table cloths than in ones cup. Staff are pleasant and obliging. We asked well in advance for a third floor room with a shower and sea view and were given a premier room without quibble or extra charge. The communal areas are also spacious although some of the settees are less than comfy. The entertainment is rather repetitive and unfortunately (for us at least) Bingo occupies the prime time spot each and every weekday evening. Overall, the Grand uses what it has and is to create a pleasant enough stay at this lovely Welsh resort.

Room Tip: Consider a premier room even if you have to pay a supplement. Apart from the sea views from the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I'm reviewing this hotel based on how much I paid for the holiday.

Just back from a four night stay at the Grand with National Holidays and in all truthfulness I cannot really fault the holiday from being picked up in Hull until being dropped back off five days later back in Hull. Richard our driver conducted himself in the most professional manner at all times and put everyone at ease. We did get to The Grand a little early and could not enter our room 302A until 4pm. We just when for a short walk and ended up in the local Wetherspoons. Our room was basic but clean and suited our needs. The meals where better then expected and better then most hotels of this kind that I've visited.

The ground floor bars is open until the lower ground floor ballroom bar opens a 7-30pm. Now this did not bother me, but I could see that it may bother others that had to walk or use the lift to the bar. Nighty from 7-30pm in the Grand Ballroom there is entertainment with the resident musicians "The Grand Melody". Bingo is at 8-30pm (tickets at reception), my wife tells me that the bingo is not cheap. If you buy one ticket for all seven games it will cost you £4. My wife bought two lots each night spending £32 in total, so yes maybe not so cheap. After the bingo entertainment continued with Explosive Productions Acts geared up to the more mature guests. I have to say that most found the acts very enjoyable.

If you are on a coach holiday and if you do have a free day and looking for something to do, you can always jump on the Coastliner Bus #12 that runs from Llandudno to Rhyl ever 15 minutes, a one day pass using an English over 60s bus pass is £3. You can jump on and off as many times as you like. You can also get a zones C and D train/bus one day pass for £10 if you wish, but be warned at some of the train stations you do have to hail the oncoming train just like a bus to tell the driver to stop and pick you up.

You can also go for a 6mile walk around Great Ormes from right outside the hotel. Best done anticlockwise, from the hotel turn right and follow Marine Drive all the round. The walk goes up very gently for 2 miles to a café at Great Ormes Head with views over to Anglesey. The next 2 to 3 miles is downhill to West Beach Llandudno, from there it's a short walk or a bus ride back to the town centre. The walk is all on footpaths with plenty of places to sit for a rest.

So would I stay at The Grand again? Well that as to be yes I would. I would like to end by thanking National Holidays plus all the hotel staff and entertainment staff at The Grand, Llandudno for making our stay "excellent".

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed from 27 to 31st January. Very happy with value having travelled with National Holidays. Room basic, but well adequate. Clean and warm with limited programme tv and tea and coffee making facilities (always a must!) One thing that might be considered room wise is the hardness of the beds, however as a single traveller, I placed two of the four pillows from the double bed on to of the mattress and the problem was solved. Excellent size bathroom with good lighting and great bath and shower. Food was excellent with no shortage of choice, and hot food replenished very quickly with no waitng for a table or service in any way. There is on thing I feel I need to point out, unfortunately, regarding dining room experience. One central member of staff seemed quite stressed which can be relativitely understandable considering the number of guests to be served at any one time. However, I was sad to observe him becoming very audible with a group of diners at one table, embarrasing them before those in close proximity. Any points he wanted to make to them could surely have been done quitely and privately without a booming welsh voice drawing attention to whatever the problem might have been. I stayed several years ago with my elderly mother and this member of staff did the same to me over an innocent mistake I made concerning dining times. Evening entertainment was excellent. All being said, I'm sure any relative problems were outweighed by a lovely stay where the rain held of (most of the time!) and Llandudno grand delights combined with a needed break were a welcome change.

Room Tip: No single rooms for sea view, but I've heard good value for money for those sharing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 365Seaview1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

just stayed 5 days at this lovely hotel, yeah there are areas of improvement but overall I was impressed by the faded beauty of this once majestic hotel only disappointment was the ballroom ! was expecting something really glamorous. food choice was excellent, room lovely and clean and warm. staff very friendly. downside was the bar being shut at half 7 if you wanted to stay in that bar you had to fetch your drinks up from the ballroom bar !!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deedee478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Couldnt fault this hotel, this was about our 8th visit, ok. its an old hotel but it has character that is lacking in the new modern ones.The food is great and I have never come across such friendly and helpfull staff, they all seem to have been there for a while and are very eager to please.Parking is a problem but this is common to all Llandudno Hotels, the council should realise that Llandudno only survives because of holiday makers and the traffic wardens are hovering waiting for you to be one minute over.

Room Tip: The Premier Rooms all have a good view and its nicer to eat in the small restaurant that comes with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 60 in Llandudno
809 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,185 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The New Loretta Hotel
The New Loretta Hotel
#55 of 60 in Llandudno
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel - Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel - Llandudno

Property: The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Address: Happy Valley Rd, Llandudno LL30 2LR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel - Llandudno 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Llandudno is a magnificent Victorian building and is a prominent feature to the wonderfully conserved and famous, Llandudno North Shore Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Grand Hotel - Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Llandudno
Grand Llandudno
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing