We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Ranked #58 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have just spent a Sunday night at the Grand Hotel and it was nothing like the other reviews suggest that are on here.
We had a non sea view room as we booked last minute but the room although a little tired was spacious and very clean and fresh.
The receptionist was pleasant and very efficient as were the breakfast staff.
The food was fresh, hot, a good variety and topped up constantly, at no point did we have to queue even though the hotel was full to capacity.
We went into the lounge bar after being out all evening and had a really entertaining night with the resident entertainer, Graham. He was very engaging and hilarious with his extremely dry take on things delivered by his 36 year old alter ego and imaginary back up support consisting of a dance formation team and panel judges, spot on Graham!

Room Tip: A sea view would be exceptionally beautiful as the hotel has the most prominent position on the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frances b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,898)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,276 - 1,282 of 1,898 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed the week 1st - 5th July 2013. Will never stay there again. We went with a party of 18 people. Most of us had to change our rooms as they were too small or too dirty. I never had mine changed. It was a single room. Not too dirty as some others were, but small. The shower room/toilet was so small, you couldn't swing a cat in there. The shower cubicle was so small I couldn't bend down to wash my feet. The bathroom sink was in the main room, right next to the TV, bit dangerous don't you think? The toilet was one of those not attached to the main plumbing, and made a weird noise all the time. Around the back of the loo, was quite dirty. I think that the hotel should be completely gutted or pulled down! As for the food, well.........Ive never tasted such bland food. Was awful. I tried an egg for breakfast one morning and it smelt awful. I tried to eat out during lunchtime instead. Breakfast wasn't too bad,, just about edible, but the evening meals were really bad, not much choice, very sloppy, tinned food. Yuk! The views from the hotel were brilliant.....only good thing about the hotel really. The drinks were mega expensive, The entertainment rubbish, especially in the Connaught Bar after 9.30. They had a bloke called Stan, who wore a wig and was drunk most of the time and played the organ. Ive never heard anything so awful. Hahaha! Its a shame about the hotel as its in a really good location. But as ive said earlier, I will NOT go there again, and I advise anybody not to.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rainbirdclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel caters for coach parties of elderly people. Not sure if this is why the hotel must feel that as they have their target groups and contracts with coach parties they don't need to make an effort. Our room was filthy and obviously doesn't get cleaned apart from the change of bedsheets and a quick hoover. There were toothpaste spatters on the mirror, bloodstains on the doorframe, long black hairs on the shower walls and the toilet was sticky with dust. Surfaces and television thick with dust. 3 out of 5 of the drawers couldn't be used as the handles were snapped off. I can see this hotel shut in 5-10 years time as they lose their target group. Don't go, there are plenty of great hotels and B & B's in Llandudno.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Katie581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

What a dump my husband myself son and partner and grandson had booked here for 4 nights we had a seaview room balcony filthy room dirty and had cobwebs my husband dropped a toothpaste lid on the bathroom floor we left it there and it was there 3 days till I picked it up towels weren't touched the cups in the room were just rinsed in the bathroom sink as the tea stain was l
eft there and the cups had water left in them the TV was mono portable the food was disgusting we queued like school and every day we had to wait 10minutes while they put 2 tables together even though they take your room numbers so they know how many are in your party our son and family had the family room at the rear it was dirty they couldn't even see through the windows as they were so filthy there TV was smaller than ours and they left their clothes in the suitcase as they wouldn't use the shabby wardrobe.meals were disgusting cold and bland cutlery and crockery was stained and dirty too many awful things to list here just don't go you have been warned.

Room Tip: Sea view seem a little better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kathb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

just got back from the grand - busy weekend in Llandudno so had no choice where to stay - what a dump paid for sea view couldn't see through dirty windows, balcony was filthy - room hanging with cobwebs - after complaining had £70 knocked off stay but on departure they had only refunded £60 and no management/reception to deal with mistake the head chef was on reception in his 'whites' was a disaster of a place

Room Tip: don't go there
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
8  Thank brandy1111111111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We went to this hotel as my elderly parents were already holidaying here and we wanted to surprise them for my fathers 81st birthday. We were allocated room 225 and on reflection we should have complained after seeing the room but we didn't really have chance because of the surprise nature of our trip. The room was very small, in fact the small double bed was behind the door and pushed up against the wall to one side, meaning that i had to climb over my husband to get in and out of bed. It was VERY dark as the window faced out to a wall which was about 10 foot away and about 20 foot higher than our window...so hardly no daylight at all. The room and hotel was cleanish but looked worse than it was due to being desperate for a complete refurbishment. The food was basic but not of a bad quality and was perfectly acceptable although the self-service for the evening meals is not a good idea, it smacked more than a little of 'canteen / school ' meals and some of the dining room staff were bit unhelpful (ie there was no teapot on the hot drinks table and when I asked for some was told 'there is some on the other table at the bottom of the dining room so go and get them' which was not really the correct response to paying guests I felt.. I am not sure I would use this chain of hotels again as the 'no frills' approach wasn't for me.

Room Tip: do not have room 225. Dark, dingy and too small for comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank woodyclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We booked this hotel through late rooms quite late so its our fault for not checking the reviews. !
The hotel is absolutely awful and filthy. Its a cross between a Butlins camp from the 50's and an Old Peoples Home. We paid £70 for a double room with Breakfast and if I had paid £20 I would have said it was overpriced. The room did not have any opening windows and was smelt dreadfully. The woodchip paper and furniture was probably new back in the 50's. The balcony in the room was boarded up with claims it was unsafe. The pictures on their websites are completely false. They may have 1 or 2 rooms that look like that however what you actually get is completely different. The windows are so filthy you cant see out of them.

Reception staff are an absolute joke, they were not interested in helping and didn't even seem interested in booking us for the 2nd night which we originally wanted as the town was full.
Breakfast was dire, We were told it was served between 9 and 10. We arrived at 9.45 to find lots of the cooked breakfast had run out, staff were frantically clearing away making so much noise and being in the way that we gave up after 10 mins. My partner did not even get to her cooked breakfast and made do with a bowl of cereal. Now when they said between 9 and 10 we found out that you have to kind of line up like school dinners at 9am and be finished by 10am so the staff can crack on with other jobs.

The only saving grace on this hotel that can easily be compared to the Grosvenor from TV was the bar and entertainment. The entertainment staff seemed to worked extremely hard and did put on a good show. We were there when one of the girls was leaving to move on to a cruise ship and all the staff seemed genuinely upset to lose her. The bar staff were also excellent and severed a great pint at a good price.

All in all this is a vastly overpriced, run down, filthy dirty place that should have been shut down years ago. Its a great shame as its in a fantastic location and could be so much more.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DTD73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,317 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,478 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 60 in Llandudno
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#32 of 60 in Llandudno
507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
#21 of 60 in Llandudno
931 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#54 of 60 in Llandudno
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel - Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel - Llandudno

Address: Happy Valley Rd, Llandudno LL30 2LR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $45 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel - Llandudno 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Llandudno is a magnificent Victorian building and is a prominent feature to the wonderfully conserved and famous, Llandudno North Shore Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Hotel - Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Llandudno
Grand Llandudno
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing