We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good break away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel - Llandudno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Ranked #59 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Jarrow Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A very good break away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

At times I wonder why I read Tripadvisor when you read bad reports about the hotels you are about to stay at and you go and find them totally acceptable, each to their own I suppose !! Here is our review, stayed for 5 days with National Holidays 29th Oct to 2nd Nov. Reception check in very efficient and any queries during our stay helpful, thanks for the help with my Kindle. Bedroom clean and comfortable, plenty tea, coffee and milk, tv with good picture only complaint bathroom only had bath no shower but hey ho, had we know we would have requested a shower. There was a supply of soap, shower gel and shampoo if you needed them. Dining room large clean and well run. Food was varied, hot ,plentiful and nicely cooked the apple pie was too die for one of the best I've ever tasted. For us the meal time of 5:30 was a little too early we would have preferred a later sitting Lounge area large and no problems finding a seat to have your tea/coffee after dinner. We did not try the entertainment on the evenings so unable to comment. All in all yes the place as with all the Britannia hotels it could do with a refurb and a bit of TLC but we would not hesitate to return and Thank you to all the staff for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: If you prefer a shower request bathroom with one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinky_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thanks for the great review; only glad the negative reviews did not put you off visiting the hotel.

Sometimes I read reviews and wonder if the guests stayed at the same hotel they are so varied; but everyone is entitled to their own opinion.

You have summed the hotel perfectly and we hope to see you again on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    423
    376
    279
    358
See reviews for
349
781
33
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

another enjoyable weekend room fine for what we needed. only complaint dj does not know his 60 ,s music when told about it went round asking every one was it to loud with a sound meter it wasnot the sound it was the music .groups where great good weekend staff are always nice young man on reception very pleasant have not seen him before.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank june b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Sounds like the 60's went with a bang (I was on holiday). I have taken your comments on board about the D.J but nice to see your comments about the groups, food and staff.

And Matt said thanks for the mention; he really is an asset to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

A late booking are seeing how badly the Travelodge at Bangor was going to be but I think it was the right choice! The hotel has a perfect site with La Taverna Italian only a 2 minute walk away.
Arriving at the hotel at 4pm (normal check in time) we were at the back of a coach pay who had just arrived. We needn't have worried. We check in efficiently and we were in our room within minutes.
Our family room was a good size with a small window and a view of the bay. One double and one single with furniture was acceptable. The bathroom only had a shower and was a little run down. However, there were clean towels, hot water and small body washes/shampoo and soap. The room was warm enough for our liking but the television was small and was situated on the luggage box.
Breakfast time was given to us (I don't know what would have happened if we were to have wanted an earlier time?) for 9am which was fine. The dining room was large with many staff who cleaned tables efficiently. A choice of cereals, orange juice, a full buffet breakfast with toast - you couldn't complain.
All in all, the hotel caters for the masses and you get what you pay for. It is dated and in need of painting and various other things cosmetic / updating but.... Our stay was comfortable and if you were 65+ I am sure you would enjoy the evening entertainments which were not for our taste.

Room Tip: Read trip advisor for recommendations and ask for a sea view. Floor 2 was fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for the positive comments about our hotel.

The restaurant is open from 8am but we ask private individuals to come down at 9am to avoide queuing with the coach tours; guests can have breakfast at 8am, no problem as long as they don't mind a bit of queuing.

We do cater for the masses but hopefully we can offer a little bit of a personal touch to make out guests feel at home; and I agree the tv's are small but perfectly formed.

All in all we hopefully met your expectations and may see you sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed at The Grand with friends at the begining of Octer,2012. Having stayed at this hotel before I knew what to expect. We were upgraded to Premier rooms at no extra charge which was a pleasent surprise. This is not The Grand in the true sense of the word but it is a pleasant large hotel with entertainment at a reasonable price. I shall be returning which speaks for itself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamhaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review of our hotel.

We sometimes upgrade guests to Premier free of charge so you were very lucky on this occasion.

We may not be Grand in the sense of a grand building but hopefully we give the guests a Grand welcome.

We very much look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

our room on the fifth floor was not big enough to swing a budgie in it was well past its sell by date its a shame as this should be the best hotel in wales please can some one give IT some TLC. staff and breakfast ok

Room Tip: avoid the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChesterSammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for the positive comments about the staff and breakfast.

I agree some (but not all) of the rooms on the 5th floor need some TLC and assure you we are working on it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Me and my husband checked in this hotel and were given a room on the third floor. it was like stepping back into the begining of the last century! It was dull. old, spooky and had a horrible feeling to it. The furniture was old, basic and the bathroom was awful! We left the room and went to reception and said we wanted to be moved. The lady on reception, did give us another room, on the fourth floor, but this room was almost identical to the last, but a bit brighter, and we just went back to reception and asked for a refund as we were checking out. We would never go there again.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank San74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Never before have we been called spooky. And as this person never actually stayed in the hotel I feel the review is an unfair relection of the Grand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a National Holidays 5 day break at The Grand. Our room was on the 4th floor and was certainly up to standard for the price. The food was very good and due to the self service system, you didn't have to wait for waiter service and could have as much or little as you liked. We went out most evenings, but on the one night that we went to the ballroom the guitarist in the duo was wonderful, playing all genres and styles in a jazzy tone. As always we were surrounded by people who complained, but these tours are what they are and excellent value for money. The lady barstaff in the Connaught Bar were especially friendly. One tip when you are in Llandudno is a visit to The Palladium (Weatherspoon) this old theatre is a wonderful place.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank wheyheyNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for the great review; sounds like you had a great holiday which is always lovely to hear, especially about the food, entertainment and room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#50 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
0.4 mi away
The New Loretta Hotel
The New Loretta Hotel
#57 of 60 in Llandudno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel - Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel - Llandudno

Property: The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Address: North Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel - Llandudno 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Llandudno is a magnificent Victorian building and is a prominent feature to the wonderfully conserved and famous, Llandudno North Shore Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel - Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Llandudno
Grand Llandudno
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing