We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful (ish)!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Ranked #58 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed March 24, 2012

A once grand hotel now reduced, like many, to an after-life of cheap trips for the beige-at-heart. However, it's better than many of its type - the food is pleasant and the entertainment less painful than similar places elsewhere in the UK. The rooms are hugely variable - you can end up with a big room with balcony and sea view, or you can end up in a grubby cupboard overlooking a lift-shaft. Random chance! Don't be afraid to ask for something better if you are disappointed with your first allocation.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and balcony - you might be lucky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireGypsygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,476 - 1,482 of 1,828 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2012

This hotel could be fabulous, in a stunning place and an imposing building BUT sadly it's so in need of a complete refurbishment. Rooms are very small and not very clean and the whole building is in great need forf a total refurbishment, grubby and jaded. Dinner was ghastly. The so called "Carvery" proved to be dishes of indifferent meat pre-cut and re-heated with overcooked pre frozen vegetables and disgusting desserts. Any resemblance to a carvery is purely co=incidental Avoid this disaster

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are larger and nicer, side view rooms are tiny and uncomfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ronsann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Room was spot on with sea view.Noisy at evening as was on 1st.floor above entertainment.but great food,shows well put together,reasonable priced drink.and good friendly staff made a very pleasant stay.More positives compared to the Scarborough Grand and Llandudno is such a clean town to visit, a good base for exploring north wales and a good family reunion was had.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a sea view premier room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank comet73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

i also read the reviews we had booked for a 4 night stay and was worried but on arriving found the staff helpful very friendly. The room was clean and we had a lovely view . the food was excellent and plentiful we enjoyed both the breakfast and dinner with a good range of dishes to chose from. Shaun and his girls were brilliant entertainment also Doug and Steve with his magic guitar. The car parking was not a problem. I would like to mention the duty night manager was very helpful.
We found the hotel very clean cosy and quiet and would definately stay again.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view although we were in room 133 and had a lovely view of the great orme and also a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel; it is much appreciated.

I like to think my staff are always helpful and friendly. It is usually when a guest asks for something they cannot have that they report the staff as being rude or unhelpful. My staff do as instructed at all times and do not have the autonomy to make some decisions which occasionally does upset guests.

So glad you liked the food; I will pass on your kind comments to the Head Chef (who incidently got in trouble for the earlier bad review about the breakfast) so he will be pleased to see the favouable reviews about his food.

The Entertainment staff will be chuffed to bits to read your comments; they work very hard, as do Steve and Doug.

The Night Manager in question is Paul (who I am covering for as I sit here at 11pm so he can go and see Everton, and he supports Blackburn, work that one out !!)

We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Wasn't sure what to expect after reading other reviews, but were pleasantly surprised.The reception staff were very welcoming,and friendly.The room we stayed in on the 5th floor, came with a lovely sea view,which was a surprise as we hadn't booked a room with a sea view.Very clean, cosy and quiet. Breakfast was lovely and unlike the Grand at Scarborough was better organised as we were shown to our table and seated.Will use this Hotel again.
Elaine and Graham (Derbyshire)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Thank you so much Elaine and Graham for the positive comments re. the Grand in Llandudno.

So glad you had a lovely time here in Llandudno. Some fabulous views to be had from the 5th floor, overlooking Llandudno Bay and the rooms are lovely and quiet (unless you hear the seagulls squabbling).
I will pass on your kind comments to the Reception and Restaurant staff.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Before my wife and I went, I looked at some reviews and one that stood out said that the food was like school food. Well, all I can say is he must have led a very sheltered life. We were there for 4 nights and every night, the food was very good. Far better than I get on board. I am captain of a container ship. Ok, there was a bit of a problem with creaking floor boards, but she is over 110. I expect to be a bit creaky at that age. Loved the place.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Thank you so much for the lovely comments about our hotel. I am so pleased that you did not let the negative reviews stop you from visiting the hotel. I can understand varying comments about the rooms as we have 168 bedrooms of all size, shape and decor.
However, I do find it strange that the comments about our food are so diverse; what one guest loves another hates. I suppose we all have different expectations and I am only happy that we met your expectations on this occasions.
Yes the old girl creaks with age; much the same as her boss !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

As we had previously stayed at the Grand Hotel a few years ago and had had a good experience, we called on the day on the off chance that they would have a room. We paid £60 for a Saturday night. The staff were helpful and the entertainment great, but the room was awful, extremely basic, hard bed which the duvet hardly covered, everything was tacky and cheap. The worst thing was the breakfast - what seemed like watered down orange juice, salty bacon in bits, scambled egg with no taste what so ever, tasteless cheap cereal, baskets of lots of slices of toast which had gone cold and some were hard - very very disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hazel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

Thank you for the feedback of our hotel.
Unfortunately if you arrive without a prior booking on a Saturday night you will end up with what rooms are left, in this case 19 rooms out of 168 which were not situated in the best position in the hotel. This couple were allocated a courtyard view room which I admit are not the best.
I can only apologise if the breakfast was not up to standard; toast is always a problem as it is impossible to make fresh toast for 300 guests. Even when making toast at home it will go cold and soggy if not ate immediately. Believe me we have tried everything to get the toast right but to no avail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,285 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 60 in Llandudno
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#49 of 60 in Llandudno
872 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
Travelodge Llandudno Hotel
#22 of 60 in Llandudno
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel - Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel - Llandudno

Address: Happy Valley Rd, Llandudno LL30 2LR, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $45 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel - Llandudno 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Llandudno is a magnificent Victorian building and is a prominent feature to the wonderfully conserved and famous, Llandudno North Shore Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Hotel - Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Llandudno
Grand Llandudno
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing