We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location but that's all!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Ranked #58 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Stunning location but that's all!”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We had a great sea view from our room which we paid extra for but worth it but the rest of our stay was weird. We were on Dinner, Bed and Breakfast plus cabaret. We went down to dinner and were greeted by a member of staff who insisted that we had to have anti bacterial spray on our hands before we could enter the dining room (the same thing happened at breakfast - what is this all about?) The buffet food on offer was of the 1950s school dinner variety and the cabaret consisted of two singers and two dancers singing naff Christmassy songs. Not a good experience.......

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the Entertainment
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chorltongirl187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
I am least pleased to read that you had a great sea view.

What I find weird is that the booking was made for Cabaret Dinner and Breakfast and they find it weird that they had Cabaret !! Yes the entertainment was festive but they did stay over the festive period and Christmas songs are naff. I have never heard a Christmas song yet that isn't a bit naff but that's Christmas for you.

The anti bacterial gel is used as a sanitizer before entering the restaurant to prevent guests who have contracted any bugs or viruses from passing them to other guests.

I feel we are acting responsibly by looking after the interests of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    442
    400
    296
    378
See reviews for
375
824
34
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

nice hotel,excellent local on the edge of the great orme.sea views from some rooms,nice clean hotel,plenty staff on hand,nice rooms,nice ballroom,some good entertainment,a good nights sleep.had good weather for the time of year dec 2011.great offers for the new year.two bars.special offer on at the moment for weddings packages.couldnt find anything wrong with this hotel.excellent all rounde rwill stay again and would recommend to anyone..good evening meals.,breakfast good choice.eggs and sausage a bit hard but what do you expect catering for about 150 or more guests.and we did go down about 9am.lifts to all floors.tis is an old building with original features,my advise is to get the chair on the balcony and relax,take in the views they dont get any better

Room Tip: ask for SEA VIEW its worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binnybella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
What a fabulous review; You have certainly summed up the hotel in a few short sentances and we usually cater for 300+ guests at breakfast so I don't think we do too bad. I will pass your comments on to the chef about the sausages.
I think I may even take your advice and get a chair and sit on the balcony as there is not much of a view from my office !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

After reading some of the reviews about the Grand Hotel I was pleasantly surprised when I spent last weekend there. We had a lovely room with a sea view, which I hadn't paid extra for and everything in the room that we could wish for.
The food was adequate and good for the money that we paid and the entertainment as good as any other hotel that I have been to.
The staff were also very friendly and we didn't find the drinks extortionately priced like some hotels.
I must add that it's in an excellent position also.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
It is always lovely to read that we have exceeded guest expectations so if anyone is reading this review I would say 'Give us a try'
We offer great value for money which includes an Entertainment Package and if you upgrade to sea view you will wake up to a stunning vista across Llandudno Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I feel that some of the reviews are bit unfair if like us some of these people stayed on the rate we did which was £52 for 2 for 2 nights including breakfast . We have stayed in all sorts of hotel and if you are expecting 5 star facilities and service for this price they are on another planet.We could have gone room only but opted for breakfast but expected it to be no better than it was but at £3 p/p we had nothing to lose. we took into consideration how large the hotel is and at 150 odd rooms that is the potential of over 300 people wanting to eat. At this price you should realise what you are getting .Pay premium if you want more / We stayed for a 2 day break and just wanted somewhere to sleep and this hotel is ideal for that.

Room Tip: we stayed on 4th no noise far enough away from entertainment
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We do in fact have 168 bedrooms and most times we have 300+ guests eating breakfast. The hotel is not in fact star rated as it is an Entertainment Hotel Were we to aspire to being a 4* or 5* the rate would be much higher than guests are paying now.
So glad you enjoyed what we have to offer; we will hopefully see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Excellent, helpful and friendly staff added to an enjoyable overnight stay. We arrived yesterday at about 5.45pm and were met by two top class receptionists. The room was very good and the bathroom was large and (to my wife's delight) contained a bath rather than just a shower.
We went out for a meal and drinks with friends, and on our return enjoyed a couple of drinks in the bar. Again, excellent service and then had a very good night's sleep. The room had a wonderful view across the bay.
Breakfast was good and we left about 11am having paid £10 for a late check out (well worth it). Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Try lastminute.com for an even better deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidEllis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. We very much appreciate that you have taken the time to review the hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed your overnight stay here at the Grand and we look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We arrived at the Grand Hotel for a two night stay (9&10 Dec 11) on a cold Friday afternoon, but found the hotel room warm and comfortable. Although the carpet was a little worn, the curtain was slightly hanging off it's rail and there was a some mold in the sealant around the bath, the room was clean and very acceptable. After a walk around the town to get our bearings, we decided to eat in as the 3 course evening meal was being offered at £9.95. It was great value, a good choice of starters, a great main course, a choice of 3, and several puddings to choose from.Bar area was large with free coffee on offer after the meal. The breakfast in the morning again was good with a wide choice to suit every pallet. This good offer was repeated again on the Saturday evening and Sunday morning. Entertainment although not sampled was wide and varied, with staff good and engaged at answering every question. I do not understand some of the comments that some of the contributors raise, if they want 5* luxury, then they must pay for it!

Room Tip: Avoid first floor if possible, as this is above entertainment area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woofit4201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for your fab review. It sounds like you had a nice break here at the Grand, even on a cold December weekend. Your should have sampled the entertainment as it is included in the room rate and 3 course dinner @ £9.95 offers good value for money.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Just come back from a short 4 day break with National Holidays. I was looking forward to staying at the Grand, especially after reading so many great reviews. My hubbie & I weren't disappointed !
We took the advice of afew reviews & changed our first room ( which was fine ) to a sea view room. It was lovely looking at the bay all lit up at night.
Food was excellent & staff very friendly & helpful. For the price of the break, it certainly was value for money.

Room Tip: Go on the little bus trip just a short walk from The Grand. Very interesting ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l0ve2travelnewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel with such favourable comments. I am glad to hear you had a nice time; please come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#51 of 60 in Llandudno
819 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The New Loretta Hotel
The New Loretta Hotel
#55 of 60 in Llandudno
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#39 of 60 in Llandudno
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel - Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel - Llandudno

Property: The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Address: Happy Valley Rd, Llandudno LL30 2LR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel - Llandudno 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Llandudno is a magnificent Victorian building and is a prominent feature to the wonderfully conserved and famous, Llandudno North Shore Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Hotel - Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Llandudno
Grand Llandudno
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing