We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$271
$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gwesty Links(Llandudno)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Imperial Hotel(Llandudno)
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Broadway Hotel(Llandudno)(Great Value!)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Rosaire(Llandudno)(Great Value!)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Headlands Hotel(Llandudno)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Karden House Hotel(Llandudno)(Great Value!)
$64
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,998)
Filter reviews
1,999 results
Traveler rating
257
510
453
328
451
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
257
510
453
328
451
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuffet stylenational holidaysbit datedplenty of choicea sea view roomshort breakstanpiersingerprom
Filter
Updating list...
1,757 - 1,762 of 1,999 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed at The Grand for one night as a treat. We were a bit disappointed with the room, but thought that was maybe where guests with dogs were put. The view was onto the opposite corridors as we were in the centre of the building, and it was very stuffy. The staff were a great help though and came and adjusted the window to make it open wider. The room was clean, and well furnished. I was surprised to find they didn't have wireless internet connection, in the rooms, but it didn't worry us that much. The food was good, and the staff all very friendly. Shame some of the other guests weren't, one was very rude to me, about dogs being allowed in, but that's not the hotels fault!! Generally it was a pleasant stay, but a little expensive compared to where we normally stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajdtaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2011

We do take dogs occasionally but do not use specific rooms as the rooms are cleaned thouroughly after each departure.
We have wireless connection, free of charge on the ground level.
Pleased to hear the food was good and as ever my staff were friendly and efficient.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed at The Grand Hotel, Llandudno ver the August Bank Holiday. Found the hotel was very nice and the staff very friendly.The hotel itself, is very old, but it gives it character.
The buffet dinner was good with a wide choice of fish, vegetarian or cold salades as I dont eat meat. The buffet breakfast was also very good.The bedrooms could do with a makeover, but we still enjoyed our stay and its position is superb. There was fairly good entertainment, although the Scots lass could hardly be understood with her very broad Scottish accent.
The main problem was trying to find somewhere to park. We were lucky as a place was available in the main road just outside, but I know other customers had a long walk to their cars. We would certainly visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: Try and get a seaview room.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartSalford_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2011

So pleased to hear you enjoyed your weekend break and food was good, especially as you don't eat meat.
The hotel is indeed in a fabulous position which makes it so popular all year round. Parking on a Bank Holiday weekend is always a problem as the town attracts a lot of day trippers.
On a day like today (September 27th); the sun is shining and there is plenty of parking available which why it is so nice to sometimes stay out of season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

along with my daughter we arrived to a cherefull welcome having had a very nice evening meal we were treated to a buddy holly impersonator in the ballroom and then kareoke in the bar similar entertainment was laid on each night freee of charge and breckfast was excellent no complaints only our stay was too short

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Frank E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

So pleased to hear you and your daughter enjoyed your stay here at The Grand Hotel.
Make sure next time you make it a longer break as we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Basically the place is tired, dated and in need of a total refurb and I feel sorry for the staff having to deal with a consistent stream of disgruntled guests. It's rated a 3 star but it really depends which room you get as some are ok and some are like hovels and certainly not worth the money. No phones in rooms & a tiny old fashioned portable tv. Plenty of tea & coffee with kettle in all rooms.
The windows are rotten right around the place, prob can't afford to have them cleaned as the place is a fair size. Everywhere creaks and it's just generally depressing. On the plus side, the staff are friendly & helpful and the food is ok, plenty of it, £9.95 for 3 courses of what is something between what you'd get in an 'all you can eat' style buffet & a school dinner, but we've had a lot worse. Entertainment was 'interesting', caberet, bingo & karaoke and you see life in there that's for sure! If we ever went to Llandudno again we'd seek out a nice, clean B&B until Britannia upgrade there hotels to the 21st century or price accordingly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank coojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Firstly the positives: Thank you for you comments about the staff; they work hard to ensure guests have a nice break. Dinner is very good value at £9.95 for a 3 course meal.
Entertainment is subjective and not always to everyones taste; as the saying goes "you can't please all the people all the time" although we do try and I do think we do fairly well in achieving it. As you say; the people watching is as much fun in the karaoke.
The negatives: the hotel is not a 3 star; it does not have any rating as we felt there was no need as we have such a high occupancy level all the time.
To call the hotel a 'dump' is an exaggeration. The hotel may be tired in places and require some refurbishment but it is most certainly not a dump by any means. When paying for a room guests forget they are also paying for the entertainment which is a large expense over a 12 month period.
And finally, don't feel sorry for the staff. We love working here and do not have a constant stream of disgruntled guests. Quite the opposite actually; we have a lot of satisfield repeat customers. I am only sorry you were not one of them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had a Monday to Friday break at The Grand,and have been 4 times before.This time we some changes,obviously meant to cut costs.At meal times everything was self service,we even had to get our own tea and coffee.Food was OK,but could be vastly improved,the scrambled eggs at breakfast were swimming in liquid,and the fried eggs looked baked.Toast was tough and hard to cut,and the sausages were swimming in fat.
The decor looks tired and faded,and one of the few pros was the fact that the rooms were spotlessly clean,we had plenty of tea and coffee every day on the hospitality tray.We also had a jacuzzi bath that was very relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lambchopski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews