We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its a place to sleep in the right place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Ranked #58 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed August 24, 2011

If ever there was a place to stay which is right to stay in a sea side resort than this must be the place. But lets not get carried away, The hotel is lovely and its perfect in location. but it has its failings, I loved this place but the staff drawn you.Let me tell you they have no car park, so you park on the street and pay for it, If you can get a space. The reception area is lovely take time to look at the area. My room was down under the first floor over looking the pier and brillant sea views across the bay worth the stay.
Now for the bad bits, no light in the bathroom, one of my windows was screwed in. no air.
But great views and clean room.
Bar you cannot drink the beer its ugh...we left and went to the pub Queen victoria great coffee great beer lovely pub perharps the best in town the others want youngsters with loud deaf music this queen vic had great food ,beer,and comfort. My place.
I did go to the British legion whilst I was there , dont simply dont its dirty and the people in the bar are , well lets leave it at that dont visit the llandudno british legion as its not welcominging.
Breakfast was ver good in hotel.
Location is prefect
room was good
entertaiment was ok
would go back
ee

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toursmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2011

The hotel is ideal for a base for guests who want to see the town and surrounding area. Pleased to hear you were happy with your room and breakfast which are probably the two main things guests look for.
Thanks for the feedback regarding the beer; never heard it described as 'ugh' before but I will certainly investigate.
Unfortunately one of the windows in your room is screwed shut due to the fact that it has direct access to the seabed below. We are blighted by Health & Safety Law but we do have to adhere to them at all times for the safety of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,587 - 1,593 of 1,809 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2011

Stayed with our family Age range 10years to 66 yrs in 3 Prem rooms ! Brill. views over the Bay 1 room right over Karaoke so a little loud til 1.00am - Not a big issue !!!Especially if you like Karaoke !! But all the ' SUPERB ' entertainment in the Ballroom til 11.00pm was enough for us ! Mentioned this when booking for next year and the Receptionist ( Jaren ) was absolutely brilliant --- booked us 1 Prem and 2 Superior
roomsaway from the Bar area - all next to each other and all with super views over the Bay !!!!
Car parking a bit restricted but if you can't get in on St. right outside hotel -- just round corner is a large Council run park --- never been any probs. for us with 2 cars !!!!
Found this a very good - value - lovely - friendly Hotel with good food and smashing entertainment !!!!! The Shepley Family.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlossopDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2011

I am so glad the Shepley family had a great time with us in Llandudno.
As you state we offer 15% discount on future bookings which make great savings and if you also have a Grand Reward Card there are further benefits.
We will see you in 2012 for more of the same hopefully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Mum and dad wanted a few days away and I thought I would book the Grand Hotel for them, their initial view was that the room was lovely, as I had booked a premier room for them, the evening meal was enjoyed by both of them. However, when they came down for breakfast, the breakfast was stone cold - on the last day they were even there for 8am when the restaurant opened thinking the food would be hot, they couldnt wait to come home as they both felt unwell from the breakfast not being hot.

Room Tip: Book a premier room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2011

I am so sorry the breakfast was cold. We normally have comments saying the breakfast is too hot in Premier as the hot plates are on and we have heat lamps from above as well so I can only apologise that on this occasion this was not the case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Visited for 5 days with Harry Shaw Coaches, coach driver was first class and looked after everyone very well, and drove very safely. The hotel is in a very nice position with good views over the Orme and the sea, easy walk into town and tramway, tours, etc (inc pier) very close by. We paid extra for the Premier room ,this was good money well spent, nice room with great sea views and a balcony. Meals were taken in a small dinning room overlooking the sea, very good service, reasonable selection and nicely cooked. Breakfast and Dinner buffet style with serve yourself as much or little as you needed.Drinks in the bar were very reasonable, (Ansells Bitter £1.50 a pint).Plus an happy hour with selected drinks at reduced prices. The staff at this hotel are happy and friendly AND very helpful. Down sides?? No car park, pay for on street and at peak periods could be a problem. Hotel rooms are nice but could benefit from a little bit of TLC . But good value and a very enjoyable stay, so a big thank you to all of the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmigoWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2011

So happy to hear you had a great holiday. I am especially pleased to see you think the staff are friendly as we do try to make sure our guests have a good time.
Positive feedback for the staff is always welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed at the Grand Hotel on 15th August for one night and booked using Booking.com. The room rate had been reduced considerably to £85 and cancellation was free if cancelled by 2pm on the day of arrival. When we arrived we expected to have a standard room because of the reduced price, and would have been quite happy with that,but instead we were given a lovely room ( family) which overlooked the pier, sea and the sweeping promenade. The room ( No. 99) was large with a double and single bed, very nicely decorated, extremely clean and had a very modern bathroom with a Jacuzzi bath. There is entertainment in the evening and bars to have a drink. Breakfast in the morning was very nice and was buffet style so you could have as much or as little as you liked. All of the staff which we saw were friendly and efficient. The Grand has a lovely location and is well worth a visit if you are thinking of going to Llandudno.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Junctionmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We do sometimes offer complimentary upgrades if available so I am pleased you were happy with the room offered on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Room over the pier, but no noise nuisance, very clean, great breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dodger_taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

So glad you had a fab time and you loved the room. The rooms overlooking the Pier are lovely rooms and have a great view of Llandudno Bay and are definitely worth paying the extra supplement for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Excellent buffet food hall with good selection, rooms clean with en suite bathroom
Service very good but no car park although parking nearby.
50 yards from pier and very close to town centre

Room Tip: sea view rooms are the best as the back rooms look onto a cliff face
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mississippi1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

We are indeed a lovely Victorian Hotel and thank you for your great review; it is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,272 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Llandudno
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chatsworth House Hotel
Chatsworth House Hotel
#50 of 60 in Llandudno
858 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#39 of 60 in Llandudno
473 reviews
0.4 mi away
The New Loretta Hotel
The New Loretta Hotel
#54 of 60 in Llandudno
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel - Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel - Llandudno

Address: Happy Valley Rd, Llandudno LL30 2LR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $48 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel - Llandudno 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Llandudno is a magnificent Victorian building and is a prominent feature to the wonderfully conserved and famous, Llandudno North Shore Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel - Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Llandudno
Grand Llandudno
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing