We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“A nice stay in a cosy cottage”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
25 reviews | other travelers have booked this property
Cottage 3 Bedrooms 1 Bathroom Sleeps 6 Pets allowed Save
The patio / Barbeque area
The patio / Barbeque area
1 Shimdda Hir Cottage
The Kitchen
The Kitchen
Kitchen
Breakfast Room
Breakfast Room
Breakfast Room
The Louge
The Lounge
Double Bedroom
Bank leading to front garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Reviews from our community

Reviews from our community

4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
claude d
Etampes, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
A nice stay in a cosy cottage
1
person found this review helpful

We've had a very nice stay in this cottage. The location allows an easy access to Llandudno though a car is necessary. It's a very quiet place away from the main road. We really liked the genuine style of the house which is spacious enough for a family. We really appreciated the wifi nevertheless the kitchen utensils are a bit short for a family, a big size saucepan and frying pan would be helpful.
We would highly recommend this place to friends or relatives.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 2 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
2 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The genuine style of the cottage
Liked least: The bedding
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2012
Thankyou for your kind review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your holiday at the cottage and hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Tracy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mind Y
SomewhereInIreland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
Charming, homely cottage
1
person found this review helpful

This really pretty cottage hid a lot of mod cons that made it the best of both worlds. Jacuzzi bath, wifi, and digital TV shared space with slate floors, exposed beams and an Aga. I have never before stayed in a house with such a well-supplied kitchen. A couple of times, I bet myself something wouldn't be there, only to find it in a drawer.

The rooms were a good size, both in shared areas and bedrooms. The bathroom and master bedroom appear to have been recently refurbished. There is, however, only one bathroom.

The garden was welcome for the kids to run around and we used the picnic bench and trampoline on a couple of evenings.

The location felt private and isolated but was easy to find and close to Llandudno. It's half way up a hill, though, and about 40 minutes walk to the pier, so you might want to bring the car.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments on trip advisor. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you in Llandudno again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarec965
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
Comfortable cottage in secluded but convenient setting

Just returned from a week at Shimdda Hir with our daughter, her partner and 21 month old child. It's a lovely cottage just over a mile from Llandudno, which is a great seaside town with something for everyone, whatever their age. We loved it so much we are already planning a long weekend over the summer.

The cottage is down a lane with only 2 other houses: Shimdda Hir 2 and it's owner's house. It's lovely and quiet, with a good garden, though we needed to watch the little one, and looks directly onto the Little Orme. We also loved the Aga, which kept the house nice and warm (shame we needed that in June!) and the open fire. Tracy lives nearby and quickly replaced the router when a flash storm blew the fuse.

The kitchen was the best equipped of any holiday rental I've known, with good quality pans and all the tools you need.

If you're visiting, we strongly recommend the Bodofan Farm which is a short walk away, on the way to town. Free entry, open till 6pm, lots of friendly farm animals including llamas and lots of owls. The third time we visited, they had two of the owls out on leashes so my granddaughter stroked them. They do pony and tractor rides too.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Comfortable and relaxing
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2012
Thankyou for your kind review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay at the cottage, and hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes
Tracy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppersto...
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
Beautiful stay at the Shimdda Cottage

Myself and partner visited Llandudno with family for a long weekend break.

The location of the property is a beautiful drive in just a short distance from the main strip into Llandudno situated in its own private land.

The cottage is very traditional with warmly home comforts and bursting with bags of character. The kitchen contains an Agga which we found great fun to use and away from the more modern oven/hob. Plenty of garden areas to relax or have fun in.

Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a country retreat in a traditional style cottage.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the cottage, and we look forward to seeing you in Llandudno again. Kindest Regards Tracy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$134
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.