We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dusty & musty”
Review of The Lighthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lighthouse
Ranked #67 of 146 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed in the Telegraph Room which was in need of a deep clean, very dusty and in need of an update. The owners make a great effort to deal with an obvious damp problem and closing the shutters makes a big difference to the overall temperature . Breakfast was ok but overall it is overpriced and needs updating, faded fabrics need replacing . Fantastic setting and lots of history .

Room Tip: No access to your room until 5 which is a lot of money for a few hours. Condensation stopped us gett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CheshireRealist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 133 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

Let me start by commenting on some of the previous critisism's. This is a lighthouse litteraly on the edge of a cliff that was built in 1862! To renovate to some of the demanding standards expected here would be to destroy the history and character of this lovely old lighthouse. When you stay in a place like this you must expect certain things. It's going to be cold, its going to be a little old looking.

We have previously stayed in Balfour Castle on Shapinsay Island in the Orkney's so we knew what to expect from both the weather and the type of building.

We arrived early evening and it was quite dark. We received a very warm welcome from Fiona and were given a little tour and explanation of the facilities. We were shown to our room and given some recommendations for places to eat as they do not provide evening meals here.

We were offered use of the guest fridge in the kitchen and were told we could use the tea and coffee facilities at any time we wanted.

Our room was the Telegraph Room. It's like a little museum. Theres a little sitting room with a few small rocking chairs and a TV. There's a fire in there and the room does get quite warm and cosy.

The bedroom we found was a little cold mostly caused by the winds outside. There's a draft at the window and from the fireplace. But there are shutters that we closed and this brought the temperature of the room back up to a comfortable level.

We slept well despite the high winds and went down to a lovely breakfast cooked by Fiona the next morning. We were greeted by Ray and given another tour and explanation of the building and a brief history. We were shown around the grounds and Ray even let my wife use his big warm coat as it was very windy outside.

We were treated to some excellent piano playing by their son Jordan who is very talented and it was a delight to listen to. He will be a star one day!

We both felt nothing was too much trouble for Fiona and Ray and felt very welcome in what is essentially their family home.

This is a unique place to stay, and what comes with that are certain aspects of the property that need to be expected.

All in all this magical place left a lasting impression and we will definitely be going back.

Pack some warm clothes and enjoy staying in this historic lighthouse. £80 is very reasonable considering the experience you get in return.

Thank you so much Ray, Fiona, and Jordan.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank yoda_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Have to agree with the remarks made in "Disappointing-so much Potential." We stayed in the Telegraph Room for a week-end in early October and are disappointed to read that it has not improved. Yes, the building is stunning, and our hosts were very welcoming and helpful, but for £8O each per night we were expecting a top quality room The condensation on the windows was a problem along with a musty smell in the room and quite frankly the whole room could have done with dusting.The dressing gowns provided looked old and worn. Peeling paint and a sad old basket of brown dried flowers also let the place down. The Lighthouse is charming, with amazing views, but it is looking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Davies1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Having read all these reviews prior to booking & dismissing the couple of negative reviews as people with unrealistic expectations, I am slightly hesitant at writing a negative review myself.

We stayed in the Lamp Room at £80 pppn.
Firstly let me start with the positives;
-the location is beautiful
-the building is stunning
-the hosts are welcoming and helpful
-the décor throughout is generally very well done, tasteful & in keeping with the style of the building
-breakfast is good – filling & tasty

However...
The main feature of the Lamp Room is the living room area with the large glass windows. Unfortunately it was freezing cold when we arrived at 3pm and even with 2 radiators (which we asked to be turned up, but remained lukewarm all day) and 3 (fairly useless) portable heaters, the room was still cold at 11pm.
There was a constant draft & water dripping from the condensation which forms immediately after you wipe the windows. The room was basically uncomfortably cold to sit in and the view completely lost due to the condensation. Wallpaper is coming away from the walls due to the damp and a cold leather sofa doesn't make it any cosier. I don't know what the solution is to this cold/damp problem, but charging £80pppn seems expensive to sit in the cold. At least a few nice blankets would have helped matters.

In addition to this, the bed was very, very soft and the bathroom rather outdated and not fitting in with the decor everywhere else and terrible water pressure in the shower. The towels and bathrobes provided felt rather old and worn too.

Overall I had really been looking forward to the stay, but left disappointed. The location, hosts and building are all impressive, but a shame that more care and attention to detail isn't made to the actual overall experience. I realise a stay in the summertime would feel totally different, but for a room on the coast of Wales, it really needs to accommodate for the colder months of which there are plenty!

I write this only as constructive criticism for the owners and hope they can make a few changes to make it the really great place it deserves to be.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

If you're looking for a characterless, bland, vapid place with no soul then this is most definately NOT the place for you. If, however, you want to stay in a wonderful, atmospheric bolt hole with the most incredible views, warm and welcoming atmosphere and the friendliest hosts then you will absolutely love it here.
We arrived later than intended due to the M56 being closed so we rang ahead to warn Ray and Fiona we would be late and were assured it was no problem. They were waiting to greet us when we arrived and I have never received a warmer welcome on a first time visit, they couldn't have been nicer. Fiona made us a pot of tea and a plate of biscuits while Ray showed us round. We were absolutely thrilled with the Lighthouse, it's just crammed full of personality and soul, and the way it has been furnished just enhances this.
We stayed in the Telegraph Room, and it was just beautiful with its incredible views and original features. We loved how the furniture has been carefully chosen to fit in with the age and style of the room, it most certainly isn't dated unless you're the sort of person who would put Ikea in an old building.........Fiona's finishing touches were lovely, the crystal glasses, nice toiletries etc all were very well thought out.
The crowning glory of this room is the original iron ladder that leads you up onto the roof. Ray showed us how to use this safely and then we were allowed to use it as we wished. We took a glass of wine up later on to drink whilst we watched the stars which was lovely until the sea mist rolled in and it became a bit spooky, haha. The views from here are just stunning, and being 2 and a half miles out to sea you can see such a long way round the coastline. Watch out for the wildlife too, we were lucky enough to see the resident peregrine falcon thanks to Ray pointing it out to us, a seal in the bay, as well as the mountain goats wandering about on the Orme.
Although there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room this really wasn't a problem as you were free to go into the kitchen and help yourself to whatever you wanted. Breakfast was amazing, so much choice and variety all cooked perfectly. It was all very sociable too as there was only the one dining table which encouraged the guests to chat, we met some very nice people whilst we were there.
I really cannot speak highly enough of this place, it is just magical. It's impossible to put into words how you feel when you stand leaning on the stone wall, staring out to sea, listening to the gulls cry, but that feeling is priceless! We would return in an instant, and we're recommending it to our family and friends without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ladymariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed here to celibrate my 70th birthday and so glad we did.
As you drive up the Great Orme your first veiw makes the hairs on the back of your head stand up, it is magical.

Fiona & Ray could not have been better hosts, after a tour of the Lighthouse & grounds we were shown to our room, we stayed it the Principal Keepers room,a lovely 4 poster bed, separate lounge & bathroom with views out to sea.

The breakfast was enormous with as much tea, coffee & toast as you wanted, no need to eat for the rest of the day.

Tea & Coffee were available in the kitchen any time you wanted them day or night.

Fiona can book tables for you & order taxi's to collect & bring you back after a meal out, they will also offer advice on where to eat out.

If you are into wildlife there is lots to see by just looking over the wall, we saw Seals, Dolphins, Peregrine Falcons, Guillemot & Puffins & lots more.

If you are looking for somewhere to celibrate that special occasion then this is the place to head for but book very up early or you will miss out, we booked up 4 months in advance & there was only one room available.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terryhicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

What a lovely place to stay. We stayed two nights but wanted to stay longer. The host Fiona and Ray were friendly, entertaining and full of knowledge! Ray even told us what time the sun would set. The views were fab as was the breakfast and hospitality.
Stay here if you can you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Lamp room or Telegraph room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
2.4 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
397 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,292 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,453 reviews
2.2 mi away
LLandudno Hostel
LLandudno Hostel
#2 of 8 in Llandudno
221 reviews
1.8 mi away
Whitefriars Bed & Breakfast
Whitefriars Bed & Breakfast
#86 of 146 in Llandudno
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse

Address: Marine Drive | Great Ormes Head, Llandudno LL30 2XD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Lighthouse Hotel Llandudno
The Lighthouse Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing