We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mark and Jo Burrows”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kinmel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kinmel Hotel
Ranked #56 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mark and Jo Burrows”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Excellent hotel and staff had a great weekend break, Breakfast and room with sea view fantastic, Sara was very welcoming and helpful and good company plus covered more than we expected GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY see you next year.

Room Tip: Sea View excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    62
    50
    37
    36
See reviews for
62
129
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Have just returned from a weekend break. Central heating in room not working (3rd Floor room) two electric heaters instead! No cold water on second and third day so no shower! Holes in bedroom walls, electric extension cables across the floors. Window so drafty had to block with our bathroom towels. No bath mat.

Fiasco at breakfast on Sunday - ran out of food on buffet. Invisible staff and complaints ignored.

The only enjoyable part of our stay was the food which was well cooked and tasty.

With such a vast choice of hotels in Llandudno - please think carefully before booking the Kinmel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DiningDivaHalesowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Despite a great location on the seafront at Llandudno, the hotel was disappointing. we were given a room which appeared to be part of the fire escape route and when the lights went off the room was bathed in a green glow from the emergency lighting which was bright enough to read by. Several rounds of complaints later we were at last transferred to another room at 11.40pm. The hotel generally looked tired and in need of some TLC. Breakfast was acceptable but the food in the evening was a little reminiscent of school dinners

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our 8th visit to the hotel Kinmel, and again we were not disappointed. We had the same room as previous visits, seaview, bay window, two reclining chairs. Perfect for relaxing and just admiring the view. The owner and her husband always make us feel welcome, and this welcome extends to ALL their guests. Food is of a very high standard and alway well cooked and presented. We were attending the theatre on Sunday and dinner for the other 46 guests was scheduled for 7pm. This being too late for us, our's was served at 6pm. No trouble at all.
All in all a pleasure to stay at this hotel ( more like home than a hotel ). We will be back next year as we know what we like, and that's the KINMEL HOTEL.
Thanks to Sara, Neville and all the staff.

Room Tip: Go for a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swiba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Was very surprised to read comments left by others, as they seemed quite positive. We were very disappointed. Our room was fine, apart from the fact that the TV on the wall was practically behind the bed. There were two chairs, but only one person sitting there was able to see the TV, the other having their back to it, and there was not enough room to turn the chairs around. Watching the TV in bed, completely out of the question. Spotted places with things left piled up, and if reception is so grubby, I would have expected the door to be kept shut. We were on the first floor where a spindle in the bannister rail was missing, a small child could very easily have fallen through. The breakfast was very sadly lacking - no fried eggs only scrambled (ugh1!) & tasteless sausages. Toast was either so lightly done they could have offered just bread, or as the couple on the next table had, burnt to a cinder. Every morning we were there, there was also a queue outside the dining room as they didn't appear to be ready for us & the door remained locked. There seemed to be a problem with reception too. On our arrival there was a very helpful & friendly young lady, but we soon discovered this to be very hit & miss. If the young man was on duty, he was either missing or sat outside chatting with other young men. Heavens above if you wanted a drink from the bar, he could be outside chatting or speaking to another visitor at the reception, we always felt we had to wait our turn. I also think that the bar/lounge area far too small to have a singer, it was very over powering, and the last thing you want when you want a quiet drink before bed, is to have the said singer shouting across the room to you personally & expecting a reply! Not very happy!
Not the relaxing & quiet few days break we were looking for

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just wanted to take this oppotunity to thank all the staff and the warm and friendly family that run the "kinmel" for a truely wonderful and memorable weekend. The Kinmel represents value for money, combined with a high quality service. The breakfast is simply magnificent, with a wide variety on offer to suit all tastes. The room dlivered on every level.

The shower in the room could have had a bit more oooomf!!!!!! but the water was warm and it did the job so not really something
to detract from an otherwise fantastic stay at The "KINMEL"
Finally, a big, heart fealt thankyou to Sara. Most definately the hostess with the mostest.

See you all again very soon.

Mike and Diane

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Well what can i say only that we been come for 8yrs ,we fine them helpful and Friendly place and feel like part of the family if there something we need they will alway help you we have sea view and come back to same room every year can't wait for next year keep up the good work lv you lots marilyn and Alan xxx and hugs.

Room Tip: Just ask .we have sea view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
10.9 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#21 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 59 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#33 of 59 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#10 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinmel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinmel Hotel

Property: Kinmel Hotel
Address: 11-12 Mostyn Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kinmel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kinmel Hotel is a family run, 28 En suite room hotel, with a lift to all floors, a fully licensed bar, a menu of freshly cooked food, and friendly well trained staff. The hotel centrally situated, only two minutes walk from the theatre and conference centre at Venue Cymru. The hotel enjoys the panoramic views of the beautiful coastline of North Wales. This seafront hotel is based on Llandudno's Promenade, between the Great and Little Ormes, and is ideally situated for your visit to Llandudno - The Queen of Welsh Resorts. Occupying a prime position on the promenade, the Kinmel Hotel is simply a stone throw away from the numerous shopping facilities and attractions within Llandudno and North Wales. The Kinmel hotel benefits from a car park, exclusive for our guests, located to the rear of the property, and cctv in the public areas to ensure our guests safety and security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kinmel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinmel Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing