We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food to die for, great atmosphere and service”
Review of Candles

Candles
Ranked #25 of 209 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food to die for, great atmosphere and service”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

For a meal out of this world go to Candles in Llandudno. It is a small run restaurant, with set menus as well as a la carte. The food is divine, plenty of it, and excellently presented. The staff
give you time between the courses, and they are welcoming. There isn't a massive range on the
menu, but what there is is beautiful. The meals are always piping hot. We always go for one of the set menus, can't beat it for value. I nearly always have the chicken in sauce, and the fruit starter tastes wonderful, I often wish I could have it for sweet as well. You get an ample helping of vegatables with your meal, all in all you get more than your moneys worth

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pauline w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    53
    17
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Good food fair price”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Staff are excellent food was of a high stander d and the portions where more than ample, probably a bit to generous.we would highly recommend CANDLES to all.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJB4034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We booked a trip to Llandudno for our 5th Wedding Anniversary, and decided to have a scout around the area for a nice place to go for our anniversary meal, our guesthouse was only 5 minutes walk from candles so we thought it would be ideal, we phoned on Friday night to book for Saturday night and lucky for us we did as they just managed to squeeze us in as they had a couple of big bookings for that night, we had to go early but did not mind as the place was lovely, really nice romantic atmosphere, and the food was delicious and reasonable too, £17.95 for a 3 course meal and there was a lot of choice (believe me I am a very fussy eater), and there was so much of the food, we had two side dishes with the meal (I had chips and rice, hubby had salad and rice) neither of us could finish eating!!

So two words of advice if you want to visit this lovely restaurant, make sure you book, and don't eat too much for lunch!!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sianarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth Shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“"Even Better Than Before"”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

First time we have been back here for five years, YES it’s every bit as good as it used to be (if not better) I have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant, the owners are present preparing food, with a passion and the dedication to produce top quality meals.
Great food and a really nice relaxed atmosphere, with friendly staff who do their best to ensure you have a pleasant dining experience. Well done Candles.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steamtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“jones family”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

The food was not so great to be honest although the child labour was amusing and waiters were on the ball to a degree even if they looked about 12...

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nell63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Candles also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Candles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing