We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”
Review of Cafe Culture

Cafe Culture
Ranked #145 of 209 Restaurants in Llandudno
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
wales
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I don't very often write reviews but on this occasion I was so disappointed with the service/food I felt I should forewarn others.

We took our fifteen month old son here and had already settled before looking at the prices. If we had seen them before hand we wouldn't have bothered staying. £4.95 for a children's beans on toast....... They don't have high chairs either so gave us a bumper seat for the chair which was filthy!

We ordered two paninis and they took half an hour to arrive and were cold as well as stale.....

As others have pointed put £1.50 for tap water and if you have ay complaints the menu says you have to write to management for a refund, they obviously know their food is over priced and below average. I agree they make you pay before your meal as there is no way I would have paid for what we received.


I would say AVOID AT ALL COSTS......

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leajon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    48
    38
    35
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fancy a Snack”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just the place if you fancy a drink and a Pasty or a tempting cake. Clean and seating outside if you fancy.
Toilets are upstairs though if you need them.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst eating experience in a long time”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My partner and I had to go to Llandudno for an errand, and having never been there before, we took a chance on this establishment to have lunch. From the outside, it looks pleasant, with a nice outdoor seating area. Once inside, we noticed the prices were quite high, but we were hungry and tired at that stage. We should have walked away when we saw that they charge £1.50 for a glass of tap water!!

I chose the cod in a "homemade batter", while my partner went for scampi and chips. Both were priced at £8.95. You must go to the counter to order, which gives the feel of a cafeteria. Adding to this, seasonings and condiments were only available in sachet form at the far side of the establishment. I wanted a diet coke but no diet drinks were available. And at £1.50 for tap water, I chose to go thirsty. When the food arrived, we were not pleased. My cod was so overcooked that there was no taste other than oil, and the batter was a chestnut brown colour. It splintered as you attempted to saw through it. The "mushy peas" were tasteless and bland, as were the chips. My partner's scampi was the most laughable part. £8.95 for 6 pieces of frozen, shop-bought scampi. We both struggled through half of our meals before eventually giving up and walking out.

You pay in advance for food, which they surely do to stop people refusing to pay for such awful quality food after they've gotten it. In retrospect, we should have demanded our money back, but we were too anxious to get out of there and never look back to think of that.

Don't put yourself through the misery of eating there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quite alright”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This place has got what I need: good coffee and opening hours that suit me. It's clean, service I can not fault. Staff is polite I and never had problems with anything. Okay, it's not the cheapest place but Llandudno is a tourists paradise. Everybody wants to earn. I would suggest to put the prices somewhere for the public view but that's my only issue. I go there few times a month and never had bad experiences.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jooeeyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Expensive and charge for tap water”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We went here and the cafe looks nice and pleasant so even though the prices were quite expensive we thought it would be nice to stay. Having queued up for food and ordered lunch for 4 which cost £27 we were told there was a service charge of £1.50 for tap water. The water was only for a 3 and a 5 year old and I think it is disgusting that they won't give this out for free when you are buying food. Added to this they don't take cards and tell you to go across the roaD to the cash point. With the prices they cahrge they should take cards or have very clear notices saying so.
Overpriced and a short sighted management. If they had just given a glass of tap water I never would have thought to write on here but I think people should be warned.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeswes19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Culture also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Cafe Culture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing