We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but lacking”
Review of Four Oaks Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Four Oaks Hotel
Ranked #74 of 144 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Clean, but lacking”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a clean hotel with good family style food service and a friendly staff. But if you desire a phone in your room, bring a cell as there is no landline. If you'd like to watch TV on the 15in screen, bring 10 pounds to the desk as a deposit for a remote. If you like occasional hot water to wash your hands, you've found the right spot. Shower? Forgetaboutit. Want to see an aluminum pie plate above you as part of the electrical fixture in the ceiling in the bathroom, you've come to the right spot. On windy days and nights you get a free breeze through the unlocked, rattling wood windows.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank max508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    56
    29
    10
    9
See reviews for
33
51
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The position of the hotel is excellent and accessiblility very good, no steps to entrance, which makes a nice change for any hotel. Facilities average, our bedroom was sea view and very dated although it had been freshly decorated, bathroom awful, hot tap didn't work all the time and no shower, which was a shame. The worst thing about our stay was the food which was of very poor quality. I would rather have had less and better quality. Some meals were barely warm when they reached our table and the bacon at breakfast was only just cooked and cheapest cut possible. As one previous reviewer stated, all the veg except potatoes were frozen and the potatoes were the same every night, no variation. Staff were excellent and very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unlucky_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was our second visit, the hotel sits in an excellent position on the promenade,close to all amenities. The bedrooms were clean and a good size,the only downside was that there was no hair drier in the room although one was available from reception. The food and service in the dining room were both excellent. The layout of the entertainment area was rather cramped and didn't allow free movement to and from the bar, although the bar prices were good especially the 2for1 offers at selected times. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyke92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagillt
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The four of us had a great weekend.From the moment we walked in it felt like home from home.Very clean,good food, entertainment very good (better on the Friday evening) All the staff brilliant,always smiling.Our luggage taken care of completely. Only one small downside,bedrooms/bathrooms a little dated,but again clean. Looking forward to another visit soon

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wenna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We ave stayed a few times manger an staff are great we would recommend to anybody its a great place to stay food is lovely breakfast is great but not the same with out our friend billy the waiter serve in us at breakfast he was high light of our day is cheeky smile an ours friendly nice person to speak to he's become a great friend of ours now an speak to him most days out a work but you a get to meet him now on eve at meal time always brings a smile to peoples face we goin for a week soon in august we can't wait

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minty1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

A cheap and cheerful hotel.Great staff,good food.Good views from the front facing rooms.we stayed here this weekend,with Welshes coaches from West Yorkshire.First time we have stayed here.Most hotels in the area needs a little updating,and this hotel needs a little TLC.But overall,good value and great service from Ervine and Ilona in the dining room.The manageress,very kind and helpfull. Central location straight across the road from the prom.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeffBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Went recently for a short break as part of Nova Tours who I believe own this "Hotel"! The basic package was OK - just all food very very basic practically everything frozen or package but we did not pay much! They have a person called a chef I saw the logo on his clothes but apart from a few eggs and grossly undercooked bacon, not certain if he is actually allowed to cook anything.
The Manager and his wife like notices everywhere saying what you cannot do and if you do any of them he appears from his office and shouts at you!
The lady running the dining room reminded me of a prison warder her attitude matched it! Again do not ask for attention - you will hear the words "go and see what that women wants" You will be at the door by the prescribed time - do not be late to be seated at a table so small they cannot get everything on! Other bigger tables may be free but you cannot use them!
whatever you do, do not try to ask a question at reception at the wrong time. The lady wife wearing her slippers will sit at her desk and yell the answer - come back later!
In fairness Eugene the bar manager was alway polite and helpful as were the more junior staff - when allowed!
The bedrooms were spotlessly clean and extremely warm although somewhat like a prison cell in a stark white colour. There was one wall pained in colour but if sitting on the bed could not see it. Not a picture, even from a charity shop in sight!
would I return - no not while the present manager and his wife were in charge or unless they had been on a course about its customers ie guests who pay their salary!
Finally if you want to leave a tip i suggest you give it the the person you want it to go to not in the large box that appears on the reception desk prior to departure!

Room Tip: don't bother! Apparently a disabled customer booked a ground floor one, paid extra but was not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JanetG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,362 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#40 of 60 in Llandudno
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Oaks Hotel

Property: Four Oaks Hotel
Address: 1-4 Penrhyn Crescent, Llandudno LL30 1AY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
4 Oaks Hotel
Four Oaks Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing