We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent as usual”
Review of Bryn Derwen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bryn Derwen
Ranked #44 of 146 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Third stay this year and as good as ever. Lovely quiet location half way beween the North and West shores and just 3 minutes walk from the town centre. Rooms spotless, breakfasts very good but what sets this B+B apart fromothers is Debie and Steve. They are excellent hosts and can't do enough for you. We'll be back again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twiggyrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 165 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2010

We found Steve and Debbie to be a very welcoming and sociable couple who did their best to make our stay as near perfect as possible. The room was very comfy, well appoointed and the breakfasts splendid. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt very well looked after throughout the weekend. We'd definitely recommend the place to anyone looking for a nice weekend on the North Wales coast. Five star guest house in our view.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkipperStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

We telephoned on the last minute Friday looking for a two night stay. Steve was very pleasant and said he only had two seperate rooms for each night if we didn't mind moving. We said we didn't (they moved our stuff for us.) The guesthouse is more like a hotel with a bar and very nice reception rooms and dining room. The furnishings were all very good quality and, more importantly to me, the whole place was immaculately clean. Not a speck of dirt or dust anywhere. The rooms were well appointed with kettle, drinks etc. also bottled water and chocolates. (Very nice touch for me.) The breakfast was very good with juices, freshly brewed coffee and tea, fruits, and a choice of cooked breakfasts and toast etc. The breakfast was well cooked and plentiful and of good quality. Steve and Debbie run a very pleasant establishment. They are friendly and really can't do enough for their guests. The rates are extremely reasonable in my opinion. I look forward to returning and would not hesitate to recommend Bryn Derwen.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

When we arrived we were warmly greeted by Debbie, who showed us to our room. The room was very spacious, with a beautiful bay window, the decor and drapes are of the highest quality (also throughout the house). Not only were there the usual complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits, but homemade chocolates, and bottle water by the bed. Breakfast was first class, in a bright, airy dining room, which offered a good selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, full english to kippers. Steve and Debbie have really put in a lot of thought, time and effort into what guests require. The location of the Guest House is perfect, in a quiet location, has off road parking, close to the pier, beach, Great Orme and town centre. It was definitely the best B & B accommodation we have stayed in. Would have no hesitation in recommending this wonderful Guest House, and would definitely book again. Bryn & Fran

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BIFET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We have just returned from a weekend break staying at Bryn Derwen Guest House.
Our hosts looked after us so well,making us so welcome as soon as we arrived.
Everything was perfect,our room which was spotless and breakfast was excellant.
We will definately stay here again...

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

When we arrived, we were helped with our luggage and shown to our room ( first time for a long time).The room was clean, bright and very pleasant with a complete beverage tray and chocolates supplied as part of the room service ie. refreshed daily.
Excellant food with a good varying menu.
Hospitality was great, we were made to feel really welcome.
However, we do feel that the relaxed atmosphere of the hotel, and the quiet surroundings are less likely to appeal to the 18 - 30 group.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete44Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

This B&B has to be one of the best that I have ever stayed in. Steve and Debbie are incredible hosts and looked after our every needs. The days started with lovely home cooked breakfasts and they even put music by our favourite singer on for us on our last day!

The rooms are very nice and you get complimentary choccies (which are delicious) and bottles of water every day. The room we stayed in was excellent, with a separate lounge area and TV with freeview available. There was also a guide to good restaurants, etc in the area and a mini guide to beginners Welsh. Steve and Debbie were even kind enough to help with me with my desire to learn Welsh.

The hotel is located very near to the sea and within easy walking distance of all amenities. This made it very easy for nice days out, such as walks to the Great Orme, etc. We would often get the opportunity to discuss this with Steve on our return to the hotel.

It really was like a home from home! I will definitely be recommending it to people and plan to return. I also liked the beauty salon next door, which enabled me to have some nice relaxation time as well.

All in all, this is an excellent place to stay and helped me to fall in love with Llandudno!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen_Dave235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,317 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,478 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#5 of 60 in Llandudno
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 60 in Llandudno
507 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#32 of 60 in Llandudno
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Derwen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Derwen

Address: 34 Abbey Road | Llandudno Conwy, Llandudno LL30 2EE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range: $98 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bryn Derwen 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a holiday home for a wealthy Victorian family in 1878 and sympathetically converted to retain all of the original character, every detail of the Bryn Derwen has been created to offer a relaxed and intimate atmosphere.An ornate pitch pine staircase leads to nine individually designed, spacious en suite bedrooms with all the facilities you would expect from a 5 Star Bed & Breakfast.You will find us on Abbey Road a quiet leafy tree lined avenue ideally situated on level ground at the foot of the Great Orme."Steve and Debbie have a well earned reputation for offering a friendly first class service with excellent standards of hospitality and pristine housekeeping which is why so many of their guests return year after year." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bryn Derwen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Derwen Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing