We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High class seaside stay”
Review of St. George's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
St. George's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“High class seaside stay”
Reviewed February 21, 2010

We have just stayed for one night in an executive room (described as premier king on the booking website), which had modern peaceful decor and was very spacious. The bed was huge and very comfortable. I was told the hotel has just this year swapped to duvets and ours felt like it was a feather one. The communal areas are all decorated to a high standard too.

Internet access in the rooms is via a cable rather than being wireless. It worked well and was free, which is pretty rare for a 4 star in the UK! If you forget to bring your own cable, you can buy one for 3 pounds - hardly extortionate.

The staff was really welcoming. The breakfast crew and James the concierge stood out as extra friendly and helpful.

We only tried the breakfast and that was served in a lovely room and was very tasty. We had a typically pricey 4 star drink in the bar after having dinner in a local restaurant but the view you get over the bay is really something.

The only thing that could of been better was the noise in the room. When we went back up we played 'guess the tune' from the baseline from the party in the function room below (we were in 105) and we could recognise every one easily. That said, it wasn't too antisocial, finishing at midnight.

This was a trip to scout out a suitable hotel for a trip this summer with my elderly and arthritic mother-in-law and we'll be booking soon. We'll just make sure to book a seaview to make sure we're away from the function room. Then it should be the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, management at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2010
Thank you for reviewing and your kind words are really appreciated, we shall look forward to welcoming you and your mother-in-law back in the summer.
Please look on our website for best rates but also for our room selector regarding choice and type of rooms. Any further help then please call Fiona our Reservation manager who will be more than happy to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    359
    112
    41
    31
See reviews for
282
641
39
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

The location of this hotel could not be better, we booked an 'arrive and revive' package via the internet and were very pleased when we saw our room, which whilst not on the sea front, had a view of the sea and the pier. The rooms were very clean and we were booked in for our evening meal on the Terrace, we were fortunate to get a parking spot at the back of the hotel.

Whilst the hotel is impressive, it is the staff that mark St Georges out, every single member of staff that we encountered during our stay was happy to help, and did so with a smile on their faces. We were amazed to see that this was the case during checkout when impatient guests were testing their patience over a parking issue. The evening meal was superb, with attentive servers who were so without being overbearing, our bone idleness meant that we took our breakfast in our rooms, again, it was of high standard and added to our enjoyment of the stay.

I didn't have massive expectations for what was such a short stay, but I would recommend this superb hotel, and will certainly be staying here the next time I visit this part of the country, I am also considering using a stay at this hotel as a birthday present for my parents, I have no doubt that they will enjoy it as much as myself and my partner did.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PudseyChancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, management at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2010
Thank you for placing a review it is so appreciated especially regarding the staff.
As a team we do try to offer a warm and friendly atmosphere while providing high standards of service and cleanliness and it means a lot, when it is appreciated.
We will look forward to welcoming you back and as for your parents we do provide gift vouchers which is always a nice way to present your suprise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

My husband and I decided to take advantage of the 'arrive and revive' offer after taking coffee at St George's on two occassions and being very impressed with the service. We were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special. Our room was immaculate and the food both at the evening meal and breakfast couldn't be faulted. As an early Valetines treat the Terrace restaurant was very romantic with it's view over the promenade. Everybody seemed to have a pleasant word and time for us it was lovely.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lincoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, management at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2010
We do appreciate the time taken and support given in placing this review.
It is encouraging that having visited for coffee you decided to return for a stay at StGeorges. We are only pleased we proved your decision was the right one and can only look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

This hotel is extremely well appointed and comfortable. Spotlessly clean in all areas. Plenty of staff on hand all parts of the day and night all giving excellent service, Food is well presented and plentiful. This is the third stay we had had in this marvellous hotel and it will not be the last!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drewer47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, management at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2010
Thank you for such a nice review and we are so pleased you enjoyed returning to St Georges once again.
Please consider if you haven't already to join our loyalty scheme which provides great offers and upgrades to our returning guests.
Thank you again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

My girlfriend and I took my mum and dad away for a weekend to Llandudno. We were absolutely delighted to find that the St. George's Hotel was in a perfect location and is beautifully decorated and maintained. The food and service throughout our stay was excellent, and we look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scootthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, management at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2010
So very good of you to review and we do appreciate your very kind comments, it does mean a lot to the team.
It's great to read you will be returning to St Georges so look on our website for the very best offers and we will look forward to welcoming you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Wel located hotel which was incredibly clean - the room and bathroom was both new and immaculate as were all the public areas we saw. Character and history but new carpets and furnishings made this a great combination. Only ate breakfast which was good. Service we experienced was very good. Parking a challenge but that is a Llandudno issue and not specific to the St Georges. Great views from sea facing rooms.
Would choose again

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dairycrest3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, management at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2010
Thank you for such a kind review it is even more appreciated that you highlight the 'newness' and cleanliness of the hotel. We were fully refurbished nearly 4 years ago but feel we have the highest of housekeeping standards to retain a clean crisp look throughout.
I note your comment on parking please be aware on your next visit we do offer assisted parking, just contact reception first on your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yaxley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2010

We booked into the St George's hotel after experiencing a very poor level of inflexible customer service the Empire hotel. We found the staff to be excellent in their atttude, furthermore they were acommodating in respect of my mothers needs (please see our comments on the Empire hotel for details) in the restaurant - infact they were so good we decided to stay an additional night - hence more revenue was generated by the hotel asa direct result of excellent customer service! well done, and thank you to Tony Burns for the complimentary drink he gave us, after we gave him some very positive feedback on our experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisandGwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, management at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2010
This was unexpected but very kind of you to review, it was very nice to meet you and we all do appreciate your kind words and so look forward to you returning to St Georges and do please ask for me on your arrival
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,205 reviews
0.7 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
899 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.3 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Hotel

Property: St. George's Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#9 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. George's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Llandudno and all that the North Wales Coast has to offer in stylish sophistication and contemporary luxury at the AA Hotel of the Year for Wales. The Award Winning St Georges Hotel, cleverly combines traditional Victorian elegance and its stunning setting with the comfort of a luxurious 4 star Hotel. Every detail of the hotel is designed to offer a relaxed, intimate atmosphere, calm moods and a fresh, professional approach to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your St. George's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Llandudno
St Georges Hotel Llandudno
St George Hotel Llandudno
St. George's Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing