We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one slight blip but on the whole.......excellent 10/10” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. George's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. George's Hotel
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Central UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“one slight blip but on the whole.......excellent 10/10”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2009

Having now stayed at a selection of Llandudno hotels & guest houses I always like to try a new one! I always fancied a weekend here so hubby & I stayed recently for our wedding anniversary.
On arrival we were met by a pleasant young lady called Sam on reception who was very helpful, especially as we arrived quite late in the evening whilst a busy function was ongoing in the Wedgwood Room .Sam was most helpful, telephoning to check that we were in time to eat in the Terrace bar and assisting us with parking.
Once checked in we found that our rooms were more than adequate, large bedroom with everything we needed, seperate sitting room (which in the end we never used at all!) and nice clean large bathroom with seperate bath & shower.
We ate from the bar menu on this first evening, good food was served quickly by nice friendly helpful staff, we had expected a wait due to the large function but it didnt interfere with us in anyway at all.
We had morning papers delivered promptly and found an iron and ironing board tucked neatly away in a wardrobe, tea tray (took a bit of finding!) in a cupboard and a fridge in case you needed one. I cant fault the rooms or the standards here. We had a 3rd floor front facing room.
Breakfast the first morning was in the terraced bar area overlooking the sea front, served in person with friendly smiles, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast the second morning was buffet style in the large function room, not quite as pleasing as the sea view but good for people watching! We had plenty to eat, hubby was pleased with his breakfast and more of anything was fetched quickly and pleasantly by the staff.
The shops were within minutes of walking from the hotel.
We really rather enjoyed ourselves here!!
The only blip was that we were overcharged nearly £60 on our bill for somebody elses meals and drinks.....we didnt notice until after the bill had been paid but as we checked the invoice in the hotel foyer we were able to point this out to the receptionist straight away, it took her a few minutes to check her paperwork and then refund our card with the food amount, we also pointed out the drinks bill and then that too was refunded. We never put anything on our room account, preferring to pay as we go along...the only exception being two daily papers! The refund was done quite professionally and she did confirm an error had been made, this was the only blot on an otherwise perfect weekend and I would have given a full rating other than for this point.
All in all a very pleasing hotel and I would stay again.

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
4 Thank lovethesoundofthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    337
    104
    38
    29
See reviews for
270
614
34
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2009

This was to be a short mid-Winter Break in a hotel we did not know - bit risky? Well the weather was absolutely wonderful and our sea front rooms at St George's Hotel looked out over the magical bay of Llandudno bathed in winter sunshine. The rooms were excellent in most respects - especially the bathroom; we probably were the first to stay in them since a very good refurbishment - and the hotel warm and welcoming. Breakfast - with personal rather than self-service - was really great, served in the sea view dining room. Even though it was busy we were served immediately and replenishment volunteered. Very sorry to leave - both the hotel and Llandudno!

  • Liked — Warmth and efficiency of hotel
  • Disliked — Slightly slow though very friendly reception
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DWHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorges2, management at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind comments.
It is always so appreciated to receive such a response and your comment on likely being the first to stay in our refurbished rooms was very encouraging as in actual fact the refurbishment happened nearly 3 years ago but our constant maintenance and the highest housekeeping standards have maintained this new look.
We were delighted to read you were so struck by the beauty and charm of Llandudno and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2009

My boyfriend and I chose the hotel because it looked great from the outside and the four poster bedroom seemed perfect for us as we wanted a nice relaxing long weekend in the area. I had read previous reviews and to be honest I was a little apprehensive about what it would be like (I had read something about some of the staff being cold and the hotel not being very suitable for younger couples...). Well I must say I have never had such a perfect stay in a hotel in all my life!
All staff members were friendly and very welcoming. The room was fantastic, best jacuzzi bath ever and we even had a balcony. We were also pleased to see that even though we'd been told the room wasn't see view, we could actually see the sea anyway! We had planned to have dinner in the hotel restaurant (terrace) once and then try other places in the area but we ended up staying there two nights instead because the food was so good! We both agreed it was the best lamb we had ever tasted and the presentation was definitely 5 star rating! The waiters made us feel like the most important people there. We had the same great experience each morning at breakfast. The hotel was pretty busy too which was surprising for the time of year, with guests of all ages. I honestly could not find one single fault, as much as I tried!
A big thank you to all the hotel staff for making our first weekend away so special.

  • Liked — Restaurant and hotel room
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AChia80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, Tyne & Wear, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2009

We stayed at the St George's in September, the purpose of our stay was to visit family that had recently re-located to Llandudno.

The hotel is in a prefect location, right on the seafront. We were greeted by friendly staff wherever we were in the hotel but the downside has to be the size of our room.

We booked a seaview room, which had the most wonderful view of the beach and it's pier but it was very small for the price we paid. On the plus side the bathroom was huge! The decor was very modern and the whole of the hotel was spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was wonderful, we enjoyed waitress service on our first morning but as the hotel was busy on our second day we had to queue for breakfast from the buffet. I dislike having to ask for items, I would much rather serve myself! The area of the restaurant that housed the buffet was also a little cramped. The queue for the hot food was in front of the cold food so people were constantly shuffling about to let people in/out.

Paking is also poor at this hotel. It is good that parking is free but there are just not enough spaces. We were boxed in when we came to leave but a member of staff quickly and efficiently removed the other vehicle.

Overall, this is a lovely hotel and cannot be faulted for it's location, staff and service but both the cost of drinks and the rooms are a little on the pricey side.

  • Liked — Location/decor/staff
  • Disliked — Drinks are expensive
Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandancer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2008

Excellent hotel, lovely room with sea view, very clean and staff very helpful. Plenty to eat at breakfast with good choice. Only niggles we had was slowness of check-in and slowness of check-out which can be frustrating. We would definitely stay heare again if we go to Llandudno. Llandudno is a very enjoyable resort with plenty to do in the vicinity. Conwy castle is an excellent experience and well worth a visit. Tavern of the Town good boozer. We had a meal in an Italian called Romeos, very average, had a long wait for table and food a bit bland. First night evening meal in St George's, came with deal, was very good. I would recommend this hotel as a good place to stay.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — slowness of check out
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, management at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to review and all your kind remarks which will be passed on to the team.
We do believe we are offering an excellent service but it is all the better when appreciated
Our apologies for the incorrect charge but am pleased to read it was dealt with professionally.
If you are going to return do consider joining our Loyalty membership details of which are on our website offering special rates and discounts for returning guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2008

We have been to The George for afternoon tea on previous visits to Llandudno and have been impressed by the service also the grand appearance & quality of the hotel. On this note we decided to book a 2-night winter break being offered by the hotel. This included 2 nights B&B and one evening meal with a bottle of house wine.

We decided to treat ourselves and paid extra for a sea view room with balcony mainly to have a good view of the firework display on Nov 5th, this is an annual event organised by the Town Council with an array of spectacular fireworks being launched from the pier. By the amount of spectators lining the pier a very popular event on Llandudno’s calendar

We also visited the theatre on our first night, again a good show and excellent venue.

As for the hotel – We have positive and not so positive comments:

Positive – All the staff, were very friendly & professional, nothing being too much trouble. The food and presentation was excellent. Breakfast - providing a good choice and one of the best cooked breakfasts we have had. We booked our evening meal in the hotel for our 2nd evening, again the food was superb and excellent presentation.

Now for the not so positive – The hallways leading to the rooms again like the rest of the hotel are impressive. We let ourselves into our room and what a disappointment, we expected a room in keeping with the hotel, but instead walked into a very small bedroom,. The room looked as if it have recently been updated the bathroom was clean and fittings sparkling, but the bedroom was very cramped and the décor bland. It did not help that the room was also chilly as the heating seemed to be on low all the time. As for the balcony, the table & chairs were very worn – a coat of wood preserver might have helped, also the planter needed re-potting straggly dead plants are not so appealing, it all looked a bit tatty.

We feel having a nice room etc is all part of your holiday and we definitely did not feel the room was value for money and we are afraid this did mar our opinion of the hotel.

Would we eat in this hotel again? Yes definitely.

Would we stay at the hotel again? Not if all the rooms are as small.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank Bec20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powys
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2008

Just returned from a 2 night break at The St. George's. It was a trip I took with my mother and teenage daughter. We were made to feel very welcome by all the staff and had lovely side rooms. The only down point was on the 2nd day breakfast when we were made to sit on a table for 2 and felt there was hardly room to move on the table and had to move crockery to another day to have room to eat comfortably and also the waitress seemed to treat my daughter as a 5 year old. Evening meal was a treat and it was lovely to sit watching the sea and feel spoilt by wonderful staff.

Will certainly return again.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — 2nd day breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PowysMidwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorges2, management at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2008
Thank you for taking the time to review and leave such kind comments we have noted and discussed your point on your last breakfast and regret any disappointment but pleased to read it did not detract from the overall stay and the desire to return to St Georges. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.7 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#34 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Hotel

Property: St. George's Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#10 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. George's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Llandudno and all that the North Wales Coast has to offer in stylish sophistication and contemporary luxury at the AA Hotel of the Year for Wales. The Award Winning St Georges Hotel, cleverly combines traditional Victorian elegance and its stunning setting with the comfort of a luxurious 4 star Hotel. Every detail of the hotel is designed to offer a relaxed, intimate atmosphere, calm moods and a fresh, professional approach to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your St. George's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Llandudno
St Georges Hotel Llandudno
St George Hotel Llandudno
St. George's Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing