We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night in Llandudno with friends”
Review of St. George's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. George's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Just returned from a 1 night Friday stay in the St George Hotel in Llandudno.

Booked the hotel basically because it was the highest rated hotel on trip advisor with a disabled room available that had a wet room for our friends. Right from the off I was pleased with the hotel nothing was too much trouble when booking the hotel even down to measuring the distance near the left to make sure our friends wheelchair would be able to get into the left, I cant praise them enough for going out of there way to make sure everything was right.

Extra bonus was a free upgrade as it was my wife 40th birthday present and nothing seems to be too much trouble.

Arrived on Friday near 2pm to find the car park almost completely full, enough space for 20-30 cars so we were lucky there, hotel looks nice from the outside and the inside is just as good, reception staff very quick to process the booking and a nice member of staff carried our bags to the room.

The rooms are good but not fantastic, lovely and warm considering the weather outside. Everything worked as it should (TV, shower etc) and the bed was very comfortable, shame the weather didn't want to play fair which kept us from using the balcony, I did venture out for 15 minutes with my wine but it was just a bit too cold so I came back in.

We didn't eat in the hotel at night we went to the local wetherspoons just because we wanted to eat out at night so I cant comment on the food at dinner, there didn't seem to be any complains when we returned from people eating there and we spent the rest of the evening sitting comfortably in the bar area, bar seemed a little expensive but that could be because we don't drink out much so don't have anything to compare it too.

As pre arranged we were allowed to eat on the terrace restaurant, the wheelchair could not get down the stairs it was too big to carry so whilst everyone else sat in the breakfast room we had the whole terrace to ourself. You can get down on a stair lift but this just didn't work for us.

Breakfast was a buffet and very nice, what ever you wanted was there, fruit, cereal, full welsh breakfast, all server with toast and coffee, again no complaints at all there.

Checkout at 11ma completed a very nice stay in a very nice hotel, the only reason it was very good and not excellent was I thought the room let things down just a bit but still very good.

Thanks to the staff for a great night away from the kids.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

A lovely and detailed review we do try to provide a good and welcoming welcoming experience to guests with mobility issues and so appreciate your acknowledgments.
Your balcony room was a standard one and just to note we also have larger premier available, so perhaps in the summer you could take advantage of the balcony more.
We were so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope there will be another opportunity in the year ahead to return to St George's.
Best Wishes
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

834 - 840 of 1,452 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here for New year. The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. Food is good, especially in the Terrace bar. Standard rooms are quite small but for a short stay, adequate. The location is excellent, both for the promenade and shops. The latter are two minutes walk away, with a very good selection of shops. Enjoyed our stay and would return.

Room Tip: Upgrade from a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coppington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for reviewing and especially your kind words regarding our team who I have to admit make the difference.
When, I hope you do return please contact Jordan in Reservations directly, who will assist in arranging the best room available for your needs.
Thank you again and best wishes for 2014.
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The deal with Trip Advisor is that there are always people who both love and hate the same place... how can that be... well I recon its a case of 'one mans meat is anothers' poison'..!!

We were looking forward to our 2 night stay at the St Georges while we were visiting friends in Llandudno.
The rooms are very small, (the size one expects in a NYC hotel) and the air conditioning was not working.
When we raised the issue (that we were roasting hot in our room, with the window open) they sent the resident engineer around and he confirmed what we already knew, that being that the radiator was turned off.
He tells me that because it is winter, the air conditioning option is decommissioned and only reactivated in the summer..!!
Great, Thanks...

When we sat down for our first breakfast meal, my wife ordered a Cappuccino, only to be informed some moments later that the machine was being cleaned and would take half an hour..!!
There is nothing quite like efficient management of staff and facilities is there..!?

Incidentally, the following morning my wife, who did not want to be disappointed for the second time, went across the road to Cafe Nero and purchased a takeaway Cappuccino and brought it into the breakfast restaurant, only to be told that she couldnt bring her coffee in..!?

Well thanks very much to the management for making our stay at your hotel so enjoyable and comfortable... Not..!!

We would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeOutAndAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

The deal with TA is as a public site you can leave your opinion, I am only so pleased to say, so many guests have also left their opinions and overall it provides clear evidence, that we are an excellent hotel, as certified for excellence by TA themselves.
However you had concerns and your opinion does matter, there are a wide variety of rooms and many of different sizes. My best advice would be to contact Jordan in Reservations for the best room suitable for your needs.
The air conditioning was working but set for additional heating, if so required as it was a particularly cold spell, we do regret if you were uncomfortable and too hot, though as you highlight the radiators have their own controls and can be switched off.
We do offer cappuccino on our breakfast menu and it should have been available and for that we are sorry.
Finally you may be visiting your friends again, so my offer and challenge to you, is to contact me directly and I'd be happy to show you, what the vast majority of guests have found to be the best of St George's.
Cappuccinos on me.
Best wishes for 2014
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The value of this hotel`s dinner and dance was very good. Canapes and Bubbly for starters then a good 5 course meal. Disco music could have been better, Scotts Piper at midnight was a nice touch. However the evening started an hour too early at 6/30pm so it felt like a long evening.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and have noted the start time in considering our programme for next New Year.
From all our feedback it seems to have been very much enjoyed and do appreciate you taking the time to review.
Hope 2014 is a great year for you and hope to see you back at St George's soon.

Best Wishes
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We recently enjoyed a fabulous Christmas Day lunch at the St George's hotel in Llandudno. The meal was excellent, the staff very attentive and the surroundings superb. Already looking forward to next Christmas!! Huge thanks to all concerned in making this a meal to remember!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike-and-Eirian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Well thank you for leaving such a lovely review which is much appreciated by all the team.
Christmas Day Lunch is such a special event and we are so pleased we made it special for you and more so that you will return next Christmas.
However we do hope there will be an opportunity to visit before, but from all at St Georges.. Best Wishes and Happy New Year.
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Just got back home from 3 lovely nights at the st george hotel ( Xmas eve to day after Boxing Day). It was a very relaxed and excellent stop fantastic food and great company. Hoping to go again next year, any faults? Well none that we could find the staff were all very well presented and could not do enough to keep us happy. Excellent room overlooking the sea. Well done to you all.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 20yearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Well thank you for your kind comments, it certainly seemed to be a well received Christmas and we are only so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We do also hope as you say you will look to return in 2014 and if so, we can promise you the same warm welcome and another enjoyable stay.
All our Best Wishes for 2014.
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have just come back from having Christmas at The George and instantly must say what a delight the staff are at this hotel. They are professional and polite but not stuffy as can sometimes be associated with 4 star hotels. Nothing was too much trouble, how lovely in todays' society that we felt genuinly welcomed and looked after. Our room, we felt, although meticulously clean and furnished to a high standard, was a little on the cosy side, however, the bed was superbly comfortable and every amenity was available, including complimentary wine, chocolates and a his and hers gifts for us as it was Christmas. Lovely, thoughtful. We enjoyed the food and the evening pianists, especially the gentleman who played on Christmas Day night, brilliant, he was a master of his profession! Although we had a side room, we could still see views of the Great Orme and sea front. We treated ourselves to the Boxing Day panto of Sleeping Beauty at Venue Cymru and were still back in time for a good evening meal. We would have no hesitation at recommending The George to anyone and we hope to return again ourselves. Thank you to Tony Burns and his fine team for making our Christmas special.

Room Tip: If available and you can stretch to it, go for a sea view, first floor with a balcony, perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnieW631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

First thank you for taking the trouble to post a review, and we are so pleased you enjoyed your Christmas, with us all at St George's.
It was lovely to meet you and even more so to read your kind words and we hope, there will be an opportunity in 2014 to welcome you back, to see us and St George's.
With all our very best wishes for 2014
Tony Burns
Director and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
351 reviews
0.7 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Empire Hotel Llandudno
Empire Hotel Llandudno
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
976 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#7 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#9 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $122 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. George's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Llandudno and all that the North Wales Coast has to offer in stylish sophistication and contemporary luxury at the AA Hotel of the Year for Wales. The Award Winning St Georges Hotel, cleverly combines traditional Victorian elegance and its stunning setting with the comfort of a luxurious 4 star Hotel. Every detail of the hotel is designed to offer a relaxed, intimate atmosphere, calm moods and a fresh, professional approach to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. George's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Llandudno
St Georges Hotel Llandudno
St George Hotel Llandudno
St. George's Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing